John S. Louderback

John S. Louderback, grocer and baker, was born in Cass County, Ind., August 28, 1835. His father Andrew Louderback, was a native of Pennsylvania, and his grandfather Louderback was a native of Germany, coming to American shortly after the Revolutionary war. Andrew Louderback came with his parents to Brown County, Ohio, when about twelve years old, and were there reared to manhood. He learned the blacksmith’s trade, and followed that as a business until about 1840, when he worked at that in connection with farming. He was married to his first wife, Nancy Washburn (who was the mother of our subject), in about 1823. This lady was born in Kentucky in 1802, her father being a native of Massachusetts and of Irish descent. They moved to Wayne County, Ind., in 1830; in 1834, removed to Logansport, Ind., and in 1836, removed to Fulton county, Ind., where Mrs. Louderback died in 1858. To her marriage with Mr. L. there were born ten children, nine of whom are yet living. Mr. L. married for his second wife Martha Jones, who is yet living, but Mr. L. died in March 1864. John S. Louderback was reared on a farm until seventeen years old, when he began learning the wagon and carriage maker’s trade with Otis Whipple of Delphi, Carroll Co., Ind., and when nineteen years old began at his trade on his own responsibility at Fulton. He enlisted in Company I, Fifth Indiana Cavalry, August 14, 1862, and in October of that same year, was made Eighth Sergeant. He was promoted to Quartermaster Sergeant in March 1863, and a few months afterward was made Orderly Sergeant, retaining that position until July 1, 1864, when he was promoted to a First Lieutenancy. October 1, 11864, he was made Captain of his company, but owing to the previous Captain being wounded, Capt. Louderback had, for one year previous to being commissioned, served in that capacity. He was made Quartermaster of the regiment on its being mustered out of service, and he disposed of its effects to the Government. He was a participant in the campaign in Kentucky against Morgan, and assisted in the thirty days’ raid that resulted in Morgan’s capture. They joined the Army of the Cumberland in Tennessee in 1863 and participated in the engagement at Knoxville and a number of its surrounding battles. Their horses being worn out, they were dismounted and going to Paris, Ky., were remounted, after which they joined Sherman’s army at Ringgold, Ga., and were placed under Gen. Stoneman’s command. For seventy-one days they were in active fighting duty, participating in battles of Resaca, Lone Mountain, Kennesaw Mountain and various others. July 24, 1864, under Gen. Stoneman, they started on their trip South, with the intention of releasing the prisoners at Andersonville, GA., and passing through the enemy’s line at Stone Mountain they fought an engagement at Macon, and afterward learned that a General who was to co-operate with Stoneman had been defeated. They fought until all ammunition was used up, when the officers, holding a council, deemed it wise to surrender, which they did July 28, 1864. Capt. L. was taken to Andersonville the 1st of August, and instead of going into other quarters as an officer, remained with his men, and remained there suffering all the agonies of that place until October 1, 1864, when they were removed to Charleston, and after being there twenty-six days they were removed to Florence; here he received his liberty, and was sent to Annapolis. Receiving a thirty days’ furlough he went home, then rejoined his company, remaining with them until the close of the war, receiving his discharge June 27, 1865. Succeeding that he was at Fulton a short time, and in August, 1865 came to Valparaiso, buying a grocery stock and engaging in that trade in partnership, continuing as such for six years. In 1869, he came to his present place of business and embarked in the grocery and bakery business, which he has ever since continued with success. He was married in Fulton County, Ind., May 29, 1866 to Sarah J. Clevenger, and by her has had nine children - Andrew J., Effie F., Judson D., Eddie, Cora, Mamie and Gracie, living; and Edgar and Alva, deceased. Capt. Louderback is a Republican, and he and wife are members of the Baptist Church.

Source: “Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical”, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 256, 257 City of Valparaiso
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

John W. McLellan

John W. McLellan, photographer, is a native of La Porte County, Ind., his birth occurring August 2, 1848. He is the youngest son of a family of seven children, six yet living, born to Joseph and Fidelia (Reed) McLellan, who were natives of Vermont and Michigan, and of Scotch and Pennsylvania Dutch descent respectively. Joseph McLellan was a farmer, and came to La Porte County, Ind., in 1833, settling in Cool Spring Township, but afterward moving to Scipio Township, where he died in July 1881, preceded by his wife, both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. John W. was reared in La Porte County, Ind., where he acquired a good common school education, afterward attending for two and one-half years the High School of Westville, Ind., and then attending and graduating from the State Normal School at Oswego, N. Y. He learned the photographic art in La Porte, Ind., of John Bryant, and for a short time afterward was engaged in the business at Rockford, Ill. In December 1873, he came to Valparaiso and purchased the studio of W. H. Hayward. He is a member of the National Photographic Association of the United States, and has an established and enviable reputation as a photographer. He was married August 20, 1873, to Miss Huldah A. Forbes, daughter of J. R. Forbes, appropriate mention of whom is made in the biographical department of Washington Township. To this union have been born two children - Mattie P. and Frank C., deceased. Mrs. McLellan was born July 13, 1849 in Canada. Mr. and Mrs. McLellan are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Mr. McLellan is a Republican, and a member of the I.O.O.F.

