MICHAEL QUILL, a retired citizen of Muncie, Delaware county, and a veteran of the Civil war, was born Sept. 29, 1840, in County Kerry, Ireland, son of Thomas and Ellen (Laughlin) Quill. Thomas Quill was a butcher by trade and followed that occupation in the town of Kilflyn. He married in Ireland, and in 1856 came to America with his wife and family of seven children. The father died near New Paris, Ohio, at the age of seventy-eight years, and the mother died the same year, aged seventy-six. Both were members of the Catholic Church. They were the parents of eight children, John, James, Mary, Ellen, Michael, Thomas, Mons, and Johanna, the last named dying in Ireland when young. The others all reared families except Mons, and all but Michael reside in Indianapolis.
Michael Quill was sixteen years old when the family came to this country, previous to which time he had received a good common school education in his native town. The family embarked at Cork in the good ship "Janie Johnson," an old-fashioned sailing vessel, and were seven weeks on the voyage. The weather was very stormy, and Mr. Quill well remembers the trip. Landing at New Orleans, they came by steamboat up to Cincinnati, and thence proceeded to a farm in Preble county, Ohio, near Eaton, where the father bought thirty acres of improved land, with good buildings. Michael Quill worked on the farm during the summer time, and in the winter season attended the local school until 1860, thus receiving an unusually good training for his day. The school in the new home was of the old log cabin style, with puncheon seats, but it afforded him an opportunity to improve his literary knowledge, and he took advantage of it. When about nineteen years old he commenced to learn shoemaking, in Richmond, Ind., beginning in the old-fashioned way, and serving more than three years, until he became a skilled tradesman. On July 14, 1862, he enlisted at Richmond, becoming a private of Company A, 69th Ind. V. I., to serve three years or during the war. He was mustered out and honorably discharged at Mobile, Ala., July 15, 1865. He was in the Department of the Cumberland under Grant and Sherman, and saw service in Mississippi, Texas, Alabama, Tennessee, Arkansas and Louisiana. In the battle of Richmond, Ky., a few weeks after his enlistment, the regiment lost 275 killed and wounded. Mr. Quill was captured and paroled with others at Lexington, and was in Richmond, Ind., two weeks on furlough, being finally exchanged. The regiment was recruited and returned to the front, and Mr. Quill was in many skirmishes on the way to Vicksburg. They went down the Mississippi on steamboat, and up the Yazoo river, and fought a battle at Chickasaw Bluffs, later being engaged at Richmond, La., Port Gibson, Champion Hills and Black river. He was also in the siege of Vicksburg, forty-two days, under fire all the time. He was in a skirmish in Texas, at Matagorda Bay, at Blakeley, Ala., and in many other skirmishes. He escaped uninjured until the battle of Mobile, April 9, 1865, when a shell struck near him while he was in a charge within thirty yards of the front. One of his comrades in Company Q, same regiment, named Thomas Ford, lost a leg, and several were injured, Mr. Quill being covered with earth and picked up unconscious by his comrades. He was taken to the field hospital, where it was found that a piece of shell had struck him under his right eye, or that the eye had been injured by the sand striking it. This large shell, with several others, was strung on a telegraph wire as an obstruction, and on the charge, when the troops struck the wire, the shells exploded. Mr. Quill remained in camp at Mobile and returned to service with his regiment, but he always had trouble with that eye afterward, and for sixteen years it has been totally blind. He was always a faithful defender of his country, doing his full duty promptly and cheerfully, and was in all the campaigns, marches, battles and skirmishes of his regiment with the exception of the battle of Jackson, Miss., when he was sick, and except at Richmond, Ky., he was not in Hospital.
After the war Mr. Quill opened a shoe shop at New Paris, Ohio. On Oct. 15, 1865, he was married, in Huntington, Ind., to Ellen Kennedy, who was born in Limerick, Ireland, about 1848-50, daughter of Jeremiah and Mary (Collins) Kennedy. Jeremiah Kennedy care from Ireland in 1854 and settled on land in Preble county, Ohio, for a few years. Later he moved to Wells county, Ind., and bought a farm of eighty acres, where he died when eighty years of age. Michael and Ellen (Kennedy) Quill moved to Wells county, Ind., and bought a farm of fifty acres of timber land of which ten acres were cleared and upon which stood a log house. Mr. Quill finished the clearing of that tract and added fifty-three acres, in time owning 103 acres of fine farm land. He bought and sold several farms, on which he lived, in the same township, and in 1873 bought the farm of sixty acres which he at present owns, and of which but ten acres were then cleared. He cleared the balance and improved the place with good buildings, the farm at present being a valuable piece of property. Mr. Quill was elected trustee of Chester township, and served two terms in that office. In 1901 Mr. Quill moved his family to Muncie and bought the pleasant home in which he has since lived retired. As long as his health permitted he was a most industrious man, and he has always won the respect of all who knew him. The hardships of his army life have told permanently on his constitution, however, and he has felt their effects for many years. Mr. Quill is a G. A. R. man, a charter member of Lew Daily Post, of Bluffton, a member of Johnson Post, Montpelier (Ind.), of which he served as adjutant and officer of the day, and at present affiliates with Williams Post, of Muncie. In political sentiment Mr. Quill was originally a Democrat, and he was elected trustee of Chester township on that ticket, against a Republican, receiving a good majority — fifty-six votes. He has been a Republican since the Cleveland campaign.
