Submitted by: Shirley Baston
History of Delaware County - Heimbaugh Volume II
REV. JACOB W. HEATH, was born February 23, 1829, in Wayne County, Indiana, and is of English stock; his great-grandfather, together with two brothers, crossed the Atlantic, from their London home, and stopped in Maryland, where the the grandfather, Jacob Heath, was born and reared; and, early in his life, removed to Guilford county, North Carolina, where Ralph Heath, father of Jacob W., was born, reared and married to Miss Mary Tomlinson. After the birth of three sons and one daughter -- the daughter dying in infancy -- the parents decided to move the young family to the wilds of Indiana, and in October, 1828, they left their home in the sunny south, crossing the mountains in the little wagon, to Wayne county, Indiana, where Mr. Heath stopped with his family for one year. During the summer of 1829 Ralph Heath came to Delaware county, to enter land; less that 200 voters were in the county, and much of the land, where the city of Muncie now stands was congress land, subject to entry, at $125 per acre. But Mr. Heath finally located in Salem township, five miles southwest of Muncie; built a cabin, and brought his family here December 25, 1829 -- but one family living nearer that the little village of Muncietown, five miles distant. The growling of the bear, the scream of the panther, and the howling of the wolf with all the loneliness of this wilderness country, were what the father and mother had to endure. The sons older than Jacob W. were Albert Heath, now of Hannibal, Mo.; John W. Heath, of Muncie, and the Rev. James W. Heath, deceased, who all shared in the hardships of pioneer life with their father and mother. The father was a christian man and was among the first to open his cabin to the early missionaries of the M. E. church. This cabin was the preaching place in the early settlement of years, and this early training that Jacob W. received from the early ministers and parents fixed him in his religious convictions during life.
Jacob W. Heath remained with his parents until of age attending the district schools during the winter and working on the farm during the summer. In 1848 and '49, he was a student in the old Delaware county seminary. In 1850, he was united in marriage to Miss Rhoda A. Perdiue, daughter of the Rev. Abner Perdiue, a pioneer minister, and an early settler of Delaware county. Mr. Heath, at the time of his marriage, was engaged in teaching, but soon engaged in the business of the farm, and continued in the same till 1868, when he removed to Muncie, since when his time has been taken up in the grocery business, life insurance and real estate.
Mr. Heath joined the M. E. church when sixteen years of age. He has filled the offices of leader, steward, trustee, Sabbath school superintendent, exhorter, and for the last seventeen years, local minister. Mr. Heath became a member of Delaware lodge, No. 46, Free & Accepted Masons, in 1856, and is a strong believer in the principles of that order. He has been for many years a zealous worker in the cause of temperance, and has been heard from in almost every pulpit in the county and state. He attended the constitutional amendment case of the supreme court, in the city of Des Moines, Iowa, in 1883, and did effective work there. In politics, Mr. Heath is a republican, and has been at all times in line with his party, and taken an active part in all political campaigns since 1860. While Mr. Heath was not in the army during the dark days of the war, there was no man in the south part of the county, where he at that time resided, who did more for the support of the families of the men who went to the front, according to his financial ability. The fruits of J. W. Heath and wife's marriage, have been six sons and two daughters, namely: John B. Heath, Frederick W. Heath, Perry S. Heath, Fletcher S. Heath, Cyrus R. Heath, Cassie E. Heath, and Mary A. Heath, and one son, Arthur Heath, deceased.
Mr. Heath calls to mind, the first death and funeral, that occurred between the very small village, of Muncietown and Middletown. In December, 1833; was present at the funeral, and saw the few early settlers deposit the remains of the wife and mother in the silent and new cemetery; this being the first one laid to rest in what in known now as the Old Heath cemetery.