Source: “Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical”, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 260, 261 City of Valparaiso
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

Kellogg Brothers

Alfred Kellogg was born in Wayne County, Penn., January 30, 1823. His father, Azor Kellogg, was born in the same place January 24, 1796, and was a farmer and lumberman. He married Nancy Stevens in 1820, and in August 1849, to gratify the wishes of his children, came West and located with his wife and youngest son in McHenry County, Ill., leaving the others behind to close up affairs. In 1850, He came to Valparaiso, where he purchased, in connection with his son Dennis, and son-in-law Daniel S. White, the old foundry on Block 16, Lot 5, Main Street. The firm name was Kellogg & White until 1851, when his sons in Pennsylvania, Alfred and John, came out and added to the business a cabinet ship and a machine shop. In 1860, Mr. White, who had previously withdrawn, was again taken in, and a planing mill was added, also a general lumber business by Alfred Kellogg, who was the first general lumber merchant in Valparaiso. The same year, the business was removed to a point near the P., Ft. W. & C. R. R. depot. In due course of time, the father withdrew from the firm, and is not living retired. His wife died in January 1879, and lies buried in the city cemetery. Mr. White again withdrew in 1864. The three brothers now have a two-story brick building, 50x60 feet, with an engine-room attached, 12x24, with the latest and best machinery, driven by a twelve-horse power steam engine. They have an average force of twelve men, and do business all over Porter and the adjoining counties. They are the inventors of some threshers, mowers and reapers that stand in the front rank, especially the “Kellogg Mower.” Alfred Kellogg was married in Pennsylvania, in September 1845 to Martha Norton, who died December 10 of the same year. In May 1848 he married Isadora Chase. By her he has one child living - Martha..

John W. Kellogg, of the firm was born in Wayne County, Penn., April 13, 1825; was educated in the public schools, and in 1849 married Abigail J. Hull, born in Wayne July 28, 1824, and daughter of William and Elizabeth (Spangenberg) Hull. Mr. and Mrs. Kellogg came to Valparaiso with Alfred and his family. He is a Republican, and he and wife are members of the M. E. Church and parents of five children - Silas W., Fortunatus G., Nettie, Lizzie N. and Abbie Bell.

Dennis A. Kellogg was born May 20, 1830; married July 14, 1852, to Lucinda Norton, and came to Valparaiso with his parents. Besides being an equal partner with his brothers in the foundry, he conjointly with them owns an eighty-acre farm in Liberty Township, and twenty-four acres near the Porter County fair grounds, and individually owns his private residence. He is a Republican. His wife is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and they have had two children - Adelbert and Mark, the latter deceased..

Source: “Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical”, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 254, 255 City of Valparaiso
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

L. H. Mandeville

L. H. Mandeville, photographer, is a native of Trumansburg, N. Y., was born January 15, 1825, and is one of four children of Thomas C. and Mercy (Gilbert) Mandeville, natives of that state, and of Norman descent. Francis Mandeville, our subject’s grandfather, was a soldier of the Revolutionary war, and Thomas Mandeville, our subject’s father was a soldier in the war of 1812 and the Seminole war. Generations back, the family were among the nobility of Holland and England. Until thirteen years of age, L. H. Mandeville was reared in his native town. In 1838, he came to Erie, Penn., and there engaged as clerk in a dry goods store of that place, afterward going west of the city of Erie about six miles, where he took charge of the extension of the Erie Canal. While there, in 1850, he was united in marriage with Sarah Jane Brown, and moved to Adrian, Mich., where he engaged in farming. Then went to Tecumseh, Mich., where he kept hotel for about one year; then May 5, 1855, came to Valparaiso, where he has ever since resided. He here embarked in this present business. He is naturally of a mechanical turn of mind, and for a number of years has paid considerable attention to the mechanical work. He has invested several different engines, which have proved to be of great value as labor-saving instruments. The best and most noted of his inventions is an automatic telephone, which for a distance under three miles far exceeds any ever invented. Mr. Mandeville began life’s battle a poor boy, but by industry and economy has placed himself and family in good comfortable circumstances. He is a Democrat; is the present Master of the F. & A. M., and has ascended to the R. A. degree. He and wife are members of the Universalists Church, and the parents of one son - Cassius E., who married Elma Wells, and is a dry good merchant of Valparaiso.