Mrs. Ellen (Kennedy) Quill died on the farm Feb. 5, 1879. She was the mother of children as follows: Jeremiah E., born Sept. 13, 1866, died in January, 1867; Laura Ellen, born Aug. 5, 1868, married James H. Carnes, an iron worker, and they reside in Muncie; they have had three children, Francis Hugh, Jeremiah Harvey and Ellen B., of whom the last named died in infancy. Mary Josephine, born Nov. 15, 1870, married William Walter Herbert, an oil man, of Muncie, and is deceased. Thomas William, born Jan. 8, 1872, died Jan. 30, 1872. John, born Oct. 18, 1874, died Jan. 5, 1895. Thomas William (2), born Feb. 18, 1878, died in infancy. On March 30, 188o, Mr. Quill was married, in Anderson, to Ellen R. Ryan, whose father Thomas Ryan, was a blacksmith of Newport, County Tipperary, Ireland; he and his wife both died in that country. Mrs. Quill and her brother and sister came to America in 1864, making the ocean voyage by steamer from Cork to New York City. She was but thirteen years old at the time, and she accompanied her brother Patrick to Anderson, Ind. The other members of the Ryan family, Michael, William, Canada and Johanna, are all now deceased except Canada, who is a resident of Anderson. Two children have been born to Mr. Quill’s second marriage: Hattie Blanche, born July 2, 1881, who is the wife of Stephen Edward Herbert, an iron worker in Muncie; and Thomas Francis, born May 23, 1884. Mr. and Mrs. Quill are Catholics in religious faith.
PHILIP A. RABER, a survivor of the Civil war who is an esteemed citizen and business man of Brooklyn, Ind., was born Jan. 23, 1834, at Lebanon, Pa., and was there reared, and educated in the common schools. He is a son of John and Anna M. (Manbeck) Raber, both of whom were born in Pennsylvania and passed their lives there. The family is of German extraction, and for years was engaged mainly in agriculture, all of the name being honored and respected members of the communities in which they lived.
John Raber, the father, followed a tailoring business, a man of industry and integrity. He died in 1841. He was a faithful worker in the German Reformed Church. His wife survived him many years, kept the family together and looked after their education. She was a woman of intelligence and Christian character. She passed away from earth in 1882, at the age of eighty-three years. To John Raber and wife were born the following children: Elias, Henry and Jonathan died in Pennsylvania; William lived in Pottsville, Pa., and died at the age of eighty-four; David S. died aged seventy in Pennsylvania; Rebecca came to Indiana, and died unmarried, in 1899; Miss Sarah resides in Indianapolis; John died in infancy; Philip A.; Mary A. and Cyrus died young; Catherine died in infancy; and Samuel P. served in the Civil war, and resides in Denver, Colorado.
Philip A. Raber was about seven years old when his father died. At the age of sixteen, he was apprenticed to the cabinet-making trade. During his three years he was paid no salary, and as his mother could not assist him, he was obliged to go into debt to clothe himself, and also, to purchase tools when he started out as a journeyman. Every cent of his indebtedness was paid, although not before 1854, when he came to Indianapolis and secured a position which enabled him to save something. He worked first for James Greer, and then went to old Germantown, on the line of Hamilton county, and worked here a year with good results. In 1855 he married and settled down to housekeeping in a one-room cabin. His health broke down from hard work, and he finally decided to return to Pennsylvania where he arrived with a cash capital of $7. A whole year passed away before he managed to get the malaria out of his system so that he could again take up his work, and he was then employed by his old employer, continuing with him six years at Pine Grove, Pa. He then went back to the home of his father-in-law in Marion county, Ind., and worked at cabinet making and carpentering for a time, later leasing one-half acre of land and erecting small home. Here he worked making furniture, and as undertaker, and continued to prosper for three years.
In 1864 Mr. Raber was drafted for service in the army. Only a few of his drafted neighbors went into the army, all securing substitutes, but Mr. Raber went to the front in Company D, 38th Ind. V. I., and was sent to Chattanooga, first on detached duty, later with the regiment after Hood. In the following spring he went to Morehead City; marched to Rolla after Johnston, and while at Martha’s Vineyard, peace was declared. The regiment then went to Washington and participated in the Grand Review. Mr. Reber was mustered out at Louisville, Ky., and received his pay and honorable discharge. During his term of service he endured much hardship, but was never either wounded or captured. He had two sun-strokes and has never fully recovered from the nervous strain.
