"Counties of White and Pulaski Counties, Indiana - City of Winamac" by F.A. Battey & Co. - published in 1883
ROBERT T. HEDGES, deceased, was born in Williams County, Md., November 19, 1812. While yet a small boy, he moved with his father’s family to Frankfort, Ky., thence to Bartholomew County, Ind., where he learned the trade of blacksmithing. In 1840, he was married to Elizabeth Smith, who was born near the town of Corydon, Harrison Co., Ind., September 1, 1816. He continued to work at his trade in Columbus, then a small town in Bartholomew County, until the fall of 1848, when he removed with his wife and three children to Pulaski County, and settled in Van Buren Township. The following summer he moved to Winamac, and in 1852 was elected to the office of County Treasurer, a position in which he served with credit for a term of two years. November 18, 1854, two months after the expiration of his term of office, he died. His widow survived him, and continued to live in Winamac, until her death. There were born to them a family of five children, three of
whom are now living - Thomas B. and Nancy J., who reside in Winamac, and William M., now living at Andrews, Ind. The Hedges family are among the old and honored ones of Pulaski County.
"Counties of White and Pulaski Counties, Indiana - City of Winamac" by F.A. Battey & Co. - published in 1883
JOHN R. CONNER, County Auditor, is a native of Montgomery County, Ind., his birth
occurring at Conner’s Mill February 6, 1846. Of the twelve children born to his parents, only eight are yet living. His parents were both born in Kentucky, but his father, John Conner, at the age of thirteen, moved with his parents to Montgomery County, this State, where he learned the miller’s trade, and where he married the mother of the subject of this sketch, Cassandra Carson. In 1861, he and family moved to Pulaski County, settled on a farm in Jefferson Township, and the fall of that year Mr. Conner enlisted as a private in the Twentieth Indiana Volunteers. He served in active duty until the war was virtually ended, then returned home, where he died December 13, 1867, from disease contracted while in the service of his country. His widow is yet living, and resides at Francesville at the age of sixty-six years. John R. Conner resided in his native county until the age of fifteen years, and since that time his home has been in Pulaski County. His
educational advantages were very limited in youth, but by self-application in later years he has been enabled to acquire a good, practical education. Early in the spring of 1865, he enlisted for the war in Company D, One Hundred and Fiftieth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, but the war soon afterward closing, he was discharged October 5, 1865, returned home and engaged in buying and selling cattle. In 1871, he engaged in mercantile pursuits at Francesville, but the fall of 1876 sold out, and re-embarked in stock business. The fall of 1878, he was chosen by the Democratic party as their candidate for County Treasurer, and in 1879 removed to Winamac to till that position. In 1880, he was re-elected County Treasurer, and in 1882 was elected Auditor of the county. His term of Treasurer not expiring until 1883, he resigned his position, and the same fall of his elected entered upon his duties as Auditor, at which he is at present engaged. He has been a life-long
Democrat, and was married to Miss Florence Rishling, February 10, 1881. This lady is a daughter of Samuel and Typhena (Ward) Rishling, of Francesville.
"Counties of White and Pulaski Counties, Indiana - City of Winamac" by F.A. Battey & Co. - published in 1883
JOHN T. HOLSINGER is the youngest living of a family of six born to Jacob and Sarah A. (Thompson) Holsinger, who are now residents of Henry County, Ind. Jacob Holsinger is a carpenter by trade, and has followed that occupation through life. He is a native of Bedford County, Penn., and a direct descendent of German ancestors; moved to Ohio at an early day, and March 20, 1848, married his wife in her native county, Miami. In about 1852, they moved to Henry County, Ind., but in 1858, returned to Miami County County, Ohio. They remained there until 1867, when they again returned to Henry County, where they have since resided. In 1862, Mr. Holsinger enlisted in Company G, One Hundred and Tenth Ohio Volunteer Infantry; participated in some of the most hotly contested battles of the war; was wounded at Cedar Creek; arose to the rank of Sergenat, and was honorably dischared at the close of the war. He and wife are members of the German Baptist Church.