A. W. Bowen & Co
JACOB STIFFLER, who, since 1890, has been making loans a specialty and is a prominent dealer in real estate and a representative of a number of the leading fire insurance companies of the United States, is a native of Pennsylvania, born May 8, 1831, in the county of Bedford, to Frederick and Martha (McCormick) Stiffler. When Mr. Stiffler was nine years of age, the family moved to Blair County, Pa., where he grew to manhood, residing there until the year 1856. His youthful environments were such as to preclude the possibility of receiving a very thorough education, but by his won efforts he secured a practical business training that has served him well through life. In 1856, Mr. Stiffler made an extensive tour of the central and western states, which lasted four years, and upon his return he located in Hamilton township, Delaware county, Indiana, where, for a period of eight years, he was engaged in the milling business. At the end of that time he accepted the position of local agent of the Ft. W., M & C. R. R., at Cowan station, in which capacity he continued six years, conducting a mercantile and lumber business at the same place in the meantime. In 1876 he removed to Muncie, where he followed various occupations until 1886, when he was elected auditor of Delaware County, which office he filled with credit to himself and to the entire satisfaction of the people. Mr. Stiffler was married, in the year 1862, to Miss Elizabeth M. North, daughter of Jasper and Nancy North, of Muncie, who were the parents of eight children, viz.: Elizabeth M., Lavina A., Matilda E., Mary J., Ivy Evangeline, Sarah V., Jasper N., and Arthur G. The father of Mrs. Stiffler was born in Maryland in 1823, and her mother in Ohio, in 1821. To the union of Jacob Stiffler and Elizabeth North have been born four children, namely: Alta, wife of C. E. Moore; Laura, wife of Charles C. Brown, of Muncie; Joseph and Lue May -- the last named deceased.
Politically, Mr. Stiffler is an earnest supporter of the Republican Party, and as such was elected to the office above noted. His fraternal affiliations are with the Welcome lodge, No. 37, K. of P., to which he attached himself in 1874. He is a stockholder in the Cooperative Gas Company, of Muncie, and at this time is secretary and treasurer of the Muncie Hospital Company. Mrs. Stiffler, as well as her family, are members of the Society of Friends, and all who know them for their many good qualities and sterling traits of character esteems both her and her husband.
As a business man Mr. Stiffler's success has been most gratifying, and his present comfortable circumstances have been reached unaided and by close application and good management.
His social position is an enviable one, and with his wife and family enjoys the respect and esteem of all who have the pleasure of their acquaintance. Attention is called to the accompanying engraving, representing a group of four generations of the Stiffler family.
A. W. Bowen & Co
Capitalist, miller and farmer, is one of the earliest pioneers and most prominent businessmen of Muncie. His parents, Jacob and Margaret (Miller) Wysor, were of German descent, and were born in?Virginia. His paternal grandfather was a commissioned officer in the war for American independence. All the Wysors' ancestors engaged more or less in tilling the soil, and were honest, hard?working people, endowed with that strength of body and mind characteristic of the Teutonic race. As a valued heirloom, Mr. Wysor preserves a quaint old wine chest made in Germany r 8o years ago. Mr. Wysor was born in Montgomery (now Pulaski) county, Va., December 6, 18 19. He was the only child of his father, who died before his birth. His mother married again, but remained in Montgomery County until her son was well advanced in boyhood. In 1835, he removed with the family to Delaware County, Indiana, quite an event for a boy who had scarcely been out of his native county. In his new home he attended school, but only for 2 winter terms, and after five years he returned to Virginia, and there studied diligently for one year. Having acquired a good knowledge of the English branches, Mr. Wysor was ready to carry out his long cherished purpose of becoming a businessman. Accordingly, in the following year (1841) he returned to this state and engaged in the grocery and dry goods trade in Muncie. He felt, in some degree, conscious of the abilities that have since marked his career and won him success, and he anticipated immediate prosperity.
