Joseph Gardner

Joseph Gardner , banker, was born in Chautauqua County, N. Y., June 10, 1821, and is the seventh son of a family of nine children, two yet living, born to Robert and Martha (Maine) Garner. He is a grandson of Robert Gardner, who was a native of Scotland, afterwards a resident of Ireland, where he died. The father of Joseph Gardner was born in Ireland, about 1784, married Martha Maine , at Belfast, and in 1818, emigrated to the United States, locating in Chautauqua County, N. Y., where he engaged in farming until his death, June 5, 1855. The widow moved to Porter County in 1861, and died on the farm of her son Joseph in July, 1864. Both the parents were of the Presbyterian faith. Joseph Gardner remained with his parents in Chautauqua County, N. Y., until his sixteenth year. In 1836, he began life’s battle on his own responsibility, and for three summers engaged as a sailor on Lakes Huron, Erie and Michigan. He hen entered as laborer in a warehouse at Michigan City, In., remaining there principally until the spring of 1844, when he went to Mackinac, where he engaged in fishing and coopering for five years. In company with five others, February 6, 1849, he left the straits, bound for California. There they mined on Bear Creek, near what is now known as Little York, their individual profits per day being about $16.00. At the end of about two months they went to Sacramento, where their company was dissolved, and in January 1850, Mr. Gardner went to Nevada City, where he remained about two years, mining. He then went back to Little York, and engaged in mining and ‘ditching.’ Mr. Gardner, in the last named business, invested $100, 000. Which he had made out of the mines. The ditch he operated, is yet in fine condition, and is owned by what is known as the York Mining Company. In 1868, he returned to Indiana, and for three years farmed in Essex Township, Porter County. He then came to Valparaiso, and in 1874 established the Valparaiso Savings Bank, which, in February 1879, was merged into the Farmer’s National Bank, with a cash capital of $50,000. Mr. G. is a Republican, and a member of the Blue Lodge in Masonry, and his wife is a member of the Presbyterian Church. He was married in 1858 to Sarah H. Hill, and to this union was born one son, William H., who is assistant cashier of the bank.

Source: Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 246, 247 City of Valparaiso
Data Entry Volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

Moses T. Hunt

Moses T. Hunt was born September 30, 1787, in New England. He was a carder and cloth-dress by trade, and April 29, 1815, was married to Martha B. Willard , who was also a native of New England, her birth occurring June 17, 1798. Shortly after their marriage, they settled in Coos County, N. H., and here their children were all born, three in all, viz., Franklin W., Hamilton P. (deceased), and Hubbard. Their births respectively were February 18, 1817; September 2, 1818, died January 27, 1824, and January 18, 1821. The parents lived the remainder of their days at Lancaster, Coos Co., N. H., the father dying August 29, 1925, aged thirty-seven years and eleven months, and the mother September 15, 1822, aged twenty-four years and three months. Hubbard Hunt was reared at his birthplace at Lancaster, N. H., receiving a good common school and academical education; learned machinist and steel and brass finisher’s trade in Fairbank’s Scale Works, at St. Johnsbury, Vt. He was in the employ of that firm seven, but in 1846 came to Indiana for the first time, to look at the country. His brother, Franklin W., being at Valparaiso, he came to this place to see him, and while here made proposals to his brother, and advanced money to him to embark in merchandising at this place. The summer of 1847, Hubbard came to Valparaiso, and became an active partner, but early in 1849, his health failing, he went to California to seek his health, and remained there until November 1850, passing through all the scenes, incidents and privations of a miner’s life. He arrived home in March 1851, much improved in health. On his return, he again actively engaged in merchandising with his brother, their partnership never having been dissolved, and they continued until 1856, when their interests were divided, and shortly after the dissolution of their partnership in the same year Hubbard engaged in stock dealing till the fall, then sold his cattle in Iowa, after which he engaged in the hardware trade at Valparaiso. He continued at that for four years; then engaged in a general manufacture of native lumber, after which in about 1866, he formed the partnership of White, Hunt & Co., for the sale of pine lumber, which continued some fourteen years with harmony and success. During his career in the lumber trade, Mr. Hunt’s services were often sought and engaged as administrator of decedents and assignee of bankrupt estates, all of which he settled with satisfaction. At present he is not actively engaged in any pursuit, except in looking after his personal interests. On his retirement from the firm of White, Hunt & Co., in January 1882, he retired to private live, and is living as such in the full enjoyment that one could derive after over forty years of active hard labor. Mr. Hunt was married May 9, 1851, to Miss Finett Dunning, daughter of John Dunning, an old settler of Valparaiso. They have had no children of their own, but have one adopted son, Willard James, the orphan child of Mr. Hunt’s niece, Ida (Hunt) McConkey . Mrs. Hunt is a member of the Presbyterian Church, but Mr. H. is a member of no particular church or party, but is liberal and tolerant in his views on all subjects. Mrs. Hunt was born in Wayne County, N. Y., December 31, 1829, and came with her parents to Porter County in about 1844. She was a daughter of John and Lucy (Rose) Dunning .

