JESSE J. TIPPEY was born in section 31, of Van Buren township, Grant county, Indiana, February 24, 1847. He lived at home with his parentstill he was past seventeen years of age, when he enlisted in the army,enlisting at Wabash, Wabash county, in Company D, One Hundred and Fifty-third Regiment, Indiana Volunteers, in which he served until musteredout at the close of the war. He was diligent in school. After returning from the army heattended the old Academy at Marion for a few years, finishing his education at Crawfordsville College, Crawfordsville, Indiana, where he was socially prominent and a leading member of the Phi Gamma Delta Fraternity. He receiving many invitations to attend meetings of the order as a member ofthe Alumni after leaving college. He began his teaching career in the Fall and Winter term of 1867-8,and continued as one of the leading teachers in the common schools of Grantcounty for twelve years. In 1872 he was united in marriage, with Elizabeth Westfall, to which union was born seven children, all of whom are now living. They are Macaulay E., of Wabash, Indiana; Mrs. George B. Love of Marion, Indiana; Mrs. Edward S. Hawkins of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania; Mrs. Ora E. Talbert of LaGro, Indiana; Mr. Frank H. Tippey, of Marion, Indiana; Flossie C. and Merritt J. Tippey of Wabash, Indiana. He possessed aprogressive spirit and was in every way considered successful. In the year 1879 he sold his possessions in Grant county, and, withhis family, removed in the Spring of 1880 to Cass county, Iowa, where he was successful as a farmer and stockraiser. In the Spring of 1891, togetherwith his family, he removed to Pasadena, California, but not finding the school facilities and surroundings suitable for the family he decided to return to the place where the larger part of his life had been lived and atonce returned to Marion, Indiana, and purchased a farm three miles east ofMarion, where he lived for sixteen years, at which time he sold out and moved to a large farm seven miles northeast of Wabash. At the end of three years he retired from active farm life and purchased a splendid home onWest Pike street, Wabash, Indiana, where he resided until called upon to leave this life, March 18, 1910, at the age of 63 years and 24 days. He untied with the Methodist Episcopal church in 1873. His earlytraining was conducive to a strong, firm faith in god who doeth all things well. He was a student of the Word and often found pleasures in teachingthe same. In all his dealings with men he was ever considered honest andhonorable. He loved the simple life. He was not ostentatious, but quiet andunassuming. To know him was but to find in him a friend; for he was truly a friend of man. His children were dearly loved by him and he ever sacrificed forthem that they might have a good education and be intellectually and morally equipped for the battles of life.

CENTENNIAL HISTORY OF GRANT COUNTY INDIANA 1812-1912 The Lewis Publishing Company, 1914 Page 1229-1230
Submitted by: Peggy Karol

I will start the biography of William Leach with his grandfather, William Leach, who was baptized on July 10, 1748 at St. Steven's parish; Northumberland, Va. William was the son of John and Joanna Leach.
According to "A History of Monroe Co., WVA" written by Oren F. Morton, B. Lit.

William Leach, a stonemason, came from Prince Edward at the close of the Revolution with his wife, Susanna Hughes. William received a land grant of 170 acres located in the sinks of Greenbrier Co., West Virginia from the Commonwealth of VA for one pound sterling paind into the treasury of this Commonwealth. William died in 1805. He owned slaves and left a personality valued at $274.67.

Children of William and Susanna Leach were: Molly Leach Jones, Mathew, Joshua, William, James, Elizabeth Leach Shewmate, Ruben, John, Edward, Edmond and Esom.

Esom Leach was born 1775 in Va and died in 1831 at Franklin Co., In. He left no will. He married Jane/Jean Handley in Greenbrier Co., W.Va on Sept 24, 1797. Jane was the daughter of Archibald and Jean Henderson Handley. We find the marriage record to Esom Leach to be Jane Handley, while she is called Jean, wife of Esom Leach, in her father's will. The DAR has accepted her as Jane/Jean. The marriage record may be found in Book 1-A pg. 79 Lewisville, WVA.

Esom Leach came from Monroe Co., VA to Franklin Co., Indiana about 1803 along with many of the Handley family. The Leach family was in Indiana a dozen years before it became a state.

Children of this union were: Rueben, Archibald, James, Martha, Rebekah and William.

The following biography was taken from "The Making of a Township" by David G. Lewis 1829-1917. Chapter 28 page 195.

