Biographical and Historical Record - Adams and Wells Co. Indiana Lewis Publishing Co. Chicago, IL 1887
EMANUEL NEADERHOUSER, proprietor of the Buena Vista Flour Mill, is a native of Switzerland, born in the year 1816, and was reared to manhood in his native country. He learned his trade from his father, who was a miller and millwright. He immigrated to America in 1844 and settled in Wells County, Indiana, where he worked at his trade. He was married in Wells County in 1848 to Miss Mary Rapp, a native of Germany, who died in June, 1871. Of the ten children born to this union only four are living - Fred, John, Emma and Sarah. Mr. Neaderhouser was again married in 1871 to Miss Mary Baumgartner, who was born in Wells County, Indiana, in 1840, and to this union were born ten children, of whom five are living - Cora, Effie, Maley, Teresa and an infant unnamed. Mr. Neaderhouser remained in Wells County until 1858, when he came to Adams County and erected a flouring mill, which he operated until 1886, when he put in a new set of machinery, of the roller process, at a cost of about $6,000. The mill was run by water power until 1870, since which time it has been run by a forty-horse power steam engine, the mill having a capacity of about fifty barrels of flour per day. Both Mr. and Mrs. Neaderhouser are members of the Evangelical Association. Their son, Fred Neaderhouser, was born in Hartford Township, Adams County, March 9, 1859, and here he grew to manhood, receiving in his youth the benefits of a common-school education. He learned the miller's trade of his father, and in 1884 became a partner in his father's milling business, which has since continued. He was united in marriage March 27, 1886, to Miss Mary Lehman, who was also born in Hartford Township, the date of her birth being January 21, 1866. She is a member of the Evangelical Association.
Biographical and Historical Record - Adams and Wells Co. Indiana Lewis Publishing Co. Chicago, IL 1887
ADAM J. SMITH, of the lumber firm, Smith & Bell, of Decatur, is a native of Whitley County, Indiana, born near Churubusco, February 20, 1857, a son of Henry and Catherine Elizabeth (Leppla) Smith, natives of Bavaria, Germany, where they were married, and in 1840 came to the United States and located in Tuscarawas County, Ohio, and in 1856 moved to Whitley County, Indiana. They lived on a farm until 1886, when they moved to Churubusco, where the father died three months later, aged eighty-five years, and the mother still lives, aged seventy-four years. Both were members of the Lutheran church. They were the parents of six children - William, of Coesse, Indiana; Henry, of Churubusco; John, a farmer of Whitley County; Phillip W., of Decatur; Catherine, wife of James Roach, of Coesse, and Adam J. Adam J. Smith was reared in his native county, where he had good school advantages, completing his education at the Valparaiso Normal School. When twenty-one years old he began teaching, which he continued for some time in Whitley County, and in 1884 moved to Decatur and engaged in manufacturing and dealing in lumber. In the fall of 1886 he formed a partnership with A. R. Bell, under the firm name Smith & Bell. Mr. Smith was married June 5, 1884, to Miss Willie Fonner, a native of Adams County, daughter of John A. and Elizabeth (Pillars) Fonner. They have one child - Edith May, born April 15, 1885. Mrs. Smith is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.
