HENRY JAMESON, M. D., whose professional standing in Indianapolis is among the very best, has his office at No. 212 Newton Claypool building. He was born in Wayne township, Marion county, Ind., son of Alexander and Lydia (Thompson) Jameson, both of whom were born in Indiana, the father being a native of Jefferson county, where he first saw the light in 1814.

Alexander Jameson was reared to farming in Jefferson county, Ind., until he attained maturity, when be became a school teacher, teaching one of the first schools in Indianapolis. After spending some years as a pedagogue he removed to Wayne township, Marion county, where he bought a farm, on which he died Jan. 6, 1886, at the age of seventy-one years. His widow survived until Sept. 27, 1892, when she passed away at the age of sixty-four years. They were members of the Christian (Disciples) Church. They had three sons and three daughters, and four of their children are now living: Irene V., who is the wife of Leonidas Webb, of Indianapolis; Dr. Henry; Thomas, of Indianapolis; and Alexander, of Irvington. For years Alexander Jameson was a justice of the peace, and his neighbors for many miles around were wont to submit to his decisions and arbitration of all kinds of questions. He was one of the commissioners who built the present courthouse in Indianapolis.

Thomas Jameson, the father of Alexander, was born in Franklin county, Va., in 1783. In 1795 he accompanied his parents to Kentucky, and in 1810 the family came into Indiana to escape the blight of slavery, settling near Madison, in Jefferson county, where they were engaged as farming people. There Thomas Jameson died in June, 1843, at the age of sixty years. His was a numerous family. Thomas Jameson was the son of Thomas and grandson of John, who came from Scotland to America in a very early day and made his home near York, Pa. He was the first progenitor in America of that branch of the Jameson family whose fortunes form the theme of this article.

John Thompson, the maternal grandfather of Dr. Jameson, followed the occupation of a carpenter. His father, Adam Thompson, was of Scotch-Irish descent, and settled in Indiana in 1821, coming from Pennsylvania. He lived on what was known as the John Mars farm, but moved to Pittsboro, in Hendricks county, where he followed farming during his remaining active years, and where he died at the age of ninety-eight. His wife passed away at the age of ninety-seven, the two dying within a month of each other. Their son, John, the grandfather of Dr. Jameson, was married in Indianapolis, after which he moved to Lagro, where they were building the Wabash & Erie canal, on which he secured a contract. About 1835 he returned to Indianapolis and became a contractor and builder remaining here until about 1848, when he removed to Lafayette. There he died in 1870, at the age of seventy years. In his family were three children. In 1832 he joined the "Bloody Three Hundred" who went out to catch Black Hawk.

Henry Jameson was reared on the farm in Wayne township, Marion county, and in his boyhood attended the district school. In 1869 he graduated from the Northwestern Christian University, now known as Butler College, at Irvington, Ind., and at once entered Bellevue Hospital Medical College, New York, from which institution he was graduated in 1871. After serving a year as intern in the Randall Island Hospital he came to Indianapolis and opened an office of his own. Here he has remained to the present time, reaping a rich reward for his industry, ability and thorough mastery of medical science.

Dr. Jameson was married Nov. 25, 1875,, to Miss Gertrude, daughter of Harvey Gatch and Mary (Newman) Carey, and they occupy a fine home at No. 962 North Pennsylvania street. They have two children, Eunice and Augusta, both of whom are living at home. Dr. Jameson belongs to the Christian Church, while his wife is a Methodist. He is a Scottish Rite Mason, of the thirty-second degree, and is also a member of the Knights of Pythias. He is connected with the various important medical organizations of the day, such as the Marion County and Indiana State Medical Societies, the American Medical Association and the Mississippi Valley Medical Association.