Fairmont Township
William Leach and his Descendants

With in a year after Grant, as an organized county, had been placed on the map of Indiana, the Leach name was spoken in the vicinity of Fowlerton.

William Leach was born May 5, 1793 in VA. He married Sarah Harrison, daughter of John and Rachel Price Harrison, Dec. 23, 1813 in Butler Co., Ohio. Mrs. Leach belonged to a pioneer family with an honorable history. (It is claimed she descends from the President Harrison lineage. This has not been proven.) William Leach, who was a soldier in the war of 1812, came when Fairmont Township was a dense forest. Along with the Lewis, Ward, Todd, Simons, Duling, Powers, Crist, Redder, Ice, Corn, Furnish, Mason, Harrison and Payne families, the Leach family had its opportunity, and William Leach was the man of the hour in planting his family tree in the virgin soil of the township. Three sons, namely Esom, John and Edmund and four daughters, Rachel, Mary, Jane and Martha constituted his family circle. His children and children's children, unto the third and fourth generation assemble in annual reunion in the comfortable little grove generously bequeathed to Fowlerton, to the town of his founding, by William Leach. William entered seventy-eight acre tract in Fairmont township's most fertile and productive land all which lie in the immediate vicinity of Fowlerton and most of which is in the possession of his prosterity. The peaceful village of Fowlerton nestles securely on one of these tracts. In fact there is a Leach school, a Leach store and a Leach saw mill. With the coming of the railroad came changes in the family and community history, and Leachburg became known as Fowlerton.

In the days of William Leach the McCormick Tavern was a landmark. The pioneers along the Mississinewa - the McCormick, Wilson and Grant families - knew all about self-denial and privations. They knew what it meant to procure venison from the woods and wild turkeys to supply the family with the main fare of their meals.

Our forefathers told of the long trip to the Wabash for corn meal after the resources of the Mississinewa farmers were exhausted and the use of the canal when they had something to offer on the market. They hauled grain to Wabash until the railroad came and changed the whole situation.

The history of the sons and daughters of William and Sarah Harrison Leach is, in a measure, the present day history of Fairmont Township.

Rachel Leach was born Dec. 13, 1814, she married first Moses Lawson. One daughter, Louisa Jane Lawson, married Aaron Brewer, son of Stephen Brewer. Rachel's second marriage was to Elijah Searles. Three children William, Ruth and Sarah.

Esom Leach, born Dec. 8, 1816 married Lucinda Corn and thirteen children were born to them, namely William J., Nancy F., Sarah A., Joseph J., Edmund C., Martha P., John G., Mary F., George W., Wilson T., Benjamin F., Rueben J. and Simon R.

John Leach was born Jan. 23, 1819, married Martha Fear. One son, Harvey, was born to them. Martha died and John married Mary Lewis. Children of this marriage: David, who died in infancy, Nancy, Esom O., Sarah J., Mary E., Edmund S. and Martha Ann.

Edmund Leach was born June 22, 1821, married Emily Brewer, daughter of Stephen Brewer and their children were Jasper, Rachel Ann, Charles M., James S., George W., Esom, Lucinda and Edmund Jr.

Jane Leach born Oct. 26, 1823 married Stephen Brewer, son of Stephen Brewer, and their children are William N., Stephen, John, Emily and Mary.

Mary (always called Polly) Leach born Oct. 25, 1825 married James McCreey and one son, Samuel was born. After the death of McCreey, Mary was joined in wedlock to Jehu Stanley and two sons, William and Joseph were born.

Martha Ann Leach born July 9, 1833, married Thomas Edward Smith, and their children are William Henry, James Edward, Louisa Jane, John Lewis, Esom Leach, Mary Emeline and Rachel Olive.

William Leach died February 23, 1851 long before the whistle of the locomotive or the bell of the telephone had been heard. He and his contempory neighbors should be honored, inasmuch as they made this community possible.