Source: “Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical”, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 258, 259 City of Valparaiso
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

Marquis L. McClelland

Marquis L. McClelland, insurance agent, was born in La Fayette, Ind., February 26, 1830. He is a son of John T. and Sarah (McCarl) McClelland, who were natives of Washington County, Penn. John T. McClelland was born in the year 1800, and his wife in 1804. They were married in their native State, and from there moved to La Fayette, Ind., in 1828. In 1831, Mr. McC. started west through South Bend, Niles and to Chicago. The spring of 1832, he removed to South Bend, where he embarked in mercantile pursuits. He was one of the pioneers and was identified with some of the leading manufactories of that place, and at the time of his death, in June 1840, was engaged in erecting extensive works for the manufacture of glass; he was also engaged in the manufacture of pig-iron at Mishawaka. He was a very active Democrat, and was the first County Treasurer of St. Joseph County. He was a man very popular with all classes, especially so with the poor, and commanded the respect and esteem of all who knew him. He and wife had born to them three children, two of whom are yet living - Mrs. Mills, of Rochester, N. Y., and the subject of this sketch. Mrs. McClelland continued to reside in South Bend, and there married William S. Vail. This couple moved to Valparaiso in 1863, where they are both yet living at advanced ages. To their union were born two children, of whom only one, William H., a jeweler of Valparaiso, yet lives. Marquis L. McClelland was but ten years old when his father died. He learned the tanner’s and currier’s trade, but has never made that his business. He came to Valparaiso in 1854, was employed as salesman in different mercantile establishments, and the fall of 1861 was appointed Clerk of the Congressional Committee on Post Offices and Post Roads, of which Hon. Schuyler Colfax was Chairman, and at that gentleman’s solicitation acted as his Private Secretary in the Forty-second Congress. He returned to Valparaiso in 1862 and engaged in the dry goods trade, in partnership with A. V. Bartholomew. He continued at this four years, and in the meantime was active in organizing the First National Bank. He was elected the first cashier, and continued as such about eighteen years. Since that time he has been engaged in a general life and fire insurance business. He was married, October 3, 1853, to Miss Sarah A. Wilmington, of South Bend, and to them have been born two children - Theodore and Flora. Mr. McClelland has been a member of the Masonic order for twenty-five years, and has passed through the Blue Doge, Chapter, Council, Commandery and Scottish Rites, and is a Past Eminent Commander of the Commandery. The Blue Lodge at Hobart, Ind., is named in his honor. He is a Republican, and has filled the positions of Township Treasurer and Clerk of Centre Township. He is the county’s present nominee for the State Legislature, and has served two terms in the City Council. He and two others were active in building the C. & G. T. R. R. from Valparaiso to South Bend, and he has always taken active part in all the public affairs of the county. He and Schuyler Colfax was raised as boys together, and have always been on the most intimate and confidential terms.

Source: “Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical”, Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 261, 262 City of Valparaiso
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

M. A. Salisbury

M. A. Salisbury was born in La Porte County, Ind., April 22, 1836, one of five children, three yet living, born to D. J. and Mariette (Congdon) Salisbury, who were natives of Vermont and New York respectively. His grandparents, John and Sabrina (Jones) Salisbury, were natives of New England, and emigrated to La Porte County in about 1833. They were farmers, and lived and died there. The parents of our subject also emigrated to La Porte County in about 1834, and located in Kankakee Township. In about 1853, the parents went to Clinton County, Iowa, and thence came to Valparaiso, Ind., in 1858, where both are yet living retired. M. A. Salisbury was reared in La Porte County, during which time he received only a common school education. November 19, 1856, he was married in Valparaiso to Martha Hicks, and has made his home here ever since. He first came to Porter County in August, 1852, and entered as clerk in a drug store. He so continued until 1861, when he was appointed Postmaster at Valparaiso by Abraham Lincoln, retaining the position until after the assassination of Lincoln, when he was deposed by Andrew Johnson. He then engaged in dealing in books, stationery, wall-paper, musical instruments, etc. His wife died December 24, 1861, the mother of one daughter, Clara, who died at the age of twelve months. May 26, 1863, he married Viola (Mallory) Salisbury, who has borne him a family of five children - Jennie, Mariette, Charles (deceased), Alice (deceased) and Marion.

