JOHN GUY SLOAN. There are old and prominent families of Crawford County, Indiana, which have been important here for over one hundred years, and one of these bears the name of Sloan. Founded near English, in this county, in 1800, by a sturdy and industrious Pennsylvania farmer, Archibald Sloan, his sterling character and thrift were inherited by his children, as were his valuable lands, and the entire inheritance has continued to the present day. One of his worthy descendants is found in John Guy Sloan, postmaster of Marengo, and active in Crawford County politics. Well educated in the local schools, a graduate of the high school at English and a business college at New Albany, in early manhood Mr. Sloan at first taught school in Crawford County, and later was identified with business houses at Indianapolis and Newcastle, Indiana. In 1910 he settled on a farm near Marengo, and has made this city his home ever since, although since January, 1924, when he was appointed postmaster, his time has been mainly taken up with his public duties.

Postmaster Sloan was born at English, Crawford County, Indiana, April 20, 1883, a son of George W. and Sarah (Dooley) Sloan, both of whom are deceased, he having passed away December 14, 1906, at which time he was still engaged in farming, which had been his life work. Mrs. Sloan died July 27, 1927. Seven children were born to the parents, namely: William W., who married Mame Luckett, lives at French Lick, Indiana, and has two children; James O., who lives at Indianapolis, married Maude Pruitt, and they have one daughter; Sophia, who married James Royer, lives in New York City, and they have six children; Archibald, who is unmarried, lives at English; Blanche, who is also unmarried, lives at English; John Guy, subject of this review; and George W., who married Gertie Lone, and they live at Indianapolis and have two sons.

After teaching school for two years Postmaster Sloan took his business course, and, graduating as a bookkeeper, was connected as bookkeeper with several concerns in different cities. In 1910 he returned to the occupation of his forefathers, and began farming, but later went into the grocery business at Marengo for a year. In the meanwhile he had made his influence felt in the local Republican party, and ran for the office of clerk of the Circuit Court in 1918, during which campaign he became so well known and did so much for the party that, although he was defeated, the results are shown forth in his appointment as postmaster. Under his capable charge the affairs of the Marengo office are in fine condition, and the patrons are more than satisfied. For twenty-three years Mr. Sloan has been a member of Marengo Lodge, A. F. and A. M., and for four years was its worshipful master, and he also belongs to the Eastern Star. For many years he has been a member of the Christian Church, and is now a trustee and deacon of the body at Marengo. He married Minola Stewart, of Marengo, also of an old pioneer family, daughter of David M. Stewart, a leading merchant and farmer of Crawford County. They have one daughter, Thelma, who lives at home. She is a teacher in the Marengo schools and pursues her education each summer in the State Normal School at Terre Haute.

The Sloan farm on which Archibald Sloan settled in1800 descended to his son, James Guy Sloan, the grandfather of Postmaster Sloan, and he remained on it and reared a family. Four of his sons were Union soldiers, namely: William W., who was captain of a company in the First Indiana Cavalry; George W., father of Postmaster Sloan, and who served in the Forty-ninth Indiana Infantry; "Tip" M., who served in the First Indiana Cavalry; and Robert L., who served with the One Hundred and Forty-fourth Indiana Infantry. For years the Sloan family has had a part ownership in the Marengo Cave, but recently this interest has been sold to the Marengo Cave Company.

Click here for photo.

By Charles Roll, A.M.
The Lewis Publishing Company, 1931

HARRY FRANKLIN GLAIR is manager of the great refining plant of the Standard Oil Company at Whiting. Mr. Glair is an oil and gas engineer, a graduate of the University of Illinois, and has been with the technical staff at Whiting since 1912.

Mr. Glair was born at Chicago, Illinois, August 28, 1888, only son and child of Lewis C. and Emma Katherine (Olsker) Glair. His parents were born and reared at Buffalo, New York, were married in that city and settled in Chicago in 1887. His father has spent many years in the service of the Illinois Central Railway as a conductor. He is a member of the Order of Railway Conductors and the Knights of the Maccabees. Mrs. Glair is an active worker in the University Baptist Church at Chicago.

