The Haggards, of England from whom Dr. Haggard is descended, trace their lineage hack to Sir Andrew Ogard (Haggard), who went to England from Denmark, and was naturalized in 1433. Tradition says that James Haggard, a son of a wealthy and aristocratic lord of England, who had been educated for the ministry, left his native country, in 1698, and came to America on a merchant ship which made Norfolk, Va. He was still under twenty-one, and as his education was good. he was at first employed in teaching. Some time afterward he wedded a young lady connected with the school, and to their union were born: Nathaniel, Edmund, Zachaniah and Gray (or Granville). Dr. Ernest M. Haggard belongs to the Edmund Haggard branch.
Edmund Haggard was born about 1725, and married a lady of Welsh descent named Rice. To them were born seven sons and two daughters. Of the sons, the eldest, William, was a preacher, teacher and miller, and he died at the age of ninety-eight years, eleven months and sixteen days; during the Revolutionary war he bore arms for three years. Rice Haggard, another son, was one of the celebrated preachers in the early days of the Christian (or Disciples) Church.
David Haggard, the third son of William and grandfather of Dr. Ernest M., was born in Kentucky June 30, 1789, and by occupation was a farmer. He moved with his family to Iowa in the early settlement of that State, making his home in Dubuque county, where he died Dec. 21, 1865, at the age of seventy-six. In early life he was a Baptist, but later during the early days of the Restoration movement joined the Disciples. He was a soldier in the war of 1812, as his father had been in the war of the Revolution. On Jan. 12, 1809, he married Elizabeth Gentry, born in Madison county, Ky., Jan. 6, 1788, daughter of James Haggard Gentry ; she died in Dubuque county. Iowa, Sept. 10, 1846. They had a family of seven sons and six daughters, all born in Kentucky.
David M. Haggard, the father of Dr. F. M.Haggard, was the eleventh child of David and Elizabeth and he was born Dec. 17, 1829. On May, 5, 1850, he married Miss Mary Ann Schmidt who, was born Aug. 18, 1832. eighteen miles below Strasburg on the Rhine river. Her father came from Germany to this country about 1847, sailing from Havre, France, to the mouth of the Mississippi in an old time sailing vessel, being about three months on the way. He located on a farm in Dubuque county, Iowa, which he cleared and improved, and there he died at an advanced age. His four children, two sons and two daughters, are all living. They were reared in the Catholic faith. To David M. Haggard and wife were born ten children, six sons and four daughters, nine of whom are now living: Rev. Alfred M., Dean of the Bible College of Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa, and minister in the Christian Church; Silas W., a real estate man at Toronto, S. Dak.; Charles L., a merchant at Seattle, Wash.; Dr. George D., a physician of Minneapolis, and a professor in the medical department of the University of Minnesota; Flora P., wife of Edward Conger, of Adel, Iowa; Dr. Ernest M.; Arabella, who died at the age of nine years; Mary Eliza, wife of Charles Beck, of Gordon, Neb.; Martha, wife of John Semones, of Denver, Cob.; Benjamin Franklin, who is unmarried, and has his home in De Soto, Iowa. David M. Haggard was ten years of age when taken by his parents to Iowa. At the age of seventeen, he was baptized and became a minister of the Christian Church. In the more than twenty-five years of his ministry he preached in several States, establishing the church at Concord, Minn., as well as a number of others, and his work was productive of many conversions, a host of people coming to him for baptism. Although self-educated he had a rare command of the English language, and a remarkable knowledge of the Bible. In 1859 Mr. Haggard started for California, but on reaching New Orleans was taken ill, and when he recovered returned home. When he left home he was a Democrat, but after seeing the prison pens of the South, he became a Republican. In 1863 he settled in Eau Claire, Wis., and in 1877 moved to Brown county, Minn., where he took up government land. In the early days he was a surveyor in the employ of the United States government in the Western States, and in Iowa and Minnesota he was a pioneer farmer, and in Wisconsin a lumberman, though, later, at Eau Claire, he engaged in a mercantile business. His death occurred Friday morning, April 10, 1896. For about six years he had a home at De Soto, Iowa, where his widow still lives.