Source: Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 250, 251 City of Valparaiso
Data Entry Volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

Prof. Richard A. Heritage

Prof. Richard A. Heritage , Musical Director of Northern Indiana Normal School, was born October 28, 1853, in Williams County, Ohio. He is the eldest of seven children born to James and Susannah ( De Long ) Heritage, the former of England and the latter of Ohio. At the age of sixteen, he left home to attend the Normal School at Bryan, Ohio. Three years later, he was installed as tutor in music and mathematics in the same institution. In about two and one half years, he entered the Musical Convention work with W. F. Werschkul , D. Wertz and S. W. Straub . In 1877, he accepted the principalship of the Edon (Ohio) Graded School, working about one year, when, in the midst of the term of school, he received a telegram from H. B. Brown asking him to take the position of Musical Director of the Northern Indiana Normal School, suddenly vacated by W. F. Speer . He accepted, and has held the position ever since. When Prof. H. took the position in the spring of 1878, there was no musical department except the vocal classes and three pianos for private instruction. In the fall of 1878, the musical department was fully organized, with a course of study embracing two years’ work, included notation, sight reading, thorough-bass, harmony, fugue, counter-point, orchestration, musical literature, voice culture, piano, organ, violin and band and orchestral instruments. This is divided into four courses. The three pianos, previously mentioned, were placed in the students’ rooms; now the department has a room 40x42 feet, with twenty pianos, seven organs, and one set of band and orchestral instruments. The building is arranged with twenty-two private practicing rooms and director’s family rooms, musical store and reading room, and an excellent musical and miscellaneous library of over 1,000 volumes, with twenty musical journals on file. It is also connected with the telephonic exchange. Prof H. is editor and publisher of a musical journal - The (Valparaiso) Musical Ideal. This has all been done through the untiring and persistent efforts of Prof. Heritage, who is a genial, affable, gentleman of fine musical talent. The number of certificates of membership was about 150 in 1878; last year the number reached 409. Prof. H. was married, March 22, 1877, to Mary C. Miller , a native of Ohio. They have one child, Harvey H. Of the F. & A. M. fraternity, Prof. H. is a member, having taken twelve degrees, and also a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and has always been a Republican.

Source: Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 248, 249 City of Valparaiso
Data Entry Volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

S. C. Hackett

S. C. Hackett was born in Seneca County Ohio, March 1, 1829, and is the eldest of a family of three children born to Henry and Sarah (Cotton) Hackett, the former having been born in Vermont, and the latter in New York February 28, 1809, where they resided until their maturity, when they removed to Seneca County, Ohio, in 1825, and were married the following year. Henry Hackett died when our subject was five years of age, from which time until he was seventeen he lived with his mother and uncle. At this age, he encountered the world, and went to Lake County, Ill., where he worked until twenty-one years old, when he was overtaken by the ‘gold fever,’ crossed the plains to California, and engaged in mining, with varied success, for two years, when, from failing health, he came to La Porte County, Ind., and after a year to Porter County, where he has since resided. Here he gave attention to lumbering and furnishing wood for the Lake Shore & Michigan South Railroad and the Chicago markets, at which he continued until 1868, when he superintended a large tract of land for Loveland & Co., of Janesville, Wis., thus continuing until 1879, when he purchased the major part of the company’s land, and began manufacturing charcoal, as well as clearing the said land. He believes he has produced more charcoal than any man in Indiana. In 1881, he began farming. He was married while in La Porte County, January 1, 1855 to Ann J. Weston, born in La Porte County September 12, 1836, a daughter of Isaac and Louisa (Randall) Weston. They have had four children, three of whom are living - Emily, Mina and William C. Mr. Hackett is a member of Westville Lodge, No. 192, of Masons. Previous to 1872, he was a Republican, but has since affiliated with the Democratic party, to which he still adheres. He has held all the township offices, and is prominent in politics, and a most respected citizen. By hard work and good management, he has obtained over 1,100 acres on La Porte and Porter Counties.