Harry F. Glair attended public schools in his native city, graduated from the Hyde Park High School in 1906 and immediately went to work for the Standard Oil Company. After two years he accepted the opportunity to complete a technical education in the University of Illinois. He graduated with the class of 1912, with the degree Bachelor of Science. After three months in St. Louis with the Curtis Manufacturing Company he reentered the service of the Standard Oil Company of Whiting, in the engineering department. He helped design the first Burton cracking stills, in which was applied the modern methods of manufacturing motor gasoline from petroleum. In January, 1914, he was made assistant superintendent of the Paraffine Works. Mr. Glair has brought both industry and enthusiasm to his work with the Standard Oil Company. In November, 1920, he was made superintendent of the Paraffine Works. In September, 1921, came another promotion, when he was given the position of assistant general superintendent of the Whiting Refinery. On January 1, 1927, he was made general superintendent of the plant and has been plant manager since March 7, 1929. The Whiting plant is probably the largest and most complete technical laboratory for the refining of petroleum products in the world. Eight hundred acres are used for the plant and about 4,000 people are employed there. This refinery is the chief center for the manufacture of the famous "Red Crown" gasoline product.

Mr. Glair is widely known among oil and gas engineers throughout America. He is Master Mason and a member of the Zeta Psi college fraternity and the South Shore and Lake Hills Country Clubs. He has membership in a number of Chambers of Commerce at Hammond, East Chicago, Bay City, Michigan, Muskegon, Michigan, Superior, Wisconsin. He takes an active part in community affairs, is a member of the Hammond Park Board and chairman of the board of trustees of the Whiting Community Memorial House, a great civic center built by the Rockefellers, at a cost of over $600,000. Mr. Glair is a Republican and he and Mrs. Glair are active members of the Plymouth Congregational Church.

He married at Whiting, November 10, 1915, Miss Hortense Oliver, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Myron Oliver, of Chicago. Her father for many years has been claim agent for the Illinois Central Railroad. Her mother died in 1898 and is buried at Chicago. Mrs. Glair graduated from the Hyde Park High School of Chicago. They have one daughter, Jacquelyn, a student in the public schools. Mr. and Mrs. Glair have a summer home at Three Rivers, Michigan, where during the season he spends his week ends. His recreations are fishing and golf.

By Charles Roll, A.M.
The Lewis Publishing Company, 1931

ELI SHERMAN JONES, surgical specialist, one of the ablest representatives of his profession at Hammond, is a member of an Indiana family which has produced a number of able scholars and professional men.

He was born in the Quaker community of Fairmount, Grant County, Indiana, February 9, 1890. Before coming to Indiana the Jones family were members of the Quaker community of Western North Carolina. His grandfather was Robert Jones, who in the early days moved from North Carolina and for several years lived at Fairmount, Indiana. He then returned to Lexington, North Carolina, where he died. The father of Doctor Jones was David Jones, who was born at Fairmount, Indiana. Shortly after his birth his parents started back to North Carolina in a covered wagon, and his mother died on the way and was buried in Tennessee. David Jones grew up in North Carolina, attended school there, and when about twenty-one years of age returned to Indiana and settled on a farm near Fairmount. His business has been that of a farmer and stock raiser. In 1920 he retired into Fairmount, but still oversees the work of his farm. He married, March 3, 1881, Miss Sarah Thomas, and on March 3, 1931, they celebrated their golden wedding anniversary. Both have been sincere and active members of the Friends Church. Sarah Thomas was born and reared at Fairmount and her father was Rev. Amos Thomas, one of the early Quaker ministers of Grant County, Indiana. David and Sarah Jones had a family of ten children, one of whom died in infancy. The oldest living son, William M. Jones, is a farmer at Fairmount. Dr. R. B. Jones lives at LaPorte, Indiana. Dr. Thomas E., A. M., Ph. D., has devoted his life to education, both in this country and abroad. He was for several years professor of economics in a university in Japan, has also been active in the Friends' reconstruction work in the Orient, and since 1926 has been president of Fisk University at Nashville. The next in order of birth is Dr. Eli Sherman. Ora is the wife of Paul Wolf, of Morristown, Indiana. Orpha is Mrs. John Catron, of Oakland, California. Rene A. lives at Salt Lake City, Utah. Frances is Mrs. Cedric Macauley, of Alameda, California. Fred, the youngest, is a resident of Fairmount, Indiana.