Submitted by Cora Esch

Joshua Strange is a son of George Strange, formerly of Ohio, and is a brother of John T. Strange. Both live in Marion, Indiana. Joshua is a farmer on a large scale, and is recognized as one of the foremost agriculturists in the country. He was born in 1844 in Indiana. He married Miss Eunice Bernard. They have lost one child and have two living, namely, William T., born in 1867 and lives at Marion, and Dr. L., born in 1872, living at Marion, where he is engaged in the practice of dentistry. The original location of the Stranges of whom there are descended was at Culpepper, Va., which is about 75 miles from the Peters Parish church, at what is now known as New Kent, where my own ancesters came from. The North Carolina Stranges were originally at what is now Manchester, only about twenty miles from New Kent. Their close proximity strengthens the contention that we are of common parentage. Joshua Strange has been honored by the governor of his state for many years by appointing him as the state representative to the National Farmers' Congress and during the last two or more years he has served that prominent body as its president, which position he has filled with marked ability. He is also active in the Farmers' Institute work, and is the president of the Iidiana State Congress of Agriculturists. To Mr. Strange, more than any other, belongs the credit of securing the present law from Congress providing for the manufacture and use of wood alcohol for such mechanical purposes as would benefit farmers, as well as the arts and mechanics. I have met Mr. Strange at several meetings of the Farmers' National Congress and found both he and his wife very companionable and pleasant to associate with.

Source: "Strange Biographical and Historical sketches"
Submitted by: Kelly (Runyon) Bragg

CHILION W. NEAL, a resident of section 20, of Jackson Township, came to Clarke County in 1857 with his parents, James B. and Anna (Adamson) Neal. He was then but fifteen years of age, having been born October 10, 1841, in Grant County, Indiana, next to the eldest in a family of nine children, all of whom were with their parents on their emigration to this county. The names of the others are--Mahlon W., now a resident of Osborn county; Sarah, died March 29, 1869, aged twenty-four years; John A., died January 29, 1860, aged fifteen years; Mary N., wife of Jeremiah Brisbin, of Franklin County, Nebraska; Elvira C., died June 29, 1868, aged eighteen years; Joseph A., died July 7, 1877, aged twenty-six years; Margaret Jane, wife of H.H. Lowery, died March 19, 1879, aged twenty-five years; Eri R., a resident of Jewell County, Kansas.Mr. Neal’s parents made a home on section 36, Jackson township and improved eighty acres of land. Here they passed the remainder of their lives. The mother belonged to the Seventh-day Adventists, and died October 22, 1869, aged fifty years. The father was a member of the Christian church, and died April 4, 1871, aged fifty-five years.August 15, 1862, the subject of this sketch enlisted in Company D, Thirty-ninth Iowa Volunteer Infantry; was first engaged at Parker’s Cross-Roads, in Tennessee, December, 1862; was under the lamented General McPherson at Atlanta; followed Sherman in his march to the sea, and was in the lines of the review of Sherman’s Grand Army at the National Capitol. He was honorably discharged at Washington in June, 1865.June 9, 1867, Mr. Neal was married to Miss Mary A. Lewis, daughter of John Lewis, the first settler of Jackson Township. She was born in Monroe County, Iowa, February 27, 1851, and was six weeks old when her parents moved to this county. Mr. and Mrs. Neal settled on section 20 April 16, 1869. Their homestead consists of 160 acres of land, all improved. They have had six hildren. Their first born died in infancy. The others are-- Lizzie L., Rose A., J. Lewis, Agnes G. and Mary M. Mr. and Mrs. Neal are Seventh-day Adventists. Mr. Neal has been identified with the Greenback party.

Submitted by: Lora
Clarke County Historical and Biographical Record by Lewis Publishing, 1886. p.184

JOHN F. BEVARD, son of Jonathan Bevard, was born in Grant County, Indiana, October 5, 1859. He was reared in Franklin Township, always residing upon the homestead of his parents, where he still remains. March 6, 1884, he was united in marriage with Miss Nancy Z. Smith, daughter of Rev. G. W. Smith, of Franklin Township, who was born in Chariton, Lucas County, Iowa, April 16, 1865. They have had two children-- Christina, born April 24, 1885, who died in infancy; Nellie M., born May 25, 1886. Mrs. Bevard is a member of the Baptist church. Mr. Bevard politically is a Democrat.