Source: Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 394, 395 Pine Township
Data Entry Volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

William Brummitt

William Brummitt , one of the early settlers of Pine Township, was born in Yorkshire, England, August 23, 1832, being one of twelve born to Aaron and Ann ( Wilbey ) Brummitt. Seven of this family are living, five in America, and two of those in this county; his parents were natives of Yorkshire; his father was born in 1800, his mother in 1802. The elder Brummitt was a spinner and weaver, at which he worked until advanced age, and died March 14, 1882, aged eighty-one years; his widow is living in England. William Brummitt remained with his parents until manhood, learning the trade of weaving, at which he worked until 1856; his education is limited. In 1856, growing tired of his trade, he determined to come to America, procure land and become a farmer. In that year, he came to Porter County, and in 1858 made his first purchase of three acres. This he cleared, and in 1860 purchased forty more adjacent, and, by purchases since, now owns 325 acres, 275 of which are improved, with good buildings. In 1864, he entered the army, and served until the close of the war; he was married November 20, 1853, to Mary Lucas , a native of Yorkshire, England, born October 23, 1832, and daughter of Mark and Grace Lucas; her parents lived and died in England. Mr. and Mrs. Brummitt have six children - Mark L., (born January 24, 1858), John W. (born September 12, 1859), Maria (born November 6, 1860), Jennie (January 15, 1863, now Mrs. W. P. Goodykoontz ), Emily (born June 4, 1865) and Arthur (born August 7, 1870). All of these have literary tastes, four having been teachers. Mr. and Mrs. Brummitt, with four of the family, are members of the Christian Church, and he and his son Mark of Calumet Lodge, No. 379, A., F. & A. M. Mr. Brummitt is a Democrat, and now serving his fourth term as Justice of the Peace. His son is an Assessor of the township.

Source: Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 393 Pine Township
Data Entry Volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

William Johnston

William Johnston , attorney at law, is a son of Judge Jesse Johnston, of Centre Township, who was born in Ross County, Ohio, June 10, 1808; came to Indiana in September 1829 and to what is now Porter County in 1834. He is a son of George and Nancy Johnston; was reared and still is a farmer, and November 30, 1830, married Rebecca Pickett , who has born him family of eleven children, six of whom are yet living. He is prominently identified with the early and subsequent history of Porter County. In politics, was first a Wig, tinctured with Free-Soilism, and afterward a Republican. In 1836, was elected a Justice of the Peace, but would not serve; was Probate Judge from 1836 to 1840, and subsequently served in various other positions of honor and trust. In 1851, he became a Freemason and has ascended to the Royal Arch degree. In 1879, he became a member of the State Pioneer Association. He is now living on his farm of 240 acres near Valparaiso. William Johnston was reared in Porter County, receiving his education at the common schools, afterward attending the Valparaiso Male and Female College four years, and finishing his literary education in 1866 by graduating from Asbury University at Greencastle, Ind. He began the study of law in Valparaiso, and established himself first in practice at Chesterton. In about 1868-1869, he moved back to Valparaiso, where he now occupies a leading position at the bar of Porter and neighboring counties. He has been twice married, first in December 1866, to Belle Hopkins , who died April 23, 1870, leaving two children, only one of whom, Charles H., is yet living. He married his present wife, Almira Hankinson , in October, 1878, and to their marriage has been born one daughter - Flora A. Mr. and Mrs. Johnston are among the best of Valparaiso’s people. The former is a Republican in politics, and the latter is a member of the Presbyterian Church.