Eli Sherman Jones spent his boyhood on his fathers' farm in Grant County, attended public schools nearby and the Fairmount Academy. He was graduated Bachelor of Science in 1914 from Indiana University and took his medical degree in the University School of Medicine in 1916. His interne work was done in the City Hospital at Indianapolis. Doctor Jones in 1916 located at Hammond, where he has had a steadily increasing business as a physician and surgeon, but since October, 1928, has confined himself largely to his work as a specialist in surgery. His offices are in the First Trust Building. For twelve years he has served as coroner's physician of Lake County. He is a member of the County, Indiana State and American Medical Associations, and a fellow of the American College of Surgeons. He is on the staff of St. Margaret's Hospital of Hammond, St. Catherine's Hospital of East Chicago, and the Methodist Hospital of Gary.

Doctor Jones for a number of years has been a student of Masonry. He is a member of McKinley Lodge, A. F. and A. M., the Royal Arch Chapter, Council and Knights Templar Commandery at Hammond, Fort Wayne Consistory of the Scottish Rite and Orak Temple of the Mystic Shrine. He also belongs to the Elks, the Rotary Club, the Woodmar Country Club. He is a member of the Friends Church and in politics an independent. His recreations are hunting and fishing, but his real enthusiasm is in the line of his profession. He has studied and visited hospitals and clinics at the Mayo Institution at Rochester, Minnesota, the University of Chicago, Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, and has studied and traveled abroad in England, Germany, France and Austria.

Doctor Jones married at Bloomfield, Indiana, November 18, 1916, Miss Berta Herold, daughter of Otto and Clara (Dyer) Herold. Her father was a banker and leader in politics at Bloomfield, Indiana, where he died in 1924 and where her mother resides. Mrs. Jones attended public school at Bloomfield and graduated from Indiana University in 1914. She is a member of the Christian Church and the Delta Gamma sorority. They have a daughter, Janet, a student in the Westlake School for Girls at Los Angeles, California.

By Charles Roll, A.M.
The Lewis Publishing Company, 1931

CHARLES T. PRICE. The Price family, of Richmond, has been rich in all the attributes of good and high minded citizenship. As an American family their record is a long and honorable one, covering half a dozen generations, back to Colonial times.

The old seat of the Price family in this country was in New Jersey. Thomas Price spent all his life at Elizabethtown, that state. Ten of his brothers were soldiers in the Revolution, and each endured a term of imprisonment in the old "Sugar House" in New York. Thomas Price married Rachel Badgley. She was a granddaughter of Lord Townley and Lady Abbie, his wife. Lord Townley's property in England was confiscated because he favored the cause of the colonists in the war for American independence. Two of his sons and one daughter came to America. The daughter became the wife of William Badgley, whose daughter Rachel married Thomas Price. Thomas and Rachel Price had fourteen children. One of the sons, Jeremiah Price, was conspicuous in the early history of the City of Chicago, where he built up a great fortune, and at his death in 1852, having no direct heirs, it was divided among his relatives.

Caleb Price, son of Thomas and Rachel Price, also spent his life at Elizabethtown, New Jersey. He was a tinsmith by trade. He died in 1858. He married Anna Tucker, and they had three sons, Benjamin, Caleb and Charles T.

Charles T. Price, Sr., the founder of the family at Richmond, Indiana, was born at Elizabeth, New Jersey, April 8, 1817. At the age of fifteen he left school to work for his brother Benjamin in a shoe store. At eighteen he set up in business for himself as a shoe dealer at Philadelphia. Later for a time he was with his brother Caleb in the tinware business at Mobile, Alabama. He returned to Philadelphia, was a retail shoe merchant in that city until 1847, then for five years was in business at Cincinnati, and in 1852 located at Richmond, where he lived out his life. He was a shoe merchant, hardware dealer, but after 1858 devoted his time chiefly to real estate operations. He built and sold more than a hundred homes, laid out subdivisions, carried on an extensive business in farm lands, and at all times was a generous and public spirited benefactor of his community. He was one of the founders of Grace Methodist Episcopal Church and filled all the offices in the church. He supported the cause of prohibition, but was independent in politics. He was one of the principal donors to the Home for the Friendless, and no worthy cause failed to receive his support and interest.