Biographical and Historical Record - Adams and Wells Co. Indiana Lewis Publishing Co. Chicago, IL 1887
SAMUEL FINK was born in Perry County, Ohio, December 7, 1823, a son of William and Magdalena (Garber) Fink, the father being a native of Maryland, born January 9, 1795, and the mother February 3, 1798, a native of Pennsylvania, both being of German descent. They were married in Perry County, Ohio, February 28, 1823, and shortly after settled in Perry County, Ohio. The father was a soldier in the war of 1812, and for his services received a pension. He received a land warrant with which he entered 120 acres in Vernon County, Missouri. He left Perry County in1829 and settled with his family in Seneca County, Ohio. The mother died in Ottawa County, Ohio, July 4, 1863, the father dying in Sandusky County, Ohio, November 2, 1876. Both were members of the German Baptist church. They had a family of eight children, the subject of this sketch being the eldest. His father being a farmer he was reared to the same occupation. He attended the schools of his neighborhood, receiving a common-school education. He learned the carder and fuller's trade, at which he served an apprenticeship of three years, after which he worked one summer in a factory. May 14, 1854, he was married to Julena Salome Clark, who was born in Crawford County, Ohio, July 21, 1834, a daughter of Benjamin A. and Sarah (Swally) Clark, natives of Pennsylvania, the father born in Schuylkill County, July 13, 1813, and the mother born in Mifflin, now Juniata County, July 23, 1813. Mr. and Mrs. Clark were members of the German Baptist church. They were the parents of nine children. Mr. Clark was a weaver when a young man, but later in life engaged in agricultural pursuits. Mr. and Mrs. Fink have six children, whose names are - Ardella E., Clarkson F., George E., Martha B. M., Phebe E. and Elles O. Mr. and Mrs. Fink are members of the German Baptist church, Mr. Fink having passed the first degree of the ministry October 9, 1875, and since that time has been in the ministry. He came to Adams County, Indiana, in 1883, settling on the farm where he now resides, March 23 of that year. He takes a great interest in the culture of bees, in which he is remarkably successful. He is a natural genius, and can make almost anything he sets out to do, and has received a patent on a bee hive. He is a man of strict integrity, honorable in all his dealings, and during his residence in Wabash Township has gained the confidence and respect of the entire community. His church believes in and carries out temperance in all things.
WILLIAM SNYDER, a prominent farmer of Hartford Township, Adams County, was born in the State of New Jersey, November 28, 1826, a son of Peter and Catherine (Horner) Snyder, who were also natives of New Jersey and of German descent. They removed from their native State to Montgomery County, Ohio, where the father lived till his death, at the age of seventy-two years. The mother is also deceased, she dying in Darke County, Ohio. They had a family of twelve children, six sons and six daughters. The father worked at carpentering for several years, but in later life engaged in farming, and in his agricultural pursuits met with good success. He united with the Baptist church in New Jersey, and later joined the United Brethren church, but at the time of his death he was a member of the Baptist church. William Snyder, the subject of this sketch, grew to manhood on his father's farm, and received his education in the common-schools of his neighborhood. He was married September 18, 1847, to Miss Christina Mundhenk, a native of Montgomery County, Ohio, born May 21, 1827. To this union were born eleven children - Amelia C., Mary A., Sarah E., Philip L., Martha C., William A. (deceased), Amanda E., Lucinda J., John G. (deceased), George E. and Samuel C. Mrs. Snyder died October 11, 1876, and Mr. Snyder was again married in Winchester, Indiana, August 15, 1878, to Miss Mary Watts, who was born in Richland County, Ohio, in 1836. In 1848 she with her parents, Samuel and Martha (Paxton) Watts, removed to Wells County, Indiana. In her sixteenth year she commenced teaching school in that county, and continued for about twenty-five years. Her name has become a household word in Wells County, through her avocation as a teacher. Mr. Snyder followed farming on his father's farm for five years, after his marriage, when in February, 1853, he came to Adams County, Indiana, and settled on the southwest quarter of section 21, Hartford Township, which had been entered by his wife. To his original tract of land he has since added until he has now a fine farm of 520 acres. Mr. Snyder takes an active interest in any enterprise which he deems for the advancement of his township or county, and it was mainly through his influence that the first turnpike in Adams County was built. In politics he was formerly a Whig, but since the organization of the Republican party he has voted that ticket.
Click here for photo.
THOMAS HENDRICKS, deceased, was born in the State of Ohio, November 22, 1811, a son of John and Susannah (Custer) Hendricks, who were natives of Pennsylvania. They were among the early settlers of Harrison County, Ohio, where they lived on the farm entered by them from the Government until their death. They were the parents of ten children, four sons and six daughters. Thomas Hendricks, whose name heads this sketch, grew to manhood on the home farm in Harrison County, Ohio, being reared to agricultural pursuits. He was married in July, 1834, to Lydia Rennecker, who was born in Maryland, October 12, 1812, coming to Ohio with her parents when six years of age. Seven children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Hendricks, of whom only four are now living. After his marriage Mr. Hendricks lived for a short time in Jefferson County, Ohio, moving thence to Tuscarawas County, where he entered eighty acres of land. He improved this land, on which he made his home until 1848. He then removed with his family to Iowa, and settled in Van Buren County, where he bought a farm and engaged in farming, remaining there until May, 1853, when he sold his farm, and in June of the same year came to Adams County, Indiana. He then settled on section 3 of Monroe Township, where he lived till his death January 13, 1883. Mrs. Hendricks still resides with her son on the old homestead in Monroe Township. She was formerly a member of the Lutheran church, but now belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church, of which Mr. Hendricks was also a member. In politics, like his father before him, he was a Democrat.