Source: Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 252 City of Valparaiso
Data Entry Volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

William Kemper

William Kemper , son of William and Elizabeth ( Pohl ) Kemper, was born in La Porte County, Ind., January 25, 1857. His father was a native of Prussia, born in the province of Westphalia August 3, 1825. At the age of twenty-eight, he came to the United States, and settled in La Porte County, Ind.; he was a stonemason and bricklayer, and removed to Porter County in 1858; here he lived until his death February 4, 1881. His mother was also a native of Westphalia, and born September 7, 1827; she came to American in 1855, and was married the following year, she now lives in Michigan City. Our subject was one of six children, and lived at home until manhood, receiving as a boy the education of the ordinary schools, and afterward working as a farmer in charge of the homestead. He was married, October 10, 1881, to Barbara Kasmatkey , a native of Prussia. Mrs. And Mrs. Kemper are members of the Catholic Church of Michigan City. In politics, Mr. Kemper is a Democrat, but exceedingly liberal in all home affairs.

Source: Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 395 Pine Township
Data Entry Volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

William Lewry

William Lewry , senior member of the firm of William Lewry & Son, manufacturers of wagons, buggies, etc., at Furnessville, was born in the county of Sussex, England, October 18, 1834. He is the eldest of the five children of David and Mary ( Leopard ) Lewry, and the only one in America; his parents were natives of England, his father being a manufacturing blacksmith and wagon-maker in Brighton, where he resided until his death in 1856. William Lewry remained with his parents until manhood. At the age of twelve, he began to learn his father’s trade, and at nineteen he was master thereof. In 1855, he was offered a position at Niagara, in America; here he was a partner in the ship and worked some time, afterward opening a ship at Sweden Center, N. Y. In 1864, he entered the army, in Company E, Ninth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and remained until discharge, June 20, 1865; he now opened a blacksmith and repairing shop, and later a manufacturing establishment at Furnessville; he was married April 15, 1854, in England, to Sarah Lee . They have seven children - Elizabeth (born June 4, 1855), Henry (born January 29, 1858), Eugene (born February 8, 1861), William (born September 8, 1862), Carrie (born July 5, 1866), Annie M. (born October 20, 1874) and Richard D. (born January 27, 1879). In politics, Mr. Lewry is a Democrat, and represents his party as a Township Trustee.

Source: Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 396 Pine Township
Data Entry Volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

Younger Frame

Younger Frame , son of John and Ufa ( Peak ) Frame, was born in Preble County, Ohio January 1, 1832; his father was born in Kentucky in 1804, and came to Preble County when quite young; his mother was born in Ohio in 1810, and lived there till after her marriage. In 1835, they emigrated to Michigan City, La Porte County, where Mr. Frame followed the coopering business. In 1849, they came to Porter County, settling in Pine Township, when his mother died December 29, 1860, and his father February 29, 1872. Younger Frame lived with his parents until twenty-nine years old. After receiving an ordinary school education, he learned his father’s trade, but has worked much more at farming, having now 212 acres in this and La Porte Counties. On February 28, 1861, he was married to Maria L. Weston, a daughter of Isaac and Louisa (Randall) Weston , and born March 7, 1839; her parents were early settlers of La Porte County. They have had three children - Hattie E., Cary J. and Chauncey R. During 1881-82, Mr. Frame has built a cheese factory, the only one in the township. When he first came hither, his farm was a wilderness, necessitating clearing and the building of a log cabin; he has now good improvements and seventy-five acres under cultivation. Mr. Frame is a Democrat, but liberal in local government.

Source: Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 393, 394 Pine Township
Data Entry Volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

Aaron Parks

Aaron Parks was born in Erie County, Ohio, June 17, 1833, and is a son of E. W. Parks, a native of Vermont, a grandson of Aaron parks, and his great-grandfather was a native of Ireland, and came to America previous to the war of the Revolution. He served in this war, as did his grandfather, the former dying in the defense of his adopted country. The grandfather, Aaron Parks, lived to the age of one hundred and two years, and died in Vermont. E. W. Parks, was a carpenter by trade, but also farmed. He was twice married; first to a Miss Olds, who died leaving him a family of four children, three of whom yet live. His second wife, the mother of Aaron Parks, of Valparaiso, was Mrs. Mary (Gilbreath) Bear, a widowed lady with two children, only one yet living. To her union with Mr. Parks there were born five children, only two, Aaron and a sister, yet living. The mother died in 1844, and the father went to Lenawee County, Mich., where he died in 1848. Aaron Parks lived with his father until his death, then went to live with a half-sister in Berrien County, Mich., but at the age of eighteen, went to Niles, Mich., to learn the gunsmith trade with William Van Belar, remaining with him three years. He then went to Michigan City, where for about a year he worked at his trade. In 1852, he came to Indiana, and for the first two years was in La Porte, working at gunsmithing. He then came to Valparaiso with but very little more than his tools, but has accumulated some property and a home. He was married, June 1, 1856, to Jane Cook, and to them have been born five children - Alice E., Gilbert (dead), Emery (dead), Samuel A. and Gordie (dead). Mr. Parks at one time held the position of one of the “City Fathers” of Valparaiso. He is a Republican, and is the present Township Trustee of Centre Township. In 1864, he entered the Government service for seven months, and was on detached duty as Orderly at Camp Carrington. He is at present working at his trade, and in addition does a general repairing business. He and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