Charles T. Price, Sr., married, April 16, 1838, Caroline Williams, who died in 1848, at the age of thirty-three years, leaving two children, Charles T. and Mrs. Jane M. Adison. Charles T. Price, Sr., married, July 16, 1850, Lydia Manifold, of Cincinnati, and by that union there were five children.

Charles T. Price, Jr., whose name is held in grateful memory in Richmond, was born at Philadelphia, April 28, 1840, and was about twelve years of age when his father moved to Richmond. His independence and initiative were developed at an early age. As a boy he sold magazines and nuts on the trains of the Pennsylvania Railroad. He was determined to get an education. Nothing apparently could keep him from school when he had the opportunity to attend. While in Cincinnati he started for school one day after a thaw had broken up the ice in the canal which he usually had crossed on the ice. He mounted one of the blocks of ice floating in the stream, but before reaching the opposite shore was overturned and thrown into the icy water. He made his way to the shore, and though his clothing was completely drenched, he went on to school and remained there until closing time. After getting his business training in school he mastered the art of cabinet maker, and at different periods applied himself to the business of building houses.

In 1861 he enlisted in the Second Indiana Cavalry. Because of his trade he was assigned work in bridge construction. He became quartermaster's clerk of the Post Division of the Cumberland, under Colonel Dudley, from whom the various regimental officers obtained supplies. During the four years from 1861 to 1865 he was stationed at Bridgeport, Alabama, and Chattanooga, Tennessee, and at the close of the war was mustered out and honorably discharged, his papers being signed by Colonel Dudley. While in the army he had two furloughs of a few days each, during which he made brief visits to his wife and their little son.

After the war he established a store at Middleboro, several miles north of Richmond. His store was a market for the hunters who brought in their game to him. Many times he loaded the products of the shotgun and traps on his back and carried them to the Richmond market. Later Mr. and Mrs. Price established a confectionery store at 808 Main Street, Richmond, Mrs. Price attending to the needs of the customers with the aid of a sister, Almeda Burroughs, recognized as the most beautiful girl of Wayne County, while Mr. Price busied himself with the construction of the Homestead Maple Lawn, 19 North Thirteenth Street, long famous as the home of rare birds and flowers. Later the Prices acquired the store building at 916 Main Street, a three-story structure. They had their opening on a snowy February day, but in spite of the storm many friends attended the opening. The Price store was the first in Richmond to be electrically lighted. He installed a dynamo and other machinery for manufacturing electric current, which also supplied power for the operation of his ice cream freezers. In 1893 the Price store dispensed the first ice cream sodas at Richmond. In the fall of 1915 Mr. and Mrs. Price celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of the opening of their business. A reception was held in the store, orchestral music, fruit lemonade, choice confections and flowers supplied to the guests. The building was decorated with palms that Mrs. Price herself had raised, and also with autumn flowers and oak boughs.

Both Mr. and Mrs. Price were keenly interested in civic affairs. They took pleasure placing their signatures to the petition for the ratification of the Eighteenth Amendment. Their lives were beautifully interwoven in philanthropic undertakings. Mr. Price was a charter member of the Young Men's Christian Association and served on the different drive days. They were benefactors of Earlham College. Mr. Price served on the committee that constructed the concrete bridge over the White Water River connecting Richmond and West Richmond. He was also on the booster drive committees. A meeting was not considered complete without his presence, a fellow member coming for him if he were not there, before the others were willing to start proceedings.

Mr. and Mrs. Price were enthusiastic travelers, especially in their own country. They regarded travel as not merely a means of recreation but an invaluable source of education for themselves and their children. They spent several winter seasons in the South, traveling mainly by river steamer, made trips to both coasts and spent the summer months at Mackinac Island, Michigan. They planned everything together, and accomplished with patience and perseverance the labor that was woven into the tissue of their dreams and ambitions. They were loved for their kindly, unselfish lives. Only forty days separated them in death. Mrs. Price passed away March 31, 1917, and Mr. Price on May 10, 1917. Both left watchwords to their children, the mother's being: "Keep together and report for duty." Forty days afterward the father said: "Be brave and do your duty." Both had lived their lives on the principle that each day should be complete and in readiness for the final summons. Richmond citizens take pride in the beautiful residential street known as North A, formerly Broadway. It was through the initiative of Mr. and Mrs. Price that this street was asphalted. It is a mile in length, a broad avenue, with shade trees and attractive homes throughout its entire length.