His way to fortune, however, lay through loss, for only a few months had passed when nearly all his property was burned. In March 1843, he made another venture by renting what was known as the Gilbert mills; and, after two years in partnership with John Jack and James L. Russey, he bought the mills and conducted the business as one of the firm of Russey, Jack & Co. In 1849, Mr. Wysor joined the throng of gold seekers that hurried toward California. His course was down the Mississippi, across the Gulf of Mexico, thence over to Panama, where, owing to the rush for berths, he was compelled to wait five weeks before a passage up the coast could be secured. At length he embarked in a sailing vessel, which was thirty-four days in making the voyage to San Francisco. After he had been there about two months, Mr. Russey followed by the same route, but was killed by the Indians in the summer of 1850 Mr. Wysor engaged successfully as miner, teamster and stock trader, until May, 1852, when he returned to Muncie. In 1854, with the remaining partner, Mr. Jack, he began building the large grist?mill, which he still owns, known as the Muncie mills. It was completed in 1856. It contained six run of stone, was provided with every needed facility and was considered at least equal to any mill of like capacity in the state. The firm was Wysor & Jack until the death of the latter, in October 1859. In 1858, William B. Kline had been admitted as a partner, and on the death of Mr. Jack, the firm became Wysor & Kline. Through the crisis of 1857, and the depression of trade that resulted from the late war, he steadily and safely conducted his increasing business.
He dealt largely in land, and availed himself of his early experience by engaging also in farming. As wealth increased, it was employed in useful enterprises?the building of railroads, turnpikes and other improvements. He has been the president of the Muncie & Granville Turnpike Company ever since its organization. In 1872, Mr. Wysor built the Wysor opera house. In 1892, he erected the Wysor Grand, one of the finest buildings in. the city, and said to be one of the most complete structures for theatrical entertainments in Indiana. Mr. Wysor is a democrat, but has never aspired to political honors, nor taken an active interest in politics. He married, April 5, 1854, Miss Sarah Richardson, daughter of John and Martha Richardson. She was born in Virginia, and comes of a long line of worthy English ancestors. She is a lady of refined taste and true Christian graces, and, with her husband, takes great pride in the education of their children: Harry, Mattie and William. The first named, their eldest, is a young man of culture, whom ill health has caused to relinquish a professional for a business life. The daughter early evinced artistic talent, painting with skill at the age of nine; she is now the wife of William H. Marsh, bank cashier. Mr. Wysor has succeeded through natural adaptation to business rather than by acquired ability. In trade, he acts intuitively, and every enterprise is attended with prosperity. He has gained his wealth by honorable means, sharing its benefits with others, in promoting the growth of Muncie and the surrounding country. He is a silent, thoughtful man, possessing genuine worth of character, which is fully revealed only to intimate friends. To know him well is to respect him, and he holds a high place in the esteem of the people of Delaware County. Since the above sketch was put in type, the sad news has come to hand that Mrs. Sarah Wysor passed away November 6, 1893.
Portrait & Biographical Record Delaware County, Indiana
Late well known farmer and prominent citizen of Niles Township, was a native of Virginia, born on the 28th of February, 1825, in the historic old county of Greenbrier. He left the Old Dominion in 1830, going to Greene county, Ohio, where, on the 6th day of October, 1 848, he was united in marriage to Miss Sarah Smith, daughter of John and Margaret (Burl) Smith, both parents natives of Virginia. The following are the names of the brothers and sisters of the wife of the subject: Burl Eleanor, wife of J. Ford; Mary J., wife of Asa Deboe; Margaret, wife of J. Clark; Nancy, wife of William Mendenhall; Alfred; Emily, wife of J. Bosman, and Elizabeth, wife of William St. John. The father of Mrs. Lucas was a man of local prominence and for many years filled the office of justice of the peace; he and wife were active member of the Baptist church and are remembered as a most estimable Christian couple.
Shortly after his marriage, Mr. Lucas, thinking to better his financial condition, came to Indiana and settled in' Niles township, Delaware county, purchasing a part of the home farm, which is still in possession of his family. He improved this place well and in time, it became one of the most valuable and desirable farms in the township, and his home was known far and wide as the abode of generous and large?hearted hospitality. His marriage, in the year above noted, resulted in the birth of eight children, namely: Franklin, who was killed by lightning on the 16th of July, 1869; Martha J., born October, 1850; George W., born February 13, 1857; Louis, born July 17, 1858; Lafayette, born November 4, 1859; Margaret, wife of William Wilson; James A., born September 8, 1864, and John, born June 22, 1867.