Source: “Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical,” Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 266 City of Valparaiso
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

Aaron Rogers

Aaron Rogers, son of Elisha and Zilpha (Dean) Rogers, was born in Cattaraugus County, N. Y., April 27, 1827. His father was a native of Madison County, N. Y., and of Irish descent. He was a farmer, and married in Genesee County, N. Y. He and wife came to Porter County, Ind., in 1851, where they both died. Aaron Rogers passed his early years on his parents’ farm, and at the age of seventeen began life’s battle on his own responsibility, but the greater part of the proceeds of his labors went to his parents until he attained his majority, when he opened a dry good, general notice and auction house in Western New York. After that, he engaged in traveling and selling goods until 1851, when he came to Valparaiso, and July 3, of that year, opened a jewelry store, and worked at manufacturing and mending until within the past few years, when he turned his attention more chiefly to banking and dealing in real estate. Mr. Rogers was married in Kenosha, Wis., April 27, 1853, to Miss Jane Conner, and to this marriage have been born four children - Eleanor Arvilla, now Mrs. C. T. Allen; Chauncy Jerome, Eugenia and Roscoe. The mother is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Mr. Rogers is a Republican, but formerly a Whig.

Source: “Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical,” Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 268 City of Valparaiso
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

A. L. Jones

A. L. Jones, attorney at law, was born in Wayne County, Ohio, August 10, 1835; the son of William W. and Belinda (Jones) Jones, natives of Virginia and Pennsylvania, and parents of ten children, all yet living. In about 1839, the family moved from Wayne to Fulton County, Ohio, and thence in 1847, to Horse Prairie, Boone Township, this county, purchasing a tract of land. In 1849, William W. Jones was elected Clerk of Courts of Porter County, on the Whig ticket, and in 1850, moved to Valparaiso, where he performed his official duties until November, 1855; April 5, 1856, he died, mourned by a host of friends. He was an active business man, a fluent speaker, and strictly honest. Although no office-seeker, he was place in many positions of honor and trust. He had been ordained a minister of the Christian church, but never steadily pursued ministerial work. His widow is yet living, and resides with a daughter in Kansas. A. L. Jones, after attending the county and city schools, entered the State University at Bloomington in 1852, and graduated in 1855, with the degree of Bachelor of Arts, having also taken one course in the law department, and studying during the interval in the law office of Judge S. I. Anthony. In the winter of 1856, he was admitted to the bar of Porter County, and until November, 1859, assisted in his father’s office as Deputy. He then opened a law office and began practice, which he has ever since successfully continued, except when he was in the army. In the spring of 1862 he entered the Quartermaster’s Department of the Army of hte Potomac as a citizen clerk; so remained until May, 1863 and then enlisted in the Seventh Indiana Calvary. He was made Quarter Master Sergeant, and the March following was commissioned Quartermaster of the regiment, being mustered out in April, 1866. He at present is the senior of the law firm of Jones De Motte & Jones, his son, Frank P., being the junior member, and Mr. De Motte being the present Member of Congress from the Tenth District. October 6, 1858, Mr. Jones married Jennie Baugh, of Bloomington, Ind., who has borne him four children, viz., Frank P., Kate (deceased), Mattie (deceased) and Grace. Mr. Jones is a Democrat; he is a fluent speaker, and a successful lawyer of soundest integrity. Mrs. Jones is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and the family are among the first in Valparaiso.

Source: "Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical", Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 253, 254 City of Valparaiso
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

Deb Murray