Throughout his professional career Dr. Jameson has held important positions as instructor in medical science. For some years he was Demonstrator of Chemistry in the Indiana Medical College, and when the College of Physicians and Surgeons was organized, in 1876, he took the Chair of Chemistry. Two years later he was made Professor of Materia Medica and Therapeutics. When this institution was consolidated with the Medical College of Indiana he was made Professor of Chemistry in the New School. In 1889 he was chosen to fill the Chair of Practice of Medicine and Clinical Medicine. He was also made Lecturer on Obstetrics and Children’s Diseases, and since 1899 has been Dean of the Faculty. While filling the Chair of Chemistry he devised an instrument for showing the phenomenon of the total reflection of light, and his apparatus was adopted by the Stevens Institute of Technology as well as by other scientific schools. Widely known for his thorough understanding and complete mastery of the subject of Medical Jurisprudence, his services as an expert are in much demand. Deeply devoted to the microscope, his researches have greatly helped in the development of that important branch of medical study. He was one of the organizers of the American Society of Microscopists.

Dr. Jameson is a member of the consulting the St. Vincent, Deaconess, and City hospitals and of the Dispensary of the City of Indianapolis. Under Governor Mount he served as president of the State Board of Health, and was Surgeon-General of the State on the staff of Governor Durbin. In politics the Doctor is a Republican.

This is but a brief review of an exceedingly active and useful life, and it pays only a just and merited tribute to Dr. Jameson’s professional ability, his manly character, his upright spirit and his many excellencies as a man and a citizen.

JOHN ARTHUR KAUTZ, a leading citizen of Kokomo, Ind. where he is postmaster, and editor and publisher of The Kokomo Daily Tribune, was born Sept. 26, 1860, in Wabash county, Ind., son of Henry and Eliza (Baker) Kautz.

Henry Kautz was born in Carroll county, Ind., March 20, 1833, son of Frederick and Catherine (Secrist) Kautz the former a farmer of Carroll county, Ind., whither he had removed from Pennsylvania. He was a pioneer of Wabash county, Ind., settling about 1840, and cleared a farm from the heavy timber, entering about 300 acres. He first built a log cabin and later frame buildings, and here he resided the major portion of his life, although his death occurred in Huntington county, Ind., Frederick Kautz was a Member of the German Baptist Church. His children were John, Henry, Daniel, Frederick, Rebecca and Margaret. Frederick, the youngest son, died in the hospital at Louisville, Ky., (during the Civil war, a member of the 47th Indiana Volunteers. Three of the sons of this family were soldiers in the Union army. Henry Kautz was seven or eight years of age when his father settled in Indiana, them overland with horse and wagon. Reared among the pioneers, and received his education in the early district schools. He was married in Wabash county, Ind., to Eliza Baker, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Risser) Baker, and to them were born three children: John Arthur, Mary and Addie. Henry Kautz now resides in Andrews, where he was postmaster for eighteen years. In politics he is a Republican, and in religious connection a member of the Christian Church.

John A. Kautz received his education in the public schools of Andrews, and graduated from the high school anti from Butler College, Irvington, Ind., in 1885. The next year he received the degree of A. M. on the completion of a post-graduate course. He was principal of the high school at Andrews for one year, and at Bluffton for a like period, and on May 9, 1887, bought the Tribune, which he has conducted successfully to the present time. He put in an entirely new plant and built a substantial brick building, and has made his paper the leader of the Ninth Congressional District. Mr. Kautz is a former president of the Indiana Republican Editors Association, and was appointed postmaster in 1892. He is a Mason, and an Elk, belonging to those fraternities in Kokomo. He and his wife are members of the Christian Church, of which he has been a trustee for some years.

Mr. Kautz was married Aug. 18, 1886, in Wabash, to Inez Gillen, born in Wabash, Nov. 26, 1861, daughter of Henry H. and Mary Cartmel Gillen, and to this union there have been born four daughters: Bernice, Cordelia, Dorothy and Kathryn. Mr. Kautz was formerly president of the Board of Education of Kokomo, and he has been delegate to the National Republican Convention.