John T. Holsinger was born August 22, 1856; received a good practical education in youth, and in 1872 began doing for himself as telegraph operator for the Pan Handle Railroad Company at North Judson, Ind. He was sent from that place to La Crosse, and in 1876 was employed as telegraph operator at Washington Heights, Ill. In 1877, he was promoted to the position of chief freight clerk, retained that office until 1880, and the fall of that year came to Winamac to fill the position of assistant cashier in the Bank of Winamac. He is yet serving in that capacity, and, in 1881 became a partner and stockholder in the bank. Mr. Holsinger is a member of the Masonic fraternity, a stanch Republican in politics, and one of the enterprising young men of Pulaski County. He was married, August 25, 1881, to Mrs. Nettie (Barnett-Rowan, a widow with three children, viz.: Irvie, Louie and Earl Rowan).
WILLIAM S. HUDDLESTON, deceased, was a native of Ohio, and was born in Champaign County, that State, February 27, 1825, and was one in a family of six children, two only of whom are yet living. He came to Pulaski County, Ind., in 1849, and to Winamac in 1850, and at that time his total possessions amounted to only $50 in money and a horse. His first occupation here of any importance was school-teaching, but he was not long allowed to remain employed at this, for his energy and business qualifications soon attracted attention, and he was elected County Surveyor, a position in which he served with entire satisfaction to all concerned. He was afterward twice elected County Auditor, and as such his actions were characterized by that deep sense of honor by which he was so well known. He was foremost in all public affairs of a beneficial character, and always contributed largely from his means to the support of such. For a number of years prior to his death,
he had bee actively engaged in buying and shipping grain at Winamac, and to him is due, in a large measure, the extensive grain trade now established at this point. In a business point of view, he was quite successful, having acquired a competency by strict economy, honesty, industry, and a careful supervision of all the details of his business. In 1855, his marriage with Miss Julia A. Sigler was solemnized, and six children were the result of this union - Anna B., deceased; Eulalie, Mrs. George L. Van Gorder; W.S.; Rowan, deceased; Louie, and one who died in infancy. The death of Mr. Huddleston, which occurred in 1879, was universally regretted by all who knew him. His widow, who has since married H.C. Smith, of Winamac, is a native of Indiana, born October 22, 1840. She, a sister and two little brothers were left orphans by the death of their parents, Eli and Rhoda (Piatt) Sigler, when but small children and only those who have experienced a life from
childhood to maturity among strangers know of the hardships and heartaches of children who have no kind father to watch over and provide for them, and fond mother to caress them. Through such circumstances, these four children have become honored and esteemed citizens in their respective localities.
MATTHEW M. HUGHES, one of the early settlers of White County, Ind., was born in Westmoreland County, Penn., August 2, 1810. He was a son of Ellis and Sarah (Crooks) Hughes, both of whom wer of Irish descent. He learned the tanner’s trade when a young man, married Elizabeth Orr in March, 1831, and in April, 1835, they emigrated to Clark County, Ill. Having relatives in White County, Ind., they removed to that place in 1844, Mr. Hughes finding employment in a brother’s store at Monticello. In 1846, he began working at carpentering, and after having earned sufficient money to purchase a farm in Union Township, he removed to that place and made it his home for a long time. In 1864, the family moved to Pulaski, Pulaski County, where Mrs. Hughes departed this life October 31, 1875, and her remains were interred in the village cemetary. Mr. Hughes moved to Winamac in 1880, and is now living with his son at the advanced age of seventy-two years. He and wife
were parents of a family of ten children, who names are Lacy C., Lucy S., Sarah E., John M. (died while serving his country in the late war), Erastus N., Maria L., Celeste L., Xariffe E., and Estella and one that died in infancy. Of those named, only two are now living - Lacy C. (who married James W. Kenton, a grandson of the celebrated hunter, Simon Kenton, and who resides in Nebraska) and Erastus N. The last named was born January 28, 1843, in Clark County, Ill., but was reared to manhood chiefly in White County, Ind. He enlisted August 11, 1862, in Company G, Sixty-third Indiana Volunteer Infantry, served until he was discharged for disability, September 29, 1863. Mr. Hughes’ occupation through life has been school teaching chiefly, and he is an instructor of twenty terms’ experience. I April, 1882, he was employed as clerk of E.R. Brown & Co., at Winamac, and is yet serving in that capacity. His marriage with Miss Sophia M. Blew was celebrated November 11, 1875,
and to them have been born three children - Everet H., Gertie G., and Blanche, deceased.
