DAVID H. LESSIG, of Plain Township, was born in Elkhart County, this State, September 4, 1852. His father, Joseph S. Lessig, was a native of Pennsylvania where he was reared to manhood. In early life he went to Wayne County, Ohio, residing there several years; thence to La Grange County, Indiana, in 1848, remaining there several years; thence to Elkhart County, whence in the fall of 1856 he removed with his family to this county, where he resided until his death, which occurred in 1868. In early life he learned the hatter's trade, which he followed many years. He was subsequently engaged in farming, and later embarked in the mercantile trade at Leesburg, and continued in that business twelve years prior to his decease. He had been twice married. His first wife was Julia (Wright) Murphy, and to this union were born two children - Thomas C., who was one of the first to enlist from this county, he being the first company that left the county with General Williams. He participated in many important battles, and at the close of the war took part in the grand review at Washington. The other child was an infant daughter; both are deceased. Mr. Lessig's second wife was Elizabeth Hart, a native of Pennsylvania and reared in Ohio. They had six children, two of whom survive - Hattie, now Mr. William R. Ellis, of Goshen, Indiana, and David H., the subject of this notice. Mr. Lessig was of an unassuming disposition, and very much beloved by neighbors and friends. He belonged to the Masonic fraternity, and at his death was buried with the honors of that order. His wife still survives him, in her seventieth year, and resides Leesburg. David H. was about four years of age when he came with his parents to this county. He was married March 29, 1877, to Fannie L. Richardson, of Rochester, New York. They have one child - Fannie, born February 16, 1878. His wife died March 27, 1878. In 1873 he was appointed assessor of Plain Township, and served one year. He then served on the Board of Village Trustees of Leesburg two years, and on the School Board three years . In 1880 he was appointed census enumerator of Prairie Township, and for two years he served as deputy county clerk under General Williams, in Warsaw before reaching his majority. In April, 1884, he was elected trustee of Plain Township and re-elected in 1886. He is a member the Masonic fraternity, and belongs to Leesburg Lodge, No. 181. In 1874 he engaged in the mercantile trade, and followed that calling about three years, and was subsequently engaged in the drug business for several years in the firm name of Lessig & Co. On account of ill health he sold out his interest in October, 1885, and is now actively engaged in buying stock. In politics he is a Republican. For so young a man he is very popular, and has won many friends.

Source: Biographical & Historical Record of Kosciusko Co., IN.; Lewis Publishing Co., 1887
Dated: August 28, 2000

JOSHUA C. LILLY, at present serving as clerk of the village of Pierceton, was born near West Jefferson, Ohio, October 15, 1845, a son of Benjamin H. and Rosanna (Clover) Lilly, both of whom are deceased, his mother having died when he was an infant. He was adopted by his uncle, Joshua Cole, who brought him up to the avocation of a farmer, and gave him the benefit of a good common-school education. He came with his uncle's family to Kosciusko County, Indiana, in 1851, and at the age of nineteen years he enlisted in the Union army as a private, the date of his enlistment being May 6, 1864. He was assigned to Company E, One Hundred and Thirty-eighth Indiana Infantry, and although enlisting only for 100 days he served over four months, his regiment being engaged most of the time on guard duty in Tennessee. On account of sickness he was sent to the hospital at Indianapolis for treatment, and while there met with an accident, falling from a third-story window, which caused curvature of the spine, crippling him for life. In 1867 he began teaching in the schools of Kosciusko County, following that vocation during the winter terms, and occasionally in the summer months, for sixteen years, and during this period, while not engaged in teaching, followed farming. April 1, 1874, he was united in marriage to Miss Rebecca Bennett, at Pierceton, she being a daughter of Lee and Elizabeth (Kisler) Bennett. Of the two children born to this union only one survives - a daughter named Lizzie May. Maud died in Whitley County, Indiana, August 3, 1880, aged over five years. In politics Mr. Lilly affiliates with the Republican party. In 1876 he was elected assessor of Washington Township, holding that office three years by re-election. From 1878 till 1883 he resided in Whitley County, and in 1880 was the census enumerator for Troy and Aetna townships in that county. In 1883 he returned to Kosciusko County, and engaged in teaching school. In the spring of 1885 he was elected village clerk, and re-elected in the spring of 1886, which office he is filling to the entire satisfaction of his constituents. Mr. Lilly is a member of the Odd Fellows' order, belonging to Pierceton Lodge, No. 257, of which he is vice-grand. He is a comrade of John Murray Post, No. 124, G. A. R., and has served as adjutant of his post for two years.

Source: "History of Kosciusko County"
Date Posted: January 29, 2001

CHARLES ROBERT LONG, M.D., of Pierceton, was born in Mount Gilead, Morrow County, Ohio, October 13,1851, a son of Dr. James Porter and Editha (Hunt) Long, the father born in the State of Pennsylvania, of Scotch and Irish parentage, and the mother a native of Ohio. They were married in the year 1849, and to them were born three children - Charles Robert, our subject, Minnie who died aged four years, and Mrs. Addie Nichols, of Pierceton. The father was a physician of long practice, having followed his profession in Mount Gilead, Ohio, and Genesee, Illinois, from 1848 until 1868, when he came to Kosciusko County, Indiana, and practiced medicine at Pierceton until his death, which occurred in 1880. His widow still survives. She is a member of the Baptist church of Warsaw. Charles R. Long, the subject of this sketch, was educated principally in the schools of Fredericktown, Ohio, to which place his parents had removed when he was ten years old, and during his youth he was employed as a clerk. In 1874 he came to Pierceton and began studying medicine with his father, and March 3, 1880, he graduated from the Detroit Medical College at Detroit, Michigan, after having attended two courses of lectures. He began the practice of medicine with his father at Pierceton, his father dying soon after. He has a thorough knowledge of his profession, and during his residence at Pierceton he has gained the confidence and respect the people, and has acquired a good practice. Dr. Long was united in marriage March 16, 1881, to Miss Emma J. Hoover, daughter of Daniel and Henrietta (Heagy) Hoover, who live near Pierceton, they being one of the oldest families of Kosciusko County. Dr. and Mrs. Long are the parents of two children, Elnora and Addie. The doctor is a member of Pierceton Lodge, No.877, A. F. & A. M., and also of Pierceton Lodge, No. 257, I.O.O. F., of which he has passed the chair of noble grand, and is a member of the Grand Lodge of Odd Fellows of the State of Indiana. Mrs. Long is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

Date Posted: February 27, 2000

Deb Murray