Dr. Henry H. Gillen was born in Mt. Sterling, Ky., in 1818 was educated at the Medical College at Cincinnati, Ohio, and practiced in Franklin county some years, being a pioneer physician of Wabash county, Ind., riding in the saddle for nearly fifty years. He died about 1901 in Florida. Dr. Gillen’s children were Daniel, Richard, Clara, Effie, Inez and Nora.

ROBERT LINCOLN KELLY, LL. D., who since 1903 has been the efficient President of Earlham College, at Richmond, Ind. which is one of the leading educational centers of the Society of Friends, is a man well qualified in every way for this high office, as may be read in his former connections with important schools in various parts of the country. Dr. Kelly is equally at home as an executive, as a teacher and as a lecturer, having devoted close study to many psychological and political questions, outside of the general field of literature. He was born March 22, 1865, at Tuscola, Ill., son of Robert and Anna (Pearson) Kelly.

In 1867 Robert Kelly moved with his family to Lawrence county, Mo., where he became editor of the Spring River Fountain, the leading Republican newspaper of that region. Several years later he went to St. Louis, thence to Terre Haute, Ind., where young Robert L. attended the public schools for one years, and then, the family settling on a farm at Bloomingdale, Parke county, Ind., his education was further advanced by his attendance at the Friends’ Bloomingdale Academy, from which he was graduated in 1884.

Dr. Kelly then taught school in the Kelly school house, in the Kelly settlement, and in the fall of 1885 he entered the Sophomore class (1888), Earlham College. After graduation he became superintendent of schools at Monrovia, Ind., a position he held for two years. He was for a like period principal of Raisin Valley Seminary, Adrian, Mich., and he then took charge of the Central Academy, Plainfield, Ind., which position he held for seven years. Later he took a three-years post-graduate course at the Chicago University, and during the absence of Pres. A. Rosenberger acted as president of the Penn College of Iowa for one year. He then came to Earlham College as Professor of Philosophy, and in 1903 was elected president of the institution, since which time the old college of the Friends has become one of the leading institutions of learning in the State. He has given special attention to the departments of Philosophy and Psychology, having established a Psychological laboratory which is exceeded in its equipment, in Indiana, only by the State University. The college has developed additional advantages and the faculty has been increased, several new members, men of learning and ability, having been added. An indebtedness of $35,000 has been liquidated, and the institution put on a sound financial basis. During the year 1907 a new library building, a new men’s dormitory and a new central heating plant were constructed at a total cost of $100,000. While a student at Chicago University, President Kelly gave close study to the Psychology of children, working for two years in the Physiological School for Deficient Children, the result of this research being published in the "Psychological Review." This, with other addresses to learned bodies, has helped to cause unusual attention to be given this important subject, and the City of Chicago has made a department in all schools for these studies.

President Kelly is a member of the National Educational Association, and numerous local educational associations. He is a member of the board of trustees of the Religious Educational Association, and is president of the board of education of the Five-Years Meeting of American Friends. He is also a member of the State Board of Education of Indiana, which carries with it membership in the Indiana State Library Board, the Indiana School Book Commission and the Indiana Teachers’ Training Board; and he is a member of the Indiana Rhodes Scholarship Committee. Dr. Kelly is a well-known minister of the Society of Friends, and spends much time and effort in ministerial labors. At its sixtieth anniversary De Pauw University conferred upon him the degree of LL. D.

On Aug. 13, 1890, President Kelly was married in Bloomingdale, Parke county, Ind., to Cecilia Rifner, born Dec. 4, 1869, in Cleves, Hamilton county, Ohio, daughter of James M. and Martha (Cilley) Rifner, the Rifners being of Holland-Dutch and German ancestry.

ELMER E. KELSO, M. D. The town of Eminence, Adams township, Morgan County, Ind., is rapidly growing into a place of prominence, and numbers among its residents men of ability and research in their several professions. Such a one is Dr. Elmer E. Kelso, who was born in Morgan county, Ind., June 30, 1863, son of John J. and Harriet (Anderson) Kelso, and grandson of Alexander Kelso.