MORGAN SMITH, deceased, was born in the State of Pennsylvania in 1807, learned the shoemaker's trade, which he followed in his native State. His parents, Sooy and Mary (Luzader) Smith, were also natives of Pennsylvania. They went to Ohio in an early day and settled in Guernsey County. They afterward removed to Pickaway County, where they lived till their death. Mr. Smith was twice married, marrying for his second wife a lady named Wheeler, by whom he has had six children. Five children were born to his first marriage. He was a soldier in the war of 1812. He was a prominent man of Pickaway County, and at the time of his death held the office of county judge. Morgan Smith, whose name heads this sketch, learned his trade from his father, who was a shoemaker by occupation. He went to Ohio with his parents, remaining there till sixteen years of age, when he returned to Pennsylvania. He was first married to Elizabeth Mitchener, by whom he had four children, of whom only one is now living - Eliza J., wife of Jasper Beazell, of Cincinnati, Ohio. For his second wife he married Mary A. (Barclay) Hook, a native of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, born June 16, 1811, a daughter of Stephen and Maria (Reid) Barclay, who were also natives of Pennsylvania, where they lived till their death. Six children were born to this union - Carrie, Samuel, Barclay, Lucy (deceased), Mary and Job. By her former marriage with Thomas Hook Mrs. Smith had two children, one of whom is living - Ignatius, now at Guilford, Indiana, engaged in the ministry. Mr. Smith remained in Pennsylvania until he came with his family to Adams County, Indiana, in December, 1847. He had come to the county in 1837 and entered 160 acres, and after settling in the county he bought land until he had 720 acres lying in Monroe and Wabash Townships, the result of persevering industry and good management. His widow now resides with her son Samuel in Wabash Township. She is a member of the Protestant Methodist church. Her father was a soldier in the war of 1812, and was wounded at the battle of New Orleans, for which he receives a pension from the Government.
PERRY McDANIEL, engaged in farming on section 19, Blue Creek Township, was born in Greene County, Ohio, October 8, 1835, a son of John and Mary McDaniel, who were natives of Delaware and Ohio respectively, and early settlers of Greene County, Ohio. Of a large number of children born to them only three survive - Eliza A., Sarah and Perry. In about the year 1836 the parents removed with their family to Adams County, Indiana, and settled in the woods in the east part of Blue Creek Township, where the father entered eighty acres of land. He first built a log cabin for his family, after which he began to clear his farm. He remained in Adams County until his death, which occurred May 10, 1850. He as one of the representative pioneers of the county, and did much toward advancing the interests of his township and county. He was a man of strict integrity, and was held in high esteem by all who knew him. In his religious views he was a Baptist. Perry McDaniel, the subject of this sketch, was but an infant when brought by his parents to Adams County. He was reared amid pioneer scenes, and experienced some of the hardships and privations incident to the early pioneers. His educational advantages were limited, receiving only a rudimentary education in the district schools of that early day. August 8, 1862 he enlisted in Company K, Eighty-ninth Indiana Infantry, as a private. He took part in the battle of Munfordville, where he was captured, but shortly afterward was paroled, and participated in the battles of Nashville and Mobile, besides numerous others of minor importance. He was honorably discharged in July, 1865, after which he returned to his home in Adams County, Indiana. Mr. McDaniel was married December 31, 1859, to Sarah Shepherd, who was born in Delaware County, Indiana, January 13, 1839, a daughter of David and Bethsheba (Draper) Shepherd, and of Quaker origin. Mr. McDaniel settled on his present farm in 1881, where he has eighty acres of fine land, and is meeting with success in his farming operations. With the exception of seven years spent in Kansas Mr. McDaniel has resided in Adams Couty since 1836, and by his fair and honorable dealings he has gained the confidence and respect of all who know him. In politics he affiliates with the Republican party.