Mr. Lucas belonged to that large and highly respectable class of citizens who pursue the even tenor of their way and do much in a quiet and unostentatious manner toward promoting the moral and material well being of the community. He lived a long and useful life and died deeply lamented by all who knew him, on the 16th day of April 1877.
Portrait & Biographical Record Delaware County, Indiana
Lewis W. Davis is a leading farmer and stock raiser of Niles Township, and one of the representative citizens of the County of Delaware. His family history is an interesting one and he traces his ancestry back through several generations to Wales, from which country one Charles Davis, the progenitor of the American branch of the family, emigrated to America as early as the year 1724. Charles Davis married a Miss Metcalf and reared sons and daughters, among whom was John, who married Molly Chamness. William Davis, son of John, married Anna Marshall and became the father of Joseph, who, by his marriage with Catherine Farmer, had several children, one of who, Nathan, was the father of the immediate subject of this mention. From the most reliable information obtainable, the family appears to have settled, originally, in North Carolina, from Surry county, of which state, Joseph and Catherine Davis emigrated, in the year 1808, to Ohio, settling in Montgomery county, thence, about 1823, moving to Wayne county, Indiana Joseph Davis purchased a farm of 160 acres in the county of Wayne, upon which the remaining years of his life were passed. He reared the following children: Nathan, father of the subject of this mention; Mary, wife of David Baldwin; William: Annie, wife of Newton Baldwin; Hannah, wife of Dan Thornburg; John and Edom.
In Wayne county Nathan grew to manhood, and then married Hannah Moore. The brothers and sisters of the latter were: Anderson, Marshall, William, Zimri, Mrs. Rhoda Pickering, Mrs. Charity Marshall, Dempsey and Rufus Moore. The Moores were moral and religious people, having been reared in the pure, simple doctrines of the Quaker faith. At that time, it was the custom to serve out whisky upon nearly every occasion, and the subject's grandfather was, the first man in his section of the county who had the moral courage to break away from the time honored custom and refuse absolutely to have anything to do with any kind of intoxicants.
Lewis W. Davis was born May 22, 1841, being one of a family of seven children, whose names are as follows: Newton B., Martha A., wife of Jesse Reed; Rufus H., Mary E., deceased; Catharine, deceased, and Sarah A., wife of Eli W. Frazer.
Mr. Davis grew to manhood on a farm, and began the pursuit of agriculture on his own responsibility in Henry County, where he lived two years, moving thence to the county of Randolph. In the latter, he was united in marriage, on the r 0th day of August, 1867, to Miss Lucinda Jones, daughter of Jacob and Matilda (Chappell) Jones, natives of Surry county, N. C. For ten years after marriage Mr. Davis resided in Randolph County, dividing his time between farming and school teaching, in both of which his success was most encouraging. Later he returned to Henry county, where he lived for a period of two years, at the end of which time he became a resident of the county of Delaware, locating upon the present beautiful place of Niles township, where he has since resided. At this time, Mr. Davis owns a fine farm of 170 acres, the greater part well improved. In addition to general farming, he gives considerable attention to stock raising, being considered one of the leading men in this line of business in Niles. Politically, Mr. Davis is a stanch supporter of the republican party, and as such takes an active interest in all the leading public questions of the day. He served four mouths in the late war as member of company B, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth regiment, Indiana volunteer infantry, but did not participate in any battle. Fraternally he is identified with the Masonic, Odd Fellows, Red Men and Grange orders, and in religion belongs to the Christian church, of which the different members of his family are also communicants. Mr. and Mrs. Davis are the parents of five children, namely: Elmer J., a well-known teacher of Delaware county; Lenora, wife of Samuel Wilson: Orpha M., wife of Aaron C. Wilson; Charley N., and Bertha A. Following is a brief record of the family of Mrs. Davis. As already stated, Mrs. Lucinda Davis is the daughter of Jacob and Matilda (Chappell) Jones. The parents of Jacob were James and Lydia (Bramblet) Jones, and their other children were Lemuel, Solomon, Jesse, Ambrose, Jonathan, James, Free, Mary, Jane and Lydia. Mrs. Matilda (Chappell) Jones was the daughter of Amos and Mary (Johnson) Chappell. The following are the names of her brothers and sisters: David, Joshua, Reuben, Cynthia, Elizabeth and Malinda Chappell. The brothers and sisters of Mrs. Lucinda Davis are as follows: James E., married Clara Atkins; Joshua C., married Mary Ann Collinsworth; Jonathan P., married Susan Covalt; Lydia, wife of James P. Dykes; .Sarah Jane, wife of David N. Kimball; Nancy, wife of Lewis W. Main.