After his discharge, Mr. Raber went in search of his wife and child, who had gone to the home of her brother in Illinois. They then returned to Indiana, and he built a house at McCordsville, and engaged in work at his trade, mainly the making of coffins. Here he was very prosperous and remained until 1872, and then removed to Paragon, in Morgan county, and engaged in a general mercantile business for the succeeding fifteen years. By this time Mr. Raber was in a position to invest a large amount of money. He went to Hastings, Nebr., bought a fine home in the town and an adjacent farm, residing there for two years. Returning to Paragon, he disposed of a considerable amount of property he owned there, and located at Brooklyn, where he built the handsome residence in which he still resides. This was in 1887, and since then he has made large real estate investments here and owns much valuable property. After selling his Nebraska property to advantage, he bought a fine White River Valley farm of 167 1/2 acres, well-improved and in a fine state of cultivation, which yields him a large income. He also owns property in Daviess county, Ind., and is one of the capitalists of this part of the state.
Mr. Raber’s career shows the ups and downs of life, and the many discouragements which he has met and overcome. Its record is one to encourage others in similar situations. He is a man of intelligence, business capacity, a high standard of honor, and deserves the high esteem in which he is held. In politics he is a Republican, and he and his family belong to the Methodist Church.
Mr. Raber married Martha Kinney, born Jan. 9, 1837, daughter of John and Rachel (Wilson) Kinney, of an old settled family of Marion county, the former a native of Ohio and the latter of Kentucky. They married in Ohio, and removed to Indiana where they became people of means and importance, and consistently supported the Methodist Church. The Kinney children were: Washington, deceased; Polly A., Mrs. T. McConnell; Wilson, of Illinois; John, who was drowned when young; Benjamin, deceased, late of Hancock county, Ind.; James, deceased; Martha ; Henry; Malinda, who died young; and Margaret, Mrs. McCord, of McCordsville. Mr. Kinney married (second) Eliza White, but no children were born of this union.
Mr. and Mrs. P. A. Raber have had ten children, as follows: Franklin H. and Edward, who died young; Dr. Charles, a dentist at Junction City, Kansas; Clara, Mrs. J. Vickory, of Indianapolis; George, deceased; Nettie, Mrs. Marshall, of Indianapolis; Emma, Mrs. W. Griggs, residing on a farm near Brooklyn; Lillian, Mrs. E. Harman; Lulu, Mrs. C. Kerzy, who died March, 1904; and Mattie, at home. Mr. Raber was formerly a member of the I. 0. 0. F.; and while in Pennsylvania of the Cadets of Temperance, who after they reached the age of eighteen became Sons of Temperance. He ranks high among the best citizens of his vicinity.
HENRY C. RANDALL, now residing at his attractive residence at No. 418 Blake street, Indianapolis, for over twenty-five years has served as locomotive engineer over the I. D. & W. R. R. He has had a wide and varied experience in his line, and is now one of the best informed, most competent, and careful engineers in the service of the company. Mr. Randall was born at Rouses Point, N. Y., May 20, 1853, and comes of a family of successful railroad employees, his father and five of his brothers having served as engineers, and his sister having married a man of the same profession.
Stephen R. Randall, father of Henry C., was reared in the State of Massachusetts, early acquiring the habits of industry and self reliance, which prominently marked his character in later years. At an early age he went to sea, and after a number of years of faithful service, gave it up, and secured a position as fireman on the Vermont Central R. R., gradually working up to the place of engineer. After some years with this road, he accepted a similar position on the M. & L. S. R. R, where he gave excellent satisfaction. He later made several changes, being engaged at different times on the C., B. & Q. R. R, (with his residence at Galesburg, Ill.), and on the M. C. Having during this period won for himself an excellent reputation for coolheadedness and practical knowledge of all lines of locomotive engineering, at the opening of the Civil war he was engaged to run trains through the South, and throughout the struggle he continued in this line, proving himself entirely worthy of the confidence reposed in him. After the war, he returned to Illinois, and took a place as engineer on the C., B. & Q. R. K, making his run from Galesburg to Quincy. He was performing his duties with his usual care and ability, when, on one run, in 1867, his train met with a wreck, as a result of a missing rail - torn up by some miscreant — and here he lost his life. During his young manhood Mr. Randall married Susan E. Carlton, of Rutland, Vermont. She survived her husband several years, and died at Peoria, Ill. Of this union there were seven children: Stephen A., an engineer by profession, residing at Galesburg, Ill.; George, also an engineer, who was killed in May, 1900; Henry C.; James, a railroad man of Peoria, Ill., who was injured through his service; William, an engineer, who was killed at Springfield, Ill.; Edward, another engineer, who died of heart disease at the home of his brother, in Indianapolis; and Mary E., who married Ben Lewis, now a retired railroad man, residing at Kansas City, but formerly of Galesburg, Ill. Mr. Randall throughout his career, was a close student of engineering, and kept thoroughly abreast of the latest movements in that science, as well as all matters pertaining to railroading generally. A man of marked integrity of character, he commanded respect from all who knew him, and he was long a highly esteemed member of the Campbellite Church. Fraternally he was well known and affiliated with the B. of L. E., being a charter member of that order.