Submitted by: Lora
Clarke County Historical and Biographical Record by Lewis Publishing, 1886. p.60

ISAAC WIANT, is a native of Bedford County, Pennsylvania, born June 29, 1824, a son of Jacob and Magdalene (Diebert) Wiant. His father died in 1826, and his mother subsequently, with her six children, moved to Grant County, Indiana, where he was reared and married.After his marriage his new cares increased his desire for a home, and accordingly, to better his opportunities for procuring one, he left Indiana and came West, locating in Clarke County, Iowa. He entered a tract of Government land, which he has improved and now has a fine farm of 275 acres of well-improved land, all under cultivation, with good buildings and a pleasant residence. He is an enterprising, progressive citizen and a good farmer.He is pubic-spirited, and in addition to attending to his personal affairs is active in promoting the interests of his town and county. He has served as township trustee twenty-one consecutive years, and as treasurer of the School Board nine years. In politics he is a Republican, but in local elections votes for men, not party. In religious faith he is allied to the United Brethren church, and is a liberal supporter toward its material needs.Mr.Wiant was married in November 1845, to Eliza Woolman, daughter of Abraham and Ruth Woolman. To them have been born seven children--Mary Elizabeth, Eliza Jane, Martha Emily, Ruth D., John C.F., Lucy M. and William T.

Submitted by: Lora
Clarke County Historical and Biographical Record by Lewis Publishing, 1886. p.13


Thomas Harvey, Sr., and Anna, his wife, came the same year [1832] with a family of five, four sons and one daughter, namely, Jesse, John, Henry, Thomas and Mary, and took the land directly north of William Osborn and a forty west of the road that Jesse settled on, where Cyrus and Ephraim were born. Thomas Harvey, Sr., was a very industrious, quiet, inoffensive man. He had a large orchard and fruit nursery at an early day, and sold his fruit and young trees over the newer parts of the country. Thomas and his boys were great friends to the colored race, and assisted many on to freedom. The old homestead has passed out from the Harvey name, I think. All of the original family have passed away. A few of the second and thrid generations yet survive the ravages of time, but are widely scattered.

_The Making of a Township: Being an Account of the Early Settlement and Subsequent Developent of Fairmount Township, Grant County, Indiana, 1829 to 1917_ Edgar M. Baldwin, ed., Fairmount, IN: Edgar Baldwin Printing Co, Publ, pg 105.

In 1829, according to officia records, the first settlers came to Fairmount township to make their permanent homes.

Among others who came inthe early part of the '30s and entered land were: ; Thomas Harvey, October 10, 1982; Jesse Harvey, October 10, 1832; . These are the first men who entered land in the township. The majority of the number came from North Carolina, and practically all of them were of Quaker ancestry.

Submitted by: Phyllis Fleming
_Centennial History of Grant County, Indiana: 1812-1912_ ed by Roland Lewis Whitson, Lewis Pub Co, Chicago & New York, 1914, pg 189

Jesse HARVEY & Lydia

The eighty acres just east of the [Lancaster] Bell place [purchased 80 acres, 1836] was taken by Jesse, Sr., and Lydia Harvey, in 1832. He was the brother of Thomas Harvey and Solomon Parson's wife [Rachel Harvey, b 11 October 1804]. Jesse died early in the '40's. His wife lived there alone for many years, and passed from there to the Great Beyond. They were two very quiet, kind-hearted bodies, liked by all who knew them. They left no children.

Submitted by: Phyllis Fleming
_The Making of a Township: Being an Account of the Early Settlement and Subsequent Developent of Fairmount Township, Grant County, Indiana, 1829 to 1917_ Edgar M. Baldwin, ed., Fairmount, IN: Edgar Baldwin Printing Co, Publ, pg 108.

Solomon PARSONS and Rachel HARVEY

In 1835, Solomon Parsons and wife, Rachel took the land joining [Jesse, bc 1805] Harvey on the south. Rachel was a sister of Thomas and Jesse Harvey, Sr. [although Jesse's father was also named Jesse -- I believe the 'sr' designation was used to differentiate this Jesse from his brother Thomas' son, Jesse], and Keziah [Harvey] Osborn. Solomon was a valuable man in the new country, as he was an excellent workman with leather and made a nice boot or shoe. He was a fast workman. They reared a family of five children, namely Keziah, Elizabeth, William, Anna and Henry. Keziah married Henry Wilson. He died. Later she married Reece Haisley, and they moved to Jewell County, Kansas. Elizabeth married Gonner Knight, an Englishman, and lived for some years on what is now the north end of John Peacock's farm. They are both dead, leaving tow sons and two daughters. Dr. John C. Knight, of Jonesboro, is one of the family. William married and moved to Iowa many years ago. Anna married Dr. White, a young physician who practiced in Fairmount a short time in the early day. He emigrated West and we lost track of him. Henry fought for the Union in the civil War, was badly wounded, but recovered sufficiently to live until a short time ago. He settled in Iowa after the war, reared a family, and was an honored citizen. Parsons sold to John Beck. The writer went to school with all the children many a day.