Dr. Ernest M. Haggard was two years old when his parents removed from Iowa to Eau Claire, Wis., where he attended the public schools and grew to manhood. For some four or five years he helped his father in the making of his farm in Brown county, Minn., and for one year he worked in the pineries in Wisconsin. His next employment was with his brother in a meat market, after which he worked on the river. At Oskaloosa College, in the Iowa city of that name, he studied for a profession, being a student in that school from 1885 to 1890, in which latter year he was graduated with honor. During the long vacations he would do any work he could find to do — railroad bridge carpentry, farm work, book canvassing — for the purpose of paying his expenses another year. In order to earn money to pursue his medical studies he engaged in biographical work in Iowa, Wisconsin and in Illinois. He entered the PhysioMedical College of Indiana at Indianapolis, and taking a three years course was graduated in 1894. Shortly thereafter he opened an office in Indianapolis and there he has been engaged in a very successful practice to the present time.
Dr. Haggard was married April 25, 1894, to Miss Cora L., a daughter of William H. and Margaret Caroline (Ayres) Brown. To this union were born five children: Paul Anthony, born April 21, 1895, died Aug. 10, 1895; Esther Margaret, born Aug. 3, 1896 Edmund Brown, born Jan. 18, 1899; Lois Mary, born Aug. 27, 1902; and Doris Mabel,. born Feb. 7, 1905. Dr. and Mrs. Haggard are members of the Third Christian Church. He belongs to the Improved Order of the Knights of Pythias, where he has passed the chairs of the local and grand. lodges, being commander of the Grand Lodge of Indiana in 1900. He is also a member of the I. 0. R. M. Professionally he is affiliated with the National Association of Physio-Medical Physicians and Surgeons, the Physio-Medical Association of Indiana, and the Indianapolis Physio-Medical Society. In politics he is a Prohibitionist.
Dr. Haggard has a comfortable residence at No. 2248 Central avenue. Mrs. Haggard graduated from Oskaloosa College in the class of 1891, and was for several years a teacher. Her father, William H. Brown (born in Ohio April 6, 1840), is a prominent farmer in Mahaska county, Iowa, fourteen miles from Oskaloosa, where he has lived for many years. During the Civil war he served in Company C, 15th Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and was wounded in the battle of Shilob. He married Margaret Caroline Ayres, born in Ohio May 5, 1838, and they have had a family of eight children, six of whom are now living: Cora T. born Feb. 3, 1867: Lena, wife of Charles A. Kent, superintendent of schools at Charles city, Iowa; Ethel M., wife of the Rev. Frank Garrett, a missionary to China; William H.; Wirt, who with William H. is farming the home place; Justin, a graduate of Penn College and Haverford, and now a missionary in China; and Winnfield A., and Anna L., the latter a twin to Lena, are deceased.
William H. Brown has held various town offices of Monroe township, and is secretary of the Prairie Farmers’ Mutual Insurance Company. His assistance is frequently invoked to determine legal matters and to settle neighborhood disputes. Both he and his wife belonged to the Christian Church.
William Brown, father of William H., was a native of Virginia, of Holland-Dutch descent. He also was a farmer, and lived for a time in Ohio, and later in Story county, Iowa. In 1852 he settled in Mahaska county, Iowa, where he secured a quarter section of land. Before he completed his house he died from a congestive chill. He was about fifty years of age, and had a family of seven sons. In politics he was strongly interested, and did much speaking in the interest of the Democratic party.
The maternal grandfather of Mrs. Haggard was W. C. Ayres, who was born in Ohio, and came of Scotch ancestry. He was a farmer and a Universalist preacher. During both the Mexican and Civil wars he served as a soldier. Moving to Illinois, he had his home in that State until after the War, when he moved to Sullivan county, Mo., where he died at the age of sixty-nine years. In his family he had four children. His father was a Revolutionary soldier.