(I) Alexander Kelso was born in Tennessee, and came of Scotch descent, the Kelso family originating in the town of that name in Scotland. By trade he was a bootmaker, but later in life —late in the twenties — he came to Indiana and located at Morgantown, Morgan county, where he took up 900 acres of land, and clearing off his property, lived there until his death.

(II) John J. Kelso, born in Indiana, became a merchant and farmer at Morgantown, and was a successful man, residing at Morgantown until his death which took place in 1891. His widow survives, and makes her home with her son Elmer E. In religious views, John J. Kelso was a Methodist, while in political faith he was a Republican. The mother is a Baptist. Nine children were born, to John J. and Harriet Kelso, of whom Elmer E. is fifth in the order of birth. All grew to maturity, receiving a good education, but four are now deceased.

(III) Dr. Elmer E. Kelso, after completing a common school education, in 1889, went to the Indianapolis Medical College, from which he was graduated in 1891. He then came to Eminence, where he has since resided. In 1895, he took a post-graduate course at the Chicago Post-Graduate College, and in 1898, took a post-graduate course at the Polyclinic Post-Graduate College of New York City. He carries on a general practice, and takes a great interest in his work, keeping fully abreast of modern research. His residence is separate from his office.

On Sept. 24, 1891, Dr. Kelso was married to Eva Hunt, of Johnson county, Ind., daughter of James G. Hunt, a farmer. Dr. Kelso is a thoroughly self-made man, having worked his way through college, and his success is the result of his own efforts. In politics he is a Democrat. Fraternally he is a member of the I. 0. 0. F. and Red Men, and he is very popular socially as well as professionally. Mrs. Kelso is a Methodist, and popular in her church, towards the support of which Dr. Kelso is a liberal contributor.

SAMUEL KENNEDY, M. D., a leading practitioner of Shelbyville, Ind., and a man of great prominence in that community, was born in the city, March 16, 1867, son of Dr. Samuel A. and Eliza M. (Kennedy) Kennedy, and on both sides is of the fifth generation in descent from James Kennedy, a native of the North of Ireland, who came to America in 1743, and in connection with Lawyer Ross, of Lancaster county, Pa., bought a tract of land on the Antietam in Maryland, and established Rock Forge. This land was on the Antietam where the Monocacy Creek joins it, just above its mouth. In 1767 James Kennedy sold his business in Maryland, and being elated with the idea of a new country, removed to Pennsylvania, locating on the Susquehanna river, nine miles below Sunbury. Here he made a new purchase, which began a few miles above Thomsburg and terminated below the big island, settled upon by Gov. William Dunn, before the treaty with the Indians. He remained there two years, or until the breaking out of the Indian war, when he went to New Jersey, and purchased a furnace on the Miskinicunk, where he lived several years, and then removed to Allentown, Pennsylvania.

Andrew Kennedy, son of James, was born in Maryland in 1764. He received his education at Allentown, Pa., and in 1781 was apprenticed to Mr. John Dunlap, of Philadelphia, to learn the printer’s trade. With him he served his time, and afterward worked for him several years. Andrew Kennedy was married in 1789, by Bishop White, to Miss Mary Favers, who was born in Philadelphia, in 1768. Her father came from Wales, and was a firm supporter of the American cause during the revolution and was killed at Yorktown. Her only brother, James Favers, volunteered on board the privateer commanded by Capt. Wilson, and was either killed in action or he died aboard the prison ship "Jersey." The mother of Mrs. Kennedy had a brother, Col. Wylie, who served in the Revolution, and was killed at what was known as Harmar’s defeat, in the western country, while commanding the regulars. Thus all the male relatives of Mrs. Kennedy gave up their lives in the defense of their adopted country.