Henry C. Randall early moved with his parents to Michigan, where he remained for some years, and then settled in Illinois. In the public schools of the different localities, he procured his education, and boy like became interested in his fathers work. To this he naturally turned his attention, and when but fifteen years old began firing an engine on the C., B. & Q. R. R, using, after the fashion of that day, wood for fuel, and with this road he continued until be was nineteen years old. A desire to see the wor1d and to experience its various phases led him through a varied career for the next few years, during which period he fired engines at different times on the Burlington & Missouri River R R.; the Burlington & South West; the Des Moines Valley R. R.; and later on the Wabash making his run from Springfield, Ill. While serving on the last named road he was promoted to engineer, and proved a most successful one, later, at different times serving in the capacity on the T. P. & W. running from Peoria, Ill. on the R. & R. I.; the M. K. & T; and on the I. B. & W., making his run from Urbana, Ill. After three successful years with the last named company, he in 1880, accepted a place as engineer, on the I. D. & W. R. R. Having had quite enough experience in roving, he now settled down to steady business and by his efficiency and fidelity to his work, won the entire confidence of his employers. Strict in carrying out orders, watchful, alert, he continued in favor, and has remained with the same company ever since, winning for himself an enviable reputation. Throughout his career his services have been greatly in demand, and in the early days old engineers used to vie with one another in trying to secure him as fireman for their trains. He possessed a genius for handling machinery and was always quick in picking up the manipulation of new appliances, and he fired the first train on the C., B. & Q. R. R. that used the air brake. His advice has often been sought by those seeking to make improvements in railroading, and often turned to practical account. He is a good business man as well as engineer, and now owns a pleasant two-story frame house on Blake street, Indianapolis, where he has resided since 1879.
In 1879 Mr. Randall married Lillian M. Kyte, who was born at Charlton, Iowa, Oct. 14, 1857, and who was reared for the most art near Danville, Ind. Of this union there have been no children. Mr. Randall is a thoroughly up-to-date gentleman, somewhat of a man of the world. He is a thoroughly good fellow, well informed upon all subjects, and wins friends for himself at every step in life. Keenly interested in his profession, he treasures everything of value pertaining to it, and has among his collections a photograph of the first engine passing through the new Union station in Indianapolis. Socially he stands high and affiliates with the A. F. & A. M. and the K. of P., and is one of the oldest members of the B. of F. & L. E. His wife is a highly esteemed member of the Fourth Presbyterian Church, and socially she belongs to the Eastern Star.
James L. Kyte, father of Mrs. Randall, was originally of Kentucky, and there passed his early life. Later he moved to Indiana, where he settled upon a farm and engaged in all branches of general farming, and made a specialty of stock. He also bought and sold cattle, carrying on a profitable business in this line for many years. Some time ago he gave up active labor, and he now makes his home with his children in Indianapolis. After coming to Indiana he married in that state Margaret Haiti, and of this union there have been seven children: Julia, who married a Mr. Haynes, a descendant of a prominent old
family of Hendricks county; Lillian M., Amanda B., who married B. Johnson, and is now deceased; Hally, who married W. Harness, a Civil war veteran, now residing in Indianapolis; Carry, who died young; and Pearl, who married a Mr. McCowan. The mother of these is a worthy member of the Christian Church.
THE SINKER-DAVIS COMPANY, successors to Sinker, Davis & Company and The Eagle Machine Works Company, is the out- growth of the first two important industrial institutions established in this city. The present business was incorporated in 1888, as the Sinker-Davis Company, and is July, 1896, acquired the business of the Eagle Machine Works Company by purchase, moving to the plant occupied by the latter concern, on Missouri street and the Union Railroad, from the site occupied for more than thirty years. The Sinker-Davis Company is looked upon as one of the landmarks in the city's industrial development, growing steadily with the city in its forward movement. The business embraces the building of engines, boilers, saw-mills, etc., on an extensive scale, and the output finds a steady market throughout the United States and in Mexico and South American countries. Over 200 men are employed in the various departments and since the establishment of the business, it has been in operation more continuous days than any other factory in the city. The new plant covers over three acres, and is fitted with all the best and latest improved machinery. The officers of the company are: J. H. Hooker, president; H. R. Bliss, secretary and treasurer, and A. J. Malone, superintendent.