REV. MATTHIAS L. HAINES, D. D., pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Indianapolis since 1885, is a distinguished representative of the religious denomination with which he is connected, and has won prominence in the educational field as well as in theological circles. He is a man of superior mental attainments, taking particular pleasure in the cultivation of his literary talents, which have led him into many delightful associations. His long extended pastorate over a congregation of such notable intelligence bespeaks remarkable fitness for the rather unusual demands of the position which he has indeed adorned.
Dr. Haines was born in Aurora, Ind., in 1850, and comes of a family of physicians, his father, Abram B. Haines, of Aurora, his grandfather, Matthias Haines, of Rising Sun, Ind., and his great-grandfather, Abram Brower, of Lawrenceburg, Ind., all being of the medical profession. His maternal grandfather was Ezekiel Howe Loning, of Rising Sun, Ind. After gathering the rudiments of an education in the public schools of Rising Sun and Aurora, Ind., he entered Wabash College, in 1867, and was graduated therefrom in 1871. Then he became a student at the Union Theological Seminary in New York City, from which he was graduated in 1874. His first pastorate was at Astoria, N. Y., where he was called to the pulpit of the Dutch Reformed Church, which he continued to serve as pastor for eleven years. Then, in 1885, he received a call to the pastorate of the First Presbyterian Church of Indianapolis, succeeding Rev. Myron W. Reed. In the succeeding twenty-two years all of his talents have not been confined to purely church work, but have flowed out into wide channels of social and public activities. The hand and voice of Dr. Haines have been employed in many good works. He is president of the Indianapolis Benevolent Society; was for ten years a member of the Presbyterian Board of Aid of Colleges and Academies; is a director of Lane Theological Seminary, Cincinnati, Ohio; and a trustee of Wabash College. In 1899 he was pressed by a large vote in the Presbyterian General Assembly as a candidate for moderator. He has entered in a number of ways into the life of the city and State. He was one of the committee of five, appointed by the Commercial Club, which drew up the new park law passed by the Legislature in 1899. He has been president of the Indianapolis Literary Club, is one of the, executive committee of the Winona Technical Institute of Indianapolis, and a director of the Winona Assembly of Winona Lake.
It is impossible to describe the personality of Dr. Haines without including many of the qualities that go to make the pastor of a large church loved, admired and respected. Witty, without crossing the border line into sarcasm, a post-prandial orator of more than usual interest, a charming host and a delightful guest, he is what a popular and faithful minister should be; and more than that, his unfailing sympathy and ardent devotion to duty have won him a distinguished place in the respect and affection of the people of Indianapolis.
The First Presbyterian Church was organized July 5, 1823, and was the third church organized in the new settlement, following the Wesley Chapel, now the Meridian Street Church, and the First Baptist, both of which were formed the preceding year. The Presbyterian society was the first to erect a church edifice. Occasional preaching services had been held in the new settlement from August, 1821, but it was not until two years later that the settlers began dividing into different denominations. The first house of worship erected was located on the west side of Pennsylvania street, north of Market street, on the present site of the Vajen block. It was begun before the organization of the church, and was a frame building 54X40 feet. In 1843 it was given up for a brick building on the site of the American Central Life building, on the corner of Market and Monument place. This, in turn, gave way to the third structure, located on the southwest corner of New York and Pennsylvania streets, which was begun in 1865, the chapel being occupied in 1866. The main auditorium was first occupied Nov. 27, 1867. The fourth edifice — and the one now occupied by the congregation — stands on the corner of Delaware and Sixteenth streets. It was completed and dedicated Oct. 4, 1903, and is old English-Gothic in style, with a seating capacity of one thousand. The clergymen who have occupied the pulpit of the First Church during the more than fourscore years of its history have been of ability and character. The membership has embraced some of the most useful and prominent men in the State, including Governors Samuel Bigger, Conrad Baker, James A. Mount, President Benjamin Harrison, United States Attorney-General W. H. H. Miller, Mr. Thomas H. Sharpe, Hon. H. H. Hanna, Mr. John H. Holliday, Mr. Thomas C. Day, and others.