BYRON H. DENT, farmer, section 35, Washington Township, was born in Licking County, Ohio, March 20, 1836. In October of that year he came to this county with his parents, who settled on the farm now owned by our subject. Jeremiah Roe lived a half mile northwest of them, and Zachariah Smith lived four miles southeast of where the Dents settled. Mr. Huffer lived on the west side of the river, where the bridge now spans it. The father entered the farm from the Government, paying $1.25 per acres. His son has been offered $150 per acre for it. There was a log cabin on the place built by Jonathan Roe the spring before the family came, and he had a claim on forty acres of it, which Mr. Dent purchased. The father lived in this cabin until 1844, when he was elected county auditor, and removed to town. He was the first auditor of Adams County. After serving four years he went back to the farm and lived on it until it was cleared, then returned to Decatur, where he died in February, 1878. He was born in Otsego County, New York, in 1809. His parents were George A. and Martha A. (Welch) Dent. He went to Licking County, Ohio, when a young man, and there was married. He was an honest and strictly temperate man. He never engaged in speculations, and was a very careful man in his business. In politics he was formerly a Whig, and afterward a Republican. The mother of our subject was born in Anne Arundel County, Maryland, in 1813, where she was reared and educated. She removed with her parents to Licking County, Ohio, and died February, 1872, at the age of fifty-nine years. Both parents were buried at Decatur. The grandfather of our subject, Joseph Dent, was born in Lincolnshire, England. He was reared at his birth-place and probably settled in Otsego County, New York. He died in that State. The grandmother died while her son was quite young and he was reared by a step-mother, of whom he was very fond. His maternal grandmother Welch died in Licking County, Ohio, and very little is know of her. Byron H. was reared on the old farm and in Decatur village. His education was obtained in the common schools. He taught school fourteen winters in the same district, thirteen terms before the war and one afterward. He enlisted in August, 1862, and was made Adjutant of the Eighty-ninth Indiana Infantry, served until the war was nearly closed. He was captured at the battle of Munfordville, Kentucky, which was his first engagement. He was soon after furloughed and returned home on a thirty days' visit. He was then exchanged and returned to duty at Memphis, Tennessee. The regiment was almost wholly captured. He was in Grant's Vicksburg campaign, thence to Shreveport, Louisiana, with General Banks. The right then went east of Memphis, thence to Missouri. Mr. Dent went to the hospital at Memphis, where he was confined about six months. He was discharged there on account of physical disability, and returned home where he has since resided. He was married April 24, 1856, to Miss Mary J. Hoagland, daughter of Isaac and Nancy (Luckey) Hoagland, and she was born in Medina County, Ohio, in September, 1838. She died October 15, 1884, leaving two children - Allen and Ella. Both are married and living in this township. Mrs. Dent's parents were natives of Ohio; the father is deceased, and the mother is living in Root Township. Mr. Dent was again married in Jun, 1886, to Miss Theresa Baltzell. Mr. Dent's parents had four children - Byron, our subject; Mary L., wife of David Crabbs, living at Moscow, Ohio; Henry Clay, who died in 1879 at Decatur, at the age of thirty-five years, and Helen A., who died in childhood. Mr. Dent has held the office of county clerk, and clerk of the circuit court four years. He was the second mayor of Decatur, holding the office two years. Politically he is a Democrat.