After working several years in New York and Philadelphia, Andrew Kennedy purchased a printing plant, and in April, 1792, in company with Rev. John Taylor, located at Sunbury, Pa., and established the Sunbury and Northumberland Gazette. Soon after, at the solicitation of Dr. Priestly, he removed to Northumberland, where he published the Doctor’s works, although he continued to publish his paper until 1812, when he sold a halfinterest to George Sweeney, who had served his apprenticeship with Mr. Kennedy. The partnership was dissolved in 1814, Mr. Sweeney going to Danville to establish the Watchman. The Gasette was one of the foremost Federal papers in the State of Pennsylvania; had a wide circulation; was edited with ability and strict regard for the truth. Mr. Kennedy would never permit anything to be inserted in this paper which would defame private character or assail it in any way whatever. In advocating his political principles he was often severe on his adversaries, but always absolutely, truthful. In his private life he was affable, warm hearted and honest in all his dealings with men. After Mr. Sweeney sold out in 1814, Mr. Kennedy conducted the Gazette by himself until 1817, when his health failed, and he retired to Sunbury, where his death occurred Jan. 12, 1819. He was buried with Masonic honors and was laid to rest in the Episcopal burying ground at Northumberland. Simon Cameron was the last apprentice to serve in the printing office of Mr. Kennedy.

John Kennedy, a brother of Andrew served on board the "Hyderally," commanded by Com. Barney, at the capture of the "General Monk," after a hard fought battle in the war of the Revolution.

Six children were born to Andrew Kennedy and wife, all of wham are now deceased: John Y.; Andrew; Maria; Samuel; Edmund and Eliza.

John Y. Kennedy, son of Andrew and maternal grandfather of Samuel, was a surgeon in the War of 1812, was a man of much intellectual force and a very successful practitioner. He came to Shelby county, Ind., in 1828, and practiced for many years. He died at Acton, Ind., in 1882, aged ninety years.

Andrew Kennedy, the paternal grandfather of Dr. Samuel, was born in Northumberland county. He married Nancy McMullen, of Pennsylvania, who bore him twelve children.

Samuel A. Kennedy, fifth child of Andrew and Nancy, was born in Northumberland county, March 20, 1835, and in his native locality his youth was passed. He was educated in the common schools, and the Lewisburg Academy. In 1853, he came to Shelby county, lad., and began the study of medicine in the office of his uncle Dr. John Y. Kennedy. Later he attended lectures at the Ohio Medical College, in the winters of 1854-55-56-57, being graduated March 1, 1857. Immediately thereafter he located in air and, Shelby county, later removing to Shelbyville, in 1859, where be was in active and successful practice of the profession until his death. He married Eliza M., daughter of Dr. John Y. Kennedy.

Samuel Kennedy, son of Dr. Samuel A.; was reared at Shelbyville, and graduated from the high school of that city in 1885, and from Purdue University at Lafayette in 1888. He studied medicine with his father, attended one course of lectures at the Kentucky School of Medicine at Louisville, and was graduated at the Indiana Medical College at Indianapolis in 1891, and at once began the practice of his profession at Shelbyville, where he has been very successful.

Dr: Kennedy is a member of the Shelby County Medical Society, the Indiana State Medical Society, of which he served one term as vice-president in 1898, and he is a member of the American Medical Association. In politics he is a Republican.

DANIEL C. LAGRANGE (deceased), a prominent, substantial and representative farmer of Section 8, in Franklin township, Johnson county, was born Feb. 9, 1826, in Mercer county, Ky., son of Peter and Lammie (Covert) LaGrange, both of whom were natives of New Jersey.

The paternal grandparents were natives of New Jersey, and the grandfather was a soldier in the Revolution. The Coverts also came from New Jersey, but Grandfather Covert moved to Kentucky and died there in advanced age. His family was large and descendants may still be found in that State. Peter and Lammie (Covert) LaGrange were among the, early settlers in Kentucky, with their parents, and came to Indiana, themselves pioneers, in the fall of 1826, only ten years after this great State was admitted to the Union. These early settlers possessed stout hearts as well as physical strength, for at that time the land they entered from the Government was but a wilderness, and had to be cleared before cultivation could take place. Mr. LaGrange, with great labor, cleared up his farm of 160 acres, but only lived until about fifty-five years of age. His widow survived him many years, dying in her eighty-fourth year. Both were members of the Presbyterian Church.