Jacob Jones and wife moved from their North Carolina home to Ohio many years ago, and from the latter state to Henry county, Indiana, where he purchased land and resided until reaching the advanced age of eighty-nine years. He died January 18, 1889, and was laid to rest in Hillsborough cemetery beside his wife, whose death occurred on 24 June 1824. He served in the war of 1812, and was a member of the Protestant Methodist church for many years. Mrs. Jones belonged to the Christian church, of which she was a very valuable member.
Portrait & Biographical Record Delaware County, Indiana
MRS. NELLIE CHEESEMAN -- A well-known and popular lady of Monroe Township was born in Grayson County, Va., May 16, 1820, and spent the years of her girlhood in the state of her nativity. She was married to Richard Cheeseman, a prosperous farmer who moved with his family to Indiana 1857, settling, in September of that year, in Delaware Township, this county, on forty-five acres of land, which he cleared and brought under cultivation. The county at that time was comparatively new, and Mr. and Mrs. Cheeseman made their was to their new home by blazing their path through the woods, traveling under many difficulties. Game was plentiful and formed a large part of the diet of the family for some time after making their settlement. Subsequently, Mr. Cheeseman moved to a point twelve miles northwest of Muncie, and in 1861, purchased land in Monroe Township, upon which he built a cabin, and from which he developed a good farm. He was a man of great industry, and his efforts were crowned with success, and at the time of his death, he was the possessor of 160 acres of valuable land, the greater part of which, under his successful management, was brought to a high state of cultivation. He was a popular citizen of the community, intelligent and enterprising, and well deserves mention as one of the representative men of Monroe Township. His memory is revered in his neighborhood by all with whom he came in contact. Ten children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Cheeseman, namely: Mantilla, wife of Samuel Andrews; Alexander, deceased; Mary J., wife of George Mansfield; Thomas J.; E. Lydia, wife of David White; Sara A., wife of John Roller; Isaac L., deceased; William J.; Hannah E., wife of Amos Acre, and Sylvester. Mrs. Cheeseman has born her full share of the vicissitudes of life on a farm in a new country, and has reared her large family to honorable manhood and womanhood. She has, indeed, been a true woman, and in her declining years her children rise up to call her blessed. In 1887 she had the misfortune of becoming crippled in the ankle, form the effects of which she has not been able to walk since. This severe affliction, has been borne with most commendable patience, and has been the means of bringing out all the finer and better qualities of her nature. She is beloved by all, and those who are just beginning the toilsome journey of life could safely imitate her example. See sketch of John Roller.