Charles T. Price, Jr., married, December 24, 1860, Miss Elizabeth Clarissa Burroughs. She was born in Union County, Indiana, March 13, 1840, daughter of William and Sarah (Williams) Burroughs. Sarah Williams' mother was Margaret Bennett Williams, a daughter of Sarah Sailor, whose mother was Mary Hollaway. The mother of Mary Hollaway was Hannah Hollaway, who was the aunt of Mary Sarah and Jeremiah Ball. Mary Ball was the mother of George Washington. Mrs. Price besides her deep spiritual nature and wonderful character of helpfulness and friendliness had an unusual range of accomplishments. As a girl and young woman she had assisted her father in planting and grafting his orchards and vineyards and in raising sheep and flax. She assisted her mother in carding and weaving on the looms her father made by hand. At that time all the clothing worn by the family, both sexes, was made from cloth, linen and woolen woven by the women folks. The Burroughs was a large family. The blankets, sheets, tablecloths and other linens were woven by these tireless workers.

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Price were: Eugene William Price, born December 24, 1862; Lewis Edward Price, born August 28, 1867; Caroline Burroughs Price, born March 4, 1872; and Abbie May Price, born February 22,1875.

Of the third generation of the Price family in Richmond, one representative is Abbie May Price. She attended grade schools, graduated from the Senior High School and took special work in Earlham College. She learned many of the fine arts of home making and the gentle care of the sick from her mother. During vacation periods she assisted her father in business, developing a high degree of proficiency. Frequently on busy days she took 150 orders accurately in every particular in less than an hour. At other times her father placed her in charge of the register.

A charter member of the Domestic Science Association when it was organized in 1908, she served it as secretary and treasurer for several years. She studied the course of twelve volumes of the American School of Home economics. She was personally responsible for 125 new members of the main body during one year's activities. She was instrumental in inaugurating the Day Nursery, also the visiting nurse's work in the homes and medical examination of the children in the schools. Miss Price as the result of her strenuous efforts succeeded in having the teaching of domestic science added to the curriculum of three of the Richmond schools. When she resigned from these activities, at her request her books were examined by the president of a business college, and stamped with every penny balanced.

Of deep religious character, Miss Price was baptized in 1904 by Rev. Thomas Graham of the First Presbyterian Church. Hers was the first baptism in the pastorate of Rev. Mr. Graham, and was solemnized during the first Sunday service at Richmond. From that day, she has continued one of the valued members of the church, living up sincerely to the obligation she assumed on that occasion.

She and other members of her family planned the Adrian Apartments, let the contracts and managed the construction. They have been interested in all good and philanthropic enterprises having for their object civic betterment and cultural advancement.

In 1924 Miss Price and her sister motored through fourteen states in the East on their way to accept an invitation to attend the fiftieth anniversary of the Massachusetts Normal Art College, now the Massachusetts School of Art, and also to exhibit two framed commissions in oil, which they carried with them. They had the privilege of attending several meetings of cultured people, and returned home by way of Washington City and Mount Vernon. In November, 1926, they motored to Florida, spending the winter at Orlando and Winter Park, and also visited both coasts, St. Petersburg and Daytona Beach. While there they indulged their leisure in painting, writing descriptions and studying trees and flowers. During this six months in Florida they became acquainted with Col. John Calvin Lewis, grandnephew of George Washington, and were entertained in the beautiful home of his daughter at Cloister Grove, Winter Park. From a letter written by Colonel Lewis to them at their home in Richmond the following is an extract: "We were happy all together at the home of my daughter at Cloister Grove, Winter Park, and want you both to be sure to come again next season and we will thoroughly enjoy doing things together."

Miss Caroline Burroughs Price, the other daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Charles T. Price, was educated in the Richmond schools, graduating from the Garfield High School in 1894, and in 1901 graduated from the Massachusetts Normal Art College, now the Massachusetts School of Art at Boston. She was director of art and music in the public schools of Lennox, New Lennox and Lennox Dale, Massachusetts, from 1901 to 1902, and was elected special art teacher under Wilhelmina Segmiller during Superintendent Kendall's administration in the Indianapolis schools in 1902. However, she accepted the position of supervisor of art in the Richmond public schools, a position which she held until 1905. She brought the idea of the Parent-Teacher Association from Massachusetts and planted it in Richmond in 1902. Other new ideas and methods came to the local educational scene through her, and she was a very inspiring influence in the art department.