To have lived in and been identified with the growth, progress, and development of one section of country for a space of seventy-five years, is not given to every individual, but such was the fortune of Daniel C. LaGrange, who lived in Franklin township from the time he was one year old. The wonderful changes which took place in that time, would require many pages to describe. From the virgin forest he witnessed the development of a rich farming country, the transformation of the pioneer cabins into fine homes, stately school houses and handsome churches, and the proportionate increase in the financial condition of the people. Mr. LaGrange had very meager educational opportunities, mainly in the subscription schools. Until maturity he lived with his mother, and then began life for himself, by buying first an eighty-acre tract, selling it to advantage for another, and at the time of his death he owned a fine farm of 160 acres, and in addition a compact little home place of seven acres, improved with fine buildings, in the Hopewell district, three miles west of Franklin. Here he lived in great comfort for over twenty-five years, and here his death occurred late in November, 1904. He was greatly beloved in the community and was affectionately known as “Uncle Dan.”

In 1848 Mr: LaGrange married Catherine List, daughter of Theodore and Susan (VanNuys) List, and a family of six children was born to them, namely: Margaret, Samuel, John, Laura, William and Edith. Of these, Margaret, who married John E. Banta, and had a daughter Minnie (who married Bert Covert and has two children, John and Margaret, is deceased. Samuel; a Presbyterian preacher, located at Bloomington, Minn., married Mildred Hall and has two children, Myron and Mary. John, who lives in Franklin, Ind., married Effie Demott, and has two children, Edna and Mabel. Laura died in early childhood, and William at the age of two years. Edith married Newton Brown, of Pleasant township, and their surviving child is Margaret Catherine. The mother of this family passed away in 1890, aged about sixty years. Both she and her husband belonged to the Presbyterian Church.

Mr. LaGrange was a lifelong Republican, and took an active interest in the affairs of his township. For a number of years he was a school director, and also served efficiently for a long period as supervisor. In a marked degree Mr. LaGrange enjoyed the esteem and regard of his fellow-citizens, who knew him to be a man of strict integrity. He kept in touch with the march of men and events and throughout his life was interested in the enterprises which promised to benefit Franklin township. As a matter of general interest it may be mentioned that one of his ancestors lived in Trenton, N. J., during the Revolu-tionary war, and he was captured by the British and was never heard from afterward.

MILTON S. RANDOLPH, whose pleasant residence is at No. 833 Elm street, Indianapolis, was born in Preble county, Ohio Aug. 8, 1844, a son of Isaac Moore and Sarah (Bennett) Randolph. The father was born in Ohio, and his father came from Pennsylvania to Ohio at an early day. Isaac Moore Randolph and his wife spent their entire lives in Ohio, where both died and were buried, with memories of good and useful lives to follow them.

Milton S. Randolph was the oldest of eight children born to his parents, and was reared to early manhood in the Ohio home, where he enlisted in May, 1864, in Company E, 156th Ohio Volunteer Infantry, which was assembled and organized at Camp Dennison, Ohio. For some two months the regiment was encamped at Cincinnati, and for three weeks the regiment was waiting at Paris, Ky., when it was sent to Cumberland, Md., being finally returned to Camp Dennison, Ohio, for mustering out. The health of Mr. Randolph was much broken by his military experiences, and he has never recovered from the effects of his soldier life.

Mr. Randolph was married April 5, 1870, to Mary Spurrier, born in Shelby county, in July, 1849, daughter of Joseph 0. Spurrier. They have a family of four children: Harry M.; Pearl and Earl (twins); and Edith. Mr. Randolph is a member of the Joseph R. Gordon Post, G. A. R., where he has many warm and intimate friends. In politics he is a Republican, and he is universally known as a valuable citizen, and useful member of the community.