The land directly east of Parsons, to the prairie, was taken up by Eastern speculators, held for some years. and for this reason was not improved for some time.

Submitted by: Phyllis Fleming
_The Making of a Township: Being an Account of the Early Settlement and Subsequent Developent of Fairmount Township, Grant County, Indiana, 1829 to 1917_ Edgar M. Baldwin, ed., Fairmount, IN: Edgar Baldwin Printing Co, Publ, pg 108-109.

Amazia Beeson in 1850 ran a copper distillery two miles east of Fairmount. He also built the first brick house ever erected in Fairmount township. Daniel Thomas built the second one. Beeson distlled sassafras, hoarhound, peppermint, golden rod and pennyroyal, the extracts being used for medicines. Dennis Montgomery was at one time employed as Beeson's assistant.

_Centennial History of Grant Co, IN_ by Rolland Lewis Whitson, vol 1, pg 201

In 1835, we find John Lee and wife a mile and a half east of Parson's south line. The cabin stood a little east of the old Wayne trail, west of the slough. Amaziah Beeson located a little way across the slough, to the southeast of Lee. John Lee's wife was a sister of Nathan Morris and a twin sister of Solomon Thomas's wife. The Lees and the Beesons were members of the Friends church and attended Back Creek meeting. Lee and Thomas emigrated to Iowa, in 1850. Lee died out there.

Beeson remained on this prairie farm and brought up a family there. Beeson and the Lees were related in some way. Amaziah was a chemist, to some extent, and had a small distillery, where he manufactured sassafras and peppermint oil, which he sold at a profit. He built the first brick residence in Fairmount Township, I think, which certainly indicated energy and perseverance. I think he and his wife died on the farm. Charles Beeson was their son.

_Centennial History of Grant County, Indiana: 1812-1912_, Rolland Lewis Whiteson, ed., Chicago: Lewis Publ Co, "CV. Society of Friends in Grant County," pg 648-649.

Friends occupied all the land from Marion to Fairmount, as quoted from a prominent citizen of Marion (E. L. Goldthwait), gave the writer the following names of persons just as they called them to memory who lived on both sides of the river and along the rad leading from Marion to Jonesboro, and then to Fairmount: Reuben Overman, Silas Overman, Joab Wright, John Schooley, Joseph Green, Alexander Frazier, Joel Overman, Jacob O. Davis, John Thomas, Isaac Hollingsworth, Jesse Smith, Isaac Jay, Isaac Elliott, Sr., Isaac Elliott, Jr., Jeremiah Arnold, Bailey, Pearson, Simeon Thomas, Jesse Small, Ephraim Elliott, Reuben Elliott, Exum Elliott, William Hiatt, Denny Jay, Joshua Canaday, Timothy Kelly, Obadiah Jones, John Coppock, Evan Benbow, John Pemberton, John Benbow, Joseph Hill, Ahira Baldwin, Nathan Hill, Daniel Winslow, Aaron Hill, Henry Harvey, Joseph Winslow, Henry Winslow, Matthew Winslow, William R. Peirce, Rachel Newby, Seth Winslow, Jess Dillon, Nathan Morris, and Samuel Radley, not to mention others who lived at Marion, Deer Creek, Jonesboro, Back Creek, Oak Ridge and Fairmount. (The two exceptions were Caleb Smith and John Russell, south of Jonesboro).