It is said of Dr. Haines that, since Indianapolis was a village, no pastor has been more thoroughly respected or more universally loved than the pastor of the First. Presbyterian Church. Ex-President Harrison said of him: "I thank God for a pastor who preaches Christ crucified, and never says a foolish thing."
Dr. Haines was married May 7, 1885, in Astoria, N. Y., to Miss Sarah L. Kouwenhoven, daughter of Francis D. and Harriet Kouwenhoven, of Astoria. Two daughters were born to this union. The present home of the family is at No. 216 East Thirteenth street, Indianapolis.
JOHN A. HALL, postmaster at Cicero, Hamilton county, Ind., has spent all his life in that region, having been born in Jackson township, that county, one and a half miles northwest of Cicero.
This branch of the Hall family is of Scotch-Irish stock, and the tradition is that three brothers came from England to America and settled in Virginia in Colonial times. Edward Hall, grandfather of John A. Hall, was born near Pittsburg, Pa., where his father was a pioneer, and he himself became a pioneer of Hamilton county, Ind., in 1836, making the journey thither with horses and wagons. He settled one and a half miles northwest of Cicero, in the thick woods on Little Cicero creek, where he was one of the first settlers. He built a log house and purchased land until he finally owned over 400 acres, clearing a fine farm and becoming one of the most sub-stantial citizens of the region. He was a highly respected man and trusted by his neighbors, and he served as one of the commissioners of Hamilton county. He was an old-line Whig originally, becoming a Republican on the organization of the new party and supporting John C. Fremont and Abraham Lincoln. During the war of 1812 he served sixty days at Fort Wayne, Ind. Mr. Hall died on his farm when about eighty years old, and his wife died at the age of eighty years. He was a member of the Christian Church, and one of the founders of the church in his neighborhood. His children were: William, Bailey, Carey, Ellis, Perry, Elizabeth, Nancy, Hannah and Nellie.
Carey Hall, father of John A. Hall, was born in Fayette county, Ind., where his father first settled on coming to this State, living there eight years before he came to Hamilton county. He received a rather limited education in the vicinity of his boyhood home, attending the first log schoolhouse built at Cicero and fitted with puncheon floor and benches like the average schoolhouse of the day. He was reared among pioneer conditions, and was brought up to farming, after marriage living on part of the estate entered by Edward Hall until he retired, about twelve years ago. He owns 130 acres of good land. Mr. Hall married Mary Sourwine, who was born in Rockingham county, Va., daughter of John and F. Elizabeth (Bowman) Sourwine, both of whom were of Virginia Dutch stock. John and Sourwine moved from Virginia to Wayne county, Ind., in pioneer days, settling at Centerville. He was a cabinetmaker by trade, but he finally moved to Cicero and settled on a farm adjoining that of Edward Hall the Redman place. He had eighty acres, buying more until he owned 160, which he cleared, making a good home. He was an old-line Whig in politics, and a Lutheran in religion. His children, Mary (Mrs. Hall) and William, lived to maturity. To Mr. and Mrs. Hall were born two children, John A. and Edith, the latter marrying Marcus Bauchert. Mr. Hall is a member of the Christian Church and he was originally an old-line Whig in political opinion, later becoming a Republican.
John A. Hall was born Dec. 1 1856, in the old log house on the farm. His father built a frame dwelllng in 1864. he received a district school education, attending the local schools until he was eighteen after which he took a course at a commercial college. He worked on a farm for 5 years, after his marriage settling on the Sourwine farm, where he continued to live until August, 1889. Besides receiving a thorough training to farm work, he had learned the carpenter's trade at home, and did considerable work in that line. In May, 1889, Mr. Hall received the appointment of postmaster of Cicero, under President Harrison, and he moved to the town in that year, holding the office for four years. For two years afterward he was in the carpentry business, until he received severe injuries by being thrown from a bridge, his back being so badly hurt that it was two years before he was able to resume his ordinary life. He has never fully recovered. In 1897 he was again appointed to the postmastership under President McKinley, and he has been retained in the position ever since, by re-appointment from Presidents McKinley and Roosevelt. Mr. Hall has seen conditions vastly improved since first he took the office. He himself has been active in introducing the rural free delivery system in his district, and mainly through his efforts three rural routes have bccn established from Cicero. Mr. Hall is a public-spirited and straightforward man, and he has proved an excellent and efficient incumbent of the position which lie has held for so many years.