Portrait & Biographical Record Delaware County, Indiana
MICHAEL BOWERS, a well known and reliable resident of Salem Township, where he has large land interests, was born in Delaware County, Indiana, May 9, 1841, a son of Andrew Bowers and Mary (Shafer) Bowers, natives of Rockingham County, Va., of German parentage. In the year 1839, Andrew and Mary Bowers immigrated to Delaware County; Indiana, where Mrs. Bowers died in 1864, and in 1881 Mr. Bowers was called away. They were the parents of ten children, four of whom are yet living. Michael Bowers lived at home with his parents until he was twenty three years of age. As he was the next to the eldest in a large family, he was early obliged to work, and had but limited means of acquiring an education. In 1864, feeling that his country needed his services, he enlisted in the Twenty-fifth Indiana light infantry, was sent to Nashville, and from there marched to Huntsville, requiring twenty-two days to make the trip, owing to the rain which fell in torrents during sixteen days of the time. From this place, the regiment was sent to Decatur, Alabama, and here Mr. Bowers remained until he was mustered out, and discharged July 24, 1865. He came home safely, but one of his brothers died in the awful prison pen at Andersonville of starvation.
On leaving the army, Mr. Bowers engaged in work for his uncle for $200 per year, and on March 5, 1867, was united in marriage to Martha E. Summers, daughter of Terrel and Elizabeth (McClintock) Summers. Mrs. Bowers was one of a family of four children, and she became the mother of four children, but died January 23, 1883. She had been a devoted member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and left a large circle of sorrowing friends. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Bowers were: William O., a graduate of DePauw university; Dora, the wife of George E. Painter, who resides in Henry county; Laura, a teacher in this county, and Edna. Mr. Bower's is the owner of roe acres of fine land, and this property is the result of the honest and persevering labor of its owner. He lives in much comfort and is one of the representative farmers of the county. In 1885, he married Mrs. Dorothea J. Kirp, a widow with four children. Socially, he is a member of the I. O. O. F., No. 561, located in Cowan. The Christian church is the religious body with which he has membership, and in this denomination, .he is much esteemed. Politically he is a republican, and boldly asserts the principles of that party.
A. W. Bowen & Co
NOAH BOWERS, deceased, was for many years one of the most enterprising and successful farmers and stock growers of Delaware County. He was born in Rockingham county, Va., June 1, 1826, and was a son of Jacob and Susanna Bowers, of German descent, and the parents of a family of nine children, viz: Andrew, George, Noah, one unnamed, Shem, Jacob and Elizabeth, all deceased; Christina, wife of T. Sharp, and Susanna, wife of Joseph Shirey. The parents of this family were consistent members of th Presbyterian Church, and followed its teachings with unvarying steadfastness. In politics, the father was a democrat.
Noah Bowers was reared on the old homestead in Virginia, where he passed his early days in attending the "old field" schools in winter and in assisting his father on the farm in summer. At the age of twenty-four he began the race of life for himself, engaging in Delaware county, Indiana, to which he came with his patents in 1835, in the vocation to which he was reared - that of farming - in which he met with phenomenal success. January 24; 1850, he married Miss Mary Sharp; a sister of Thompson Sharp, of Washington Township, and present county commissioner, and of William Sharp, of Salem Township, in whose sketches will be found full details relating to the family of her parents. She bore Mr. Bowers six children, who were born in the following order: Elnora J., Sanford H., Charlie B. and Oliver P., all deceased; and John G., a liveryman of Muncie, and Joseph F., a successful physician of the same city.
September 13, 1870, Noah Bowers was called from earth. He had long enjoyed the esteem of the entire community, who turned out en masse to attend his funeral, which was perhaps the largest that ever took place in the township. His remains was interred in the Sharp cemetery, and a magnificent monument marks the location of his final resting place, At the time of his death Mr. Bowers was the owner of 600 acres of land, beside much other valuable property his administrator selling, that year, hogs alone to the value Of $4,000. And let it be remembered that this great wealth was all accumulated through his own unaided industry and economy. His course through life was upright and prudent, and his example is one worthy the emulation of every poor boy in the county, who should strive to so live that he may leave an equally clear record behind him.
In 1875, Mrs. Mary S. Bowers was united in matrimony with Richard A. Andes, whose sketch may be found elsewhere, and whose home and life she is causing to be made as happy as she had made those of Mr. Bowers.