In the year 1839, when the Friends of Back Creek were about to build the big rick meeting house, this old church is shown in a photograph, that stood till recent years, they made a ratio of apportionment, which is interestingas showing who were the paying members at that time and their financial ratings. Under an assessment of four and a half per cent were placed, Solomon Knight, Matthew Winslow, Axum Newby, Nathan Morris and Aaron Hill. Three per cent, Jonathan Wilcutts, Joseph Winslow, Charles Baldwin, Daniel Baldwin, Timothy Kelly, Iredell Rush, David Stanfield, Thomas Harvey and Amaziah Beeson. Two and a half per cent, Lewis Jones and Seth Winslow. Two per cent, Evan Hinshaw, Thomas Winslow, Thomas Baldwin, Henry Winslow, and Asa Peacock. One and three fourths per cent, James Scott and Dougan Rush. One and one half percent, Micajah Newby, Lindsey Baldwin, William Osborn, Charles Hinshaw, Thomas Hill, William Peacock, Daniel Frazier, Benjamin Benbow, Mahlon Neal and Job Jackson. One per cent, Peter Rich, William Stanfield, Jesse Wilson, David S. Stanfield, Henry Winslow, John Haisley, Ira Haisley, Jonathan Jones, Nathan Hammer, Elias Baldwin, Joseph Baldwin, Henry Harvey and Isaac Stanfield. One half per cent, John Rich, Allen Wright, Nathan Wilson, John Lee, Charles Stanfield and John Peacock. Let it be remembered in connection with all these names as heads of families, that this is only fourteen years after the first white family had settled in Grant county.

As we have been trying to show who were some of the Friends in addition to many named at the beginning who settledin Grant county, a few of very may whose church membership was received by transfer as the years passed will now be given. In the year 1835 were received the following: Thomas Harris and Mary, his wife, with their children, John S., Noah, George Davis, Obadiah, Zachariah, Maris and Mary. David and Newton Harris were born into this family after their arrival. Joseph and Sarah Ratliff and their children, John cornelius, Millicent and Mary. Obadiah Jones (commonly spoken of as the founder of Jonesboro) and Ann, his wife, and their children, David Winston, Abijah Foster, Robert Barclay, Enoch Pearson, Jonathan Harris, Martha Ann and Jemima. James Jay and Lydia, his wife, and their children, Jesse, Richard, John, Isaiah, William, Lavina, Mary and Susannah, and Mrs. Sarah Jay Gordon of Gas City has been born since then. John and Rachel Coppock, and their daughters, Mary and Susannah, and two sons. Joel and Clarkson, of Jonesboro, have been born since. In 1836, John and Rachel Allen and daughters Mary and Elizabeth. Thomas and Martha Winslow and children, Milton, Nixon, John, Nancy, Millicent and Lydia. Evan and Margaret Benbow, their daughter, Ann, and their apprentice, Anderson Hoggatt. John Pemberton and Susannah, his wife, and their children, Lemuel, Joel and Sophia; other children born since are Elihu W., Cyrus, Jesse K., Anna and Mary, the latter being at present a prominent minister known as Mary Moon Meredith. In 1837, James and Annis Scott, the parents of Mrs. Amos Bogue, Mrs. Henry Rittenhouse, Addison and O.R. Scott, all at Fairmount, and Rev. Stephen Scott now in Oklahoma. Lewis Thomas and Lydia, his wife, and children, Amos, Lewis, Rachel, Sarah and Agnes. David Stanfield and Elizabeth, his wife, and their children, David S., Charles, Isaac, Samuel, Vernon, Elijah and Lydia Jane. Mary Wilson and her minor children, Jesse, Nathan Cyrus, Henry, Micajah, John, Milton, Lindsey, Samuel C., Nancy, Elizabeth, Eliza and Abigail. In 1838, Wylls and Ann Davis, and their children, Clarkson, Ellwood and Lucy. In 1841, Jesse and Martha Smith, and their children, Ephraim, Mary, Isaac R. and William I. In 1850, Isaac Jay, a minister, and Rhoda, his wife, and their minor children, Allen, Milton, Walter, Denny, Abijah Cooper, and Mary Elizabeth. In 1853, Richard and Susannah Gordon and their children, Mahala, Nathan and Phebe M. John and Rebecca Ferree and their son Alvin. Evan, Lydia, William E., Charles and John D. Ferree were all born in Grant county. Mary Hockett and minor children, Henry N. and Barclay. Sarah Hockett, Esther Hester and son Amos Leroy. In 1854, Seth Gordon. In 1855, Mahlon and Zilpha Harvey and children, Emmeline, Milton and Enos. Jesse Wright and Charity, his wife, and their children, Phebe Ann, Jemima Ruth, Peter Harmon, Matilda Margaret, John M., Mary Evaline and Rachel Adeline.

Submitted by: Phyllis Fleming
The Making of a Township: Being an Account of the Early Settlement and Subsequent Developent of Fairmount Township, Grant County, Indiana, 1829 to 1917_ Edgar M. Baldwin, ed., Fairmount, IN: Edgar Baldwin Printing Co, Publ, pg 109.

Deb Murray