In 1905 she resigned to assist her sister in caring for their mother in her declining years. Such leisure as she found she devoted to landscape painting, portraiture, designing and pottery. From early youth she was a devoted member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, but when her sister became a member of the First Presbyterian Church she took her letter to it, and united with it in 1917, after the death of her parents. The fine spiritual quality of her literary effort is best revealed in the following beautiful bit of prose of which she is author and which was published in the Richmond Item, December 25, 1918, under the title Our Christmas Prayer.

"May we, each one, catch the gleam of radiation from the star of Bethlehem. May it penetrate into the darkest corners of the earth and save more souls for the service of Our Lord and Master. May it consecrate the young, awaken the slumbering, renew the strength of the faltering and discouraged, and reconsecrate those long in Thy service, that the consuming fire of Thy Love may possess us completely for Thy service wherever we may be until all nations and tribes are in one federation of glorious service for Thee.

"May the light of Thy love consume the evil within us so completely that those who have made the supreme Sacrifice shall not have made it in vain; quicken with Thy spirit of brotherly love.

"May each one of us be worthy of the victory we have helped to win for Thee, that we may hold it sacred in this our last crusade. May the scales fall from our eyes that we may see Satan's hand still at work in our cities, towns and wildernesses; and be ever girded with Thy Arm of Humility and Love to fight the battles of christianization of the world.

, "May each one of us ally ourselves with Thy forces against those of evil, that we may have universal federation and peace of nations with Thee at last."

Miss Price has been associated with several clubs of the city, including the Audubon Club, the Woman's Auxiliary of the Young Men's Christian Association, of which she is secretary. She and her sister, Abbie May, did much toward lifting the debt of the association. Other associations have been with the Garden Club, the Scribbler's Club, the Art Club, and she proposes in the near future to make use of her eligibility to acquire active membership in the Daughters of the American Revolution and the American Association of University Women.

Rudolph Jerome Price, a grandson of Charles T. Price, was born at Richmond November 23, 1898. He attended public schools in his native city, and his first business experience was delivering Glenn Miller spring water to the sick. He graduated from the Morton High School in 1914, and paid his way while a student in Earlham College by work in the Price Confectionery at 916 Main Street. He was graduated from Earlham in 1918. Meanwhile, however, on March 7, 1918, he entered the Camp Greenleaf Medical Training School, and in June was transferred to Camp Mills, New York, and on the 18th of that month was on his way overseas. He arrived in France June 20, was placed in the French army service and given full charge of a six patient ambulance. His service was administering first aid and taking the wounded to hospitals from the front line. While overseas he frequently saw the great French Minister Clemenceau and other celebrities among the allies. After several months of driving at night, without lights, oftentimes through mud, sleet and rain, he was gassed in the early part of November, 1918, shortly before the armistice. He recovered under the care of Doctor Cabbot's hospital force, but was returned to the United States on a hospital ship. He was accorded several citations from the French government for valuable service, and also from the United States Government for his work in the Argonne and other sectors.

After his return home and his honorable discharge he entered the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor as a medical student, and in June, 1922, was graduated Doctor of Medicine. In July of that year he entered Miami Valley Hospital at Dayton, Ohio, as an interne, and in July, 1923, went into the office of Doctor Ginn, one of the older surgeons of Dayton. While with Doctor Ginn he performed some notable plastic surgery, reconstructing the eyelids, nose and other facial features of a man who had been fearfully burned. For this he was granted a fellowship in the National College of Surgeons at the age of twenty-seven. In May, 1928, he established his private office in the Fidelity Building at Dayton. He also specializes in roentgenology, his wife assisting him as technician. Doctor Price married in the fall of 1925 Miss Gertrude MacMillan, a graduate nurse. They have a son, Jerome, born November 2, 1930.

Click here for photo.

By Charles Roll, A.M.
The Lewis Publishing Company, 1931

Deb Murray