A. W. Bowen & Co
MILTON JAMES, M.D., late a prominent physician of Muncie, was born March xxx, 1836, near the city of Greenfield, Ross County, Ohio, and was one of fourteen children born to Ruben and Mary James. Eight of these children are living at this time, five brothers and three sisters. Dr. Janes was reared on a farm and acquired, during his minority, a fair education, and before reaching manhood's estate entered the office of Dr. Milton Dunlap, an eminent physician of eastern Ohio, with whom he began the study of medicine. After a thorough course of reading, he entered the Ohio Medical college, from which well known institution he graduated in the year 1859. After completing his medical course he returned to the office of Dr. Dunlap, with whom he effected a co-partnership in the practice of his profession. It was during this time, and before going into the army, that the doctor passed through a severe spell of sickness, which was the cause of much suffering and distress in later years. After recovering his health, D. James enlisted, in December, 1863, as surgeon, and was assigned to the Eighth division, Mississippi squadron, with headquarters on the United States war ship Brilliant. He continued in the service until November 20, 1865, when he was honorably discharged and returned to his former home in Ohio. After a short visit among friends and the scenes of his boyhood days, a trip was taken throughout the west, during which he made a visit to Muncie, where several acquaintances of his had previously settled. It was while making this visit that he concluded to open an office in Muncie, and in the spring of 1866 his shingle, bearing the inscription "Doctor M. James," was tacked on his office door. In the following year, although a stanch democrat, he had so won the esteem and confidence of the people that he was elected coroner of the county, which position he held for two years. He also served the people as county physician for a term of years, and was a member of the city council for some time, having been elected from a republican ward.
In the year 1874 Dr. James was elected by the Indiana legislature, as one of the trustees of the Deaf and Dumb asylum of the state, and was again elected in 1876 and 1880, serving continuously in that capacity for a period of ten years, eight years of which time he was treasurer of the board. No breath of suspicion was ever breathed against his honesty, integrity, or capability, and when he servered his connection with the asylum, in 1884, the record made was without spot or blemish. Dr. James was always regarded an earnest and hard working democrat, and he served his party in Delaware county for twenty years as chairman of the county central committee, and only relinquished the position at his won request. He was continued in party work, however, as one of the election commissioners, which position he held at the time of his death. After the election of Pres. Cleveland, 1884, at the request of friends, Dr. James became a candidate for commissioner of pensions, his claim being pressed by many old soldiers of the state. He failed, however, of the appointment, but was offered by the president a deputy commissionership, which he declined. He was afterwards tendered the Muncie postoffice appointment and later a position in the interior department at Washington, but saw fit to decline both these honors.
In politics, the doctor was a devoted adherent to his party and a recognized leader, and while he took a prominent part in all political contests, yet his genial and forgiving disposition won confidence, esteem and friendship, that set aside all feelings of party differences, thus marking him as a man of big heart and generous disposition. In his profession, Dr. James stood high as a successful practitioner, and at the time he was taken sick he was one of the oldest physicians in the city. It was his devotion to his patients, whether rich or poor, that acquired for him a reputation unconfined to classes, and while possessed of a large practice, yet his generous disposition was such that he never acquired more than a comfortable competency in a quarter-century in his profession. he was a charter member of the DeCember tribe of Red Men, in the deliberations of which order he always took an active and prominent part. Dr. James was united in marriage to Martha M. Kennedy, youngest daughter of the late Hon. Andrew Kennedy, on the 29th of October, 1867. Andrew Kennedy was a member of congress from Indiana from 1841 to 1847, and in the latter year received the democratic caucus nomination of the Indiana legislature for United States senator, but died before being elected to that body. Dr. and Mrs. James had born to them four children: Philip James, Pearl James, Ned James and Fanny James, the two former dying in childhood. Ned was born August 31, 1876, and Fannie July 6, 1889, and both survive to mourn with the mother and wife the great loss of husband and father, a trial and sorrow that none can know except where like afflictions have been sustained. Dr. James died on the 1st day of April, 1891, and his death was felt as an almost irreparable loss by all classes in the city which had so long been his home.
A. W. Bowen & Co