On Dec. 25, 1877, Mr. Hall was married, three miles northwest of Cicero, to Virginia E. Tucker, who was born Dec. 1, 1858, in Clinton county, Ind., daughter of Robert and Mary A. C. (Drum) Tucker. Mr. Hall in fraternal matters affiliates with the Knights of Pythias, being one of the seventeen charter members who on Oct. 6, 1887, organized Goodwill Lodge, No. 175, Knights of Pythias, at Cicero, Ind., in which he has held many offices including those of chancellor commander, and be was a representative of his lodge to the Grand Lodge held in Indianapolis, Ind., in October, 1903, that body voting to build the magnificent castle half in lndianapolis which now stands and will stand for generations to come a monument to Pythianism in Indiana. Mr. Hall was at one time captain of a company of the Uniform Rank, Knights of Pythias, serving three years in that capacity, after which he was placed on the Colonel's staff of the First Ind. Reg. U. R. K. of P., serving as regimental chaplain for two years, was promoted to the rank of Major and is now serving as an aid on Brig. Gen. Merrill E. Wilson's staff. He is a Republican in political sentiment.
The Tucker family to which Mrs. Hall belongs, is of Irish descent. Robert Tucker, her father, was a native of Kentucky, born Dec. 22, 1803. He was an early settler in Indianapolis, when that thriving city was but a small village. He was a cabinet maker by trade. On April 19, 1835 he was married in Indianapolis to Elizabeth C. Reed, who died Aug. 16, 1848. To this union were born: Archibald C. R., Corydon A., Caroline I., Albert R. and Alice A. On Dec. 24, 1850, Robert Tucker married (second) Mary A. C. Drum, of Indianapolis, Ind. After this marriage Mr. Tucker purchased a farm about three miles northeast of Colfax, Ind., whither he moved with his family, retiring from his trade as a cabinet maker. To this second marriage were born three children: George Vinton, Robert Luther and Virginia Eve. Mrs. Mary A. C. (Drum) Tucker died Feb. 11, 1859. On Oct. 23, 1860, Mr. Tucker was again united in marriage, his third wife being Mariah Matthews, of Clinton county, Ind., who survived him. He died Aug. 17, 1872 on his farm in Clinton county. The only living child of the second marriage, Virginia Eve, was but thirteen years old at the time of her father's death. Being without father or mother she made her home with her half-sister by the first marriage of her father, three miles northwest of Cicero, Ind., until her marriage to John A. Hall, as above stated.
RICHARD HALL (deceased) was one of the old and venerable citizens of Indiana, long and prominently identified with the farming interests of his section of the State. He was born April 23, 1823, in Kentucky, opposite Madison, Ind., son of Zachariah and Mary (Hall) Hall, the father a native of New Jersey, and the mother of Kentucky. The father was a son of Henry Hall; and the mother a daughter of William Hall, although no relationship existed between them.
Henry Hall came of German parentage, and grew up in New Jersey, where he was reared a farmer. Coming to Kentucky at an early day, he subsequently moved into Indiana and entered land eight miles from Madison, which he converted into a good farm, upon which he lived and died. He reared a large family of children.
William Hall, the maternal grandfather of Richard, served in the war of the Revolution. He came to Indiana at an early day, locating in the vicinity of Madison. His children were: Henry, Squire, John. and Mary.
Born to Zachariah and Mary Hall were two children, John (who died unmarried), and Richard. Zachariah Hall and his wife were both members of the Baptist Church, and were among the most respected people of their community, where they were highly regarded for their Christian character and real worth.