THOMAS H. HOUSE, farmer, residing on section 12, Root Township, was born in Washington County, Pennsylvania, August 19, 1825. He was reared on a farm, and remained at his birthplace until 1850, when he went the overland route to California, in company with four companions. They started March 10, and went by water to St. Louis, at which place they bought their outfit - team and wagon, etc. At Salt Lake their provisions became exhausted, and they stopped there and worked a while until their supplies were replenished. Before they crossed the Nevada Mountains they again ran out of provisions, and traded a span of horses for twenty pounds of flour, which lasted them until they reached California. They landed in Sacramento, where they engaged in mining for a few days, but their success was so poor that they went to work for a contractor and builder, who was building a levee on the river. The contractor left suddenly, and they were left without their pay. About that time the cholera broke out, and when it was at it's height one of Mr. House's companions died with it. He himself was also striken with it and was sick three months. He was taken to the hospital at Sacramento, and all supposed he would die. He has no recollection of being taken to the hospital, or of anything that occurred for some time. After his recovery he again went to work in the mines, but the young men who had accompanied him had gone away and left him to his fate. He followed mining with varied success, and brought away with him about the same amount that he carried with him. He was absent about two years, returning by the Isthmus. While on a steamer it sprung a leak during a violent storm, and they ran into harbor. He landed in New York City, then went to his home in Pennsylvania, where he remained six months, then went to Ashland County, Ohio. June 30, 1853, he was married to Susanna Shaffer, who was born in Ashland County, March 25, 1835. Her father, Peter Shaffer, was born in Cumberland County, Pennsylvania, and died in Ashland County, Ohio, in 1882, aged seventy-nine years. He was formerly a Methodist, but in later life was an Allbright, and lived the life of a Christian. His wife, Sarah (Black) Shaffer, was also born in Cumberland County, and died in Ashland County, in 1841, when Mrs. House was six years old. She was also a Christian woman, being a member of the Methodist church at her death. The father of Mr. House, John House, was born in Washington County, Pennsylvania, where he died in 1833, when his son Thomas was eight years of age. He was a school-teacher during his mature years, being partially crippled by a white swelling. The mother, Susan (Hagan) House, was also born in Washington County, Pennsylvania, where she died when Thomas was two years old. Thus was our subject left at an early age to depend upon himself, never experiencing anything of home influences. Mr. and Mrs. House have had five children, two of whom are living - Angeline, born May 16, 1854 is the wife of Hiram W. Smith, and is living in Allen County, Indiana; Josephine, born February 14, 1856, married J. D. Stultz, and died July 18, 1886; Theodore, born July 16, 1858, died September 7, 1861; Elizabeth, born September 13, 1862, died March 27, 1863; Morton E., born September 10, 1866, was married to Miss Emma Brown, December 26, 1886. Mr. House is a Republican in politics and himself and wife are members of the United Brethren church. His grandfather, Thomas House, was born in Germany, as was also his grandmother House. They immigrated to America and settled in Washington County, Pennsylvania, where they both died on the farm they first occupied. Mrs. House's grandfather, Charles Shaffer, was a German by birth, and died in Washington County, Pennsylvania, on the farm where he first settled. The grandmother, Charlotte Shaffer, also died in Washington County. Mr. and Mrs. House came to Marion Township, Allen County, in the spring of 1854, settling in the woods, where he lived about three years. He built a log cabin an cleared about forty acres of ground which he had bought. He sold this farm and rented three years in Allen County, then bought his present farm in 1859, which was partially improved. The farm is now in an excellent state of cultivation. He has a good frame house and frame barn. January 29, 1862, Mr. House enlisted in Company E, Nineteenth United States Infantry, and served three years. He was in the battles of Pittsburgh Landing, Mission Ridge, Murfreesboro, Chickamauga, going to Atlanta with General Thomas under General Sherman, and returning to Lookout Mountain, where he was discharged. He was taken prisoner after the battle of Chickamauga while acting as teamster. He was taken up by General Wheeler, and was soon paroled and went to Nashville, where he remained until he was exchanged. Mr. and Mrs. House are rearing a grandchild, Bertha May Stultz, who was born December 3, 1881. She is a child of their daughter Josephine.
WILLIAM HENDRICKS, an active and public-spirited citizen of Monroe Township, and son of Thomas Hendricks, an early settler of Adams County, was born in Jefferson County, Ohio, May 28, 1835. He was taken by his parents to Iowa in 1848, where they resided about five years and in 1853 came with them to Adams County, Indiana, where he grew to manhood. He was married, in Monroe Township, November 8, 1857, to Miss Mary A. Ray, a native of Jefferson County, Ohio, born March 9, 1838, and a daughter of George W. Ray. Eight children were born to this union - George T., Joseph D., Eli W., Lydia E., William P., Charles E., Josiah A. and James H. Mrs. Hendricks died October 3, 1885. She was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. Hendricks is a member of the same church, of which he has served as trustee for nine years. He was a soldier in the was of the Rebellion, serving from March, 1865, until August 17, 1865, and was a member of Company E, One Hundred and Forty-seventh Indiana Infantry. He is now a comrade of Sam Henry Post, No. 63, G. A. R., of Decatur. Mr. Hendricks settled on his present farm in 1863, where he has since resided with the exception of six year, having spent three years at Bartholomew County, and the same length of time in Jackson County, Indiana. He has always followed farming, and has now eighty acres of choice land, the greater part of which is under cultivation. He has held the office of assessor, was supervisor for four years, and was township trustee for one term. He is one of the enterprising men of Monroe Township, and a most hospitable man.