Source: “Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical,” Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 269 City of Valparaiso
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

Michael F. Clifford

Michael F. Clifford was born September 10, 1852, in Tiffin, Ohio. When he was about two years of age, his father removed with his family to Porter County, Ind., where they have since resided. Michael received a common school, and afterward an academical education at St. Paul’s Academy in Valparaiso. He was married January 4, 1876 to Eliza Carter, in the city of Valparaiso. To this union there have been born two children - Edward and William. After his marriage, Mr. Clifford lived at the old home, three miles northwest of Valparaiso, about three years, and moved to his present home in November 1881. The business of his life has been that of railroad contractor, he now being one of the partners of his father, Mr. P. T. Clifford. He is justly esteemed as a liberal and public-spirited citizen.

Source: “Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical,” Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 281 Centre Township
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

Michael O’Reilly

Michael O’Reilly, pastor of St. Paul’s Roman Catholic Church of Valparaiso, is a native of Clonmellon, Westmeath, Co., Ireland, and was born January 29, 1834. His father, John O’Reilly, a steward on Ross Mead for Capt. Robinson, of the Royal Naval, was married, in 1833, to Ann Bennett, and to this union were born one son and three daughters, of whom our subject and two sisters only are living. John O’Reilly died when Michael was bur seven years of age. His mother again marrying, Michael began life’s battle on his own responsibility, and up to the age of thirteen made his home with an uncle, aiding him in his duties as salesman of timber. In 1846, he joined one of the secret rebel clubs denounced by the Government, and was in consequence, advised to seek a refuge in America. In 1848, he came over alone, and made his way to the home of an uncle in Utica, N. Y., and for a number of years was engaged in various pursuits in Oneida and Genesee Counties. He saved his earnings, sent over for tow of his sisters, and at sixteen began going to school. When unable to attend, his strong inclination for study led him to read all books of value that came in his way, and he thus acquired a good preparatory education. At seventeen, he began teaching in the winters, and with the money thus earned entered Oberlin College, (Ohio), where he remained until his Junior year. He then entered Notre Dame University at South Bend, studied mental philosophy and other branches pertaining to a classical course, and then entered St. Mary’s Seminary at Cincinnati, went through a thorough theological course and a short time after came to Valparaiso and took charge of its Catholic congregation, then numbering fifty or sixty families, with a debt of about $4,000, and with neither house nor school. With commendable energy, Father O’Reilly went to work to remedy this unfortunate condition of affairs, and as a result of his zeal and persistency he can now boast of one of the finest congregations in the city, numbering about 2,000 souls, freed of all mortgages. He has also established churches at Hobart, Chesterton and Westville, and is now engaged in erecting a new church edifice at Valparaiso. He is untiring in his labors, is one of Valparaiso’s best citizens, and is respected and esteemed by all her people, irrespective of sectarian differences.

Source: “Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical,” Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 264, 265 City of Valparaiso
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

Mr. J. O’Brien

Mr. J. O’Brien, general dealer, was born in County Tipperary, Ireland, Mary 20, 1833, and is the third child of a family of seven children born to James and Mary (Fitz-Gerald) O’Brien, natives of the same county. James O’Brien was a cooper, and came to America in 1844, and for two years worked at Albany, N. Y. In 1846, he sent for his family and they resided in Albany for some time, afterward moving to Onondaga County, same State, where our subject was reared in the village of Jordan. His parents moved to Erie County, Penn., in about 1874, and are yet living there. Mr. J. O’Brien received only a limited education from the common schools, learned the cooper’s trade of his father, and at the age of twenty embarked on life’s voyage on his own resources. Up to 1854, he worked in the State of New York, and also during the interval, May 5, 1855, he was married to Miss Ann Maria Sullivan, a native of Albany. In 1857, during the panic, Mr. O’Brien and family emigrated west, and for about eight months worked in Peoria, Ill., and in 1858, moved to Valparaiso, Ind., where his family has ever since resided, except two years, while a resident of Cass County, this State. He began here by working at his trade in partnership with William Quinn, at which they were engaged some five years. They then embarked in the grocery trade, which was continued a number of years. Mr. O’Brien afterward purchased Mr. Quinn’s interest and continued the business for a time alone. In 1879, he received a Government appointment as an issue clerk to the Sioux Indians, at Standing Rock, D. T., under the supervision of Father Stephens, a Catholic Missionary from Indiana. In 1880, he came back to his family in Valparaiso, and the same year formed a partnership with Charles Miller, of Chicago, in a general store at Valparaiso, and Mr. O’Brien has since been here at the head of the establishment. They carry everything found in a first-class general stone, including dry goods, clothing, crockery, tin and glass ware. Mr. O’Brien by his first wife had ten children, seven of whom are yet living. Their names are Katie C., James E., William Smith, Mary M., Michael P., John J. and Ann, living, and James, Mary and Sophia, deceased. The mother died May 3, 1873. Mr. O’Brien married his present wife, Miss Sophia Sullivan, in the fall of 1874, in Chicago, and by her has three children - Frank, Bertha and Joseph. Mr. and Mrs. O’Brien are members of the Roman Catholic Church. Mr. O’Brien is a Republican. He was elected Councilman of the Third Ward of Valparaiso, and served for two years. In 1872, he was elected Trustee of Centre Township, and served six consecutive years. He is one of the well-known and substantial merchants of Valparaiso.