Richard Hall, though born in Kentucky, was reared in Indiana, and after passing through a desolate childhood on account of the loss of both his parents at an early age, he served an apprenticeship at the blacksmith’s trade in Madison, Ind., and this trade was his means of livelihood for many years. For twelve years he worked at blacksmithing in Monrovia. He was a hard worker and economical, so that he gradually got ahead, and in 1872 was able to buy a 200 acre farm in the neighborhood of Bridgeport. To this place he afterward added forty acres, owning the entire property until his death. After buying his farm he gave up the blacksmith shop to devote his entire attention to his agricultural work, in which his career was eminently successful. Avoiding debt, he worked hard and lived frugally, and in time became a man of means. During his active years he dealt largely in real estate, handling farms and other property, owning some productive tenements in Indianapolis. Mr. Hall began his business career at the bottom of the ladder, without even the advice of parents, and deserved much credit for his large success in life. Unalterably opposed to debt, he made his way by honest industry and careful economy.
Mr. Hall was married in Monrovia to Miss Emaline Weisner, a daughter of William Weisner, of North Carolina, where she was born. She was but nine years old when she came to Monrovia, Morgan county, with her parents. Her father was a farmer and tanner, and engaged in those lines at Monrovia, living an honorable and useful life. He left the memory of an honest man who had led an industrious career. His children were: Josiah and John, both of whom are deceased; Micajah, of Indianapolis Abigail; the wife of J. Coats; Elizabeth, Mrs. Cavenish; Millicent, Mrs. Hadley; Matilda, Mrs. McCollum; Emaline, Mrs. Hall; Jaben, deceased; Sirena; and Asa W. The Weisners were worthy members of the Society of Friends, and were very highly regarded in the community. To Mr. and Mrs. Richard Hall were born the following children: William, who died at the age of twenty-five years; Solomon, who died at the age of fifteen years; Lucinda, who married John Fenton, and is deceased; Enos, a farmer, who is unmarried; and Abigail. The last named married James F. Smith, son of Jacob and Nancy (Bennett) Smith, and they have had seven children: Elva E., Zula N., Maud E., Owen L., Lawrence F., Lucile G., and Harold C. Mrs. Smith is a member of the Friends Church. Her husband is engaged as a painter and paperhanger.
Mrs. Hall, who died April 11, 1902, was a member of the Society of Friends. Mr. Hall died Oct. 2, 1903. He was a Republican but he never aspired to any political offices. He and his wife were well thought of in the community, where their worthily spent lives won them universal respect.
WILLIAM HOLMES, father of William Canada Holmes, was born in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, 1792. When eightyears of age he emigrated with his parents to Butler county, Ohio, where he remained until 1820, thence to Wayne county, near Richmond. While in Ohio he was married to Miss Elizabeth Lyons, in the year 1821. He removed to what was then called the New Purchase, now Marion county, and settled three miles west of Indianapolis, on Big Eagle creek, where he remained until his death, which occurred in 1858. His wife survived him several years. Mr. Holmes was blessed with a goodly number of children, born in the order in which they are named: John B., Marcia Ann, Jotham L., Martha Ann, William Canada, Ira N., Isaiah, Jeremiah, Elizabeth, Uriah, Sarah and Noah P. During the Black Hawk war of 1832, Mr. Holmes was among the first to volunteer for that ever memorable campaign. A younger brother of Mr. Holmes, John, came to the country with him and built the saw mill for many years known as the "Kunkle Mill." John Holmes died but a few years after he became a resident. William then built the saw mill just below the National road bridge on Big Eagle creek, known as "Billy Holmes' Mill." The two brothers took the contract for and laid the brick in the old and first Court House, in 1824. Mr. Holmes was a large man, full six feet in height, powerfully muscular, without any surplus flesh. Although he did not live out the time generally allotted to man, he lived to a good old age, and to see the wilderness blossom as the rose. No pioneer of the New Purchase lived more respected or died more regretted by his numerous friends than "Billy Holmes," as he was familiarly called. His youngest son, Noah P. Holmes, is the owner of, and resides at, the old homestead, which will long be remembered as the Holmes farm.
Data Entry Volunteer: Judith B. Glad