Source: “Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical,” Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 264 City of Valparaiso
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

O. P. Kinsey

O. P. Kinsey, A. B., Professor of English Literature and History in the N. I. N. S., was born near Freeport, Harrison Co., Ohio, December 7, 1849, and is one of four children, three yet living, born to Reese and Eliza A. (Ridgeway) Kinsey. The father is dead, but his widow is yet living and resides in Harrison County, Ohio. O. P. Kinsey was reared principally near his native town, and after attending the common schools of his neighborhood, entered Harlem Springs Seminary, in Carroll County, Ohio, in 1866, where he began fitting himself for the teacher’s profession. After a time, he returned to his native county, and, after teaching a number of terms, in the autumn of 1868 entered the Normal School at Lebanon. At the end of one year, he was given the position of janitor, which aided him pecuniarily until his last year, when he paid his way through by teaching in the school. In his way, he succeeded in graduating from the classical department, after which he was given a position in the faculty and the Professorship of English Literature. He retained this position until 1881, when he resigned to accept a half-interest in the N. I N. S. of Valparaiso. Previous to his location here, he took an extended tour through the Eastern States, Great Britain and Continent of Europe, visiting the principal educational institutions on his journey, with special reference to his profession. The spring of 1882, he returned to Valparaiso, took charge of his half-interest in the Normal School, and the tutorship of the classes in English Literature, History and other irregular classes. While a Student at Lebanon, Prof. Kinsey formed the acquaintance of Miss Sarah J. Porter, also a student of the same place. Miss Porter afterward became a teacher in the school as did Mr. Kinsey, and August 24, 1876, they were united in marriage. Mrs. Kinsey is earnestly interested in the welfare of the Normal School here, and has charge of the Ladies’ Department; also, is the teacher of Geography and Natural History.

Source: “Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical,” Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 254 City of Valparaiso
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

O’Sullivan & McAulifee

Patrick T. O’Sullivan is a native of the village of Shannonvile, Cork, Ireland, and was born April 5, 1852. He is one of eight children, five of whom are yet living, born to John and Hanora (O’Donovan) O’Sullivan. He was educated in the Irish national and select schools, and in November, 1872, emigrated to America, landing in New York in December. He came of La Porte, Ind., and in January, 1873, entered Notre Dame University, graduating in June, 1874. The following August, he came to Valparaiso and became a teacher in St. Paul’s Grammar School, where he remained eight years. In September, 1881, in partnership with J. F. McAuliffe, he established the Valparaiso Herald, issuing the first number on the 29th of that month. The paper is a six column quarto, independent in politics, has become one of the leading journals of Porter County, and ranks among the most ably edited papers of Northern Indiana.

J. F. McAuliffe

J. F. McAuliffe was born in Porter County, Ind., in December, 1859, and is one of the five living children of a family of nine born to John and Catharine (Clifford) McAuliffe, natives of Ireland. The parents came to America in about 1849. The father died December 14, 1876; the widow still survives and is living in Centre Township, on the Joliet road, west of Valparaiso. J. F. McAuliffe was reared in this county, and received a good practical education, which was finished at St. Paul’s Grammar School, Valparaiso. He was married, May 3, 1881, to Sophia Haberle, and is the father of one daughter, Catharine.

Source: “Counties of Porter and Lake - Historical and Biographical,” Goodspeed and Blanchard 1882 page 265 City of Valparaiso
Data entry volunteer - Suzan Schaeffing

Deb Murray