MARION H. INGRIM was born in Fayette County, Ohio, October 12, 1834; came to this county in the spring of 1843; two years later, went to Kewanna and resided there about ten years, receiving about three months’ schooling each winter; thence he went to Logansport, then to Kansas City, then to St. Louis and then to Peoria, Ill., where he served an apprenticeship on the Daily News for one year. He then traveled as a “jour” to Louisville, back to Indianapolis, where he worked on the Journal, then to St. Louis, where he secured “cases” on the Democrat; thence he went to Memphis, where he worked on the dailies, and was for a time foreman of the Avalanche; thence to Grenada, Miss., where he had charge of the Weekly Locomotive; he then worked on the Panola (Miss.) Star, then returned to the Avalanche, at Memphis; thence he went to Vicksburg, in December, 1862, and worked on the Whig until every able-bodied printer was
forced out in advance of a file of soldiers to do guard duty or work in the trenches. There he remained until the close of the siege, July 4, 1863, when he came North and reached Winamac January 1, 1864. He then set type on the Chicago Tribune, Indianapolis Journal and Cincinnati Gazette until February 16, 1865, when he returned to Winamac and purchased the Democrat office from Hon. George Burson, and continued its publication until 1870, when he sold a half-interest to Dr. F.B. Thomas, and in 1871 sold the remaining half to Ben Frank. He then took his family to Memphis, where he remained until February, 1872, when he returned to Winamac, and on the 7th of September, 1878, founded the Journal, a seven-column folio, which has, in his hands, proved a success.
W.B. JENKINS, Postmaster at Winamac, was born in Tippecanoe County, Ind., October 14, 1832, and is the next to the youngest of ten children, six yet living, born to Phineas and Mary (Furnace) Jenkins, who were natives of South Carolina, and respectively of Irish and English descent. Phineas Jenkins was a tanner, but chiefly followed farming through life. Both the Jenkins and Furnace families were opposed to slavery, and both moved to Ohio at an early date in the history of that State; subsequently they came to Tippecanoe County this State, and thence, in 1840, to this county. In the fall of the same year, the elder Jenkins died, but his widow kept the family together until all were grown. She never re-married, and now resides at Winamac at the advanced age of ninety years. W.B. Jenkins was reared a farmer, and also learned the carpenter’s trade, at which he worked to a greater or less extent until 1880, when he was appointed to this present position of Postmaster.
He was married in 1865 to Miss Lucinda Agnew, daughter of J.B. and Louisa Agnew, and to this union have been born the following children: Asa M., Joseph A., William B., Fred (deceased), Mary, Ella, Charley and Perry. Mr. Jenkins is a self-made man, and is the owner of a comfortable home, other valuable town property and twenty-five acres of land adjoining the corporate limits of the town of Winamac.
JOHN H. KELLY, County Clerk, and hardware dealer, was born at Glasgow March 4, 1847. His parents were both natives of “Bonnie Scotland,” and his father was a weaver by occupation. In 1848, the family crossed the Atlantic and located in Pittsburgh, Penn., but remained at this place only a short time; them moved to Montgomery County, Ind., where Mr. Kelly engaged in merchandising. From there they removed to Jasper County, next to Starke County in 1858, and from there to Cass County, where Mrs. Kelly died in 1866. While a resident of Starke County, Mr. Kelly, in 1861, enlisted in the Thirty-fifth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, as private, served with fidelity all through the war and was discharged at its close. He ws in a number of battles, was wounded severely in the thigh at Stone River, and is now living with his second wife in Cass County. John H. Kelly was with his parents until 1861, when he came to Winamac and began learning the tinner’s trade with B.F.
Hathaway, remaining in his employ three years, but subsequently becoming a partner of H.P. Rowan in the hardware business. He started in life a poor boy, and has battled his way to an honorable position with his brother merchants. For the past few years, he has conducted the business entirely alone, and his stock now invoices about $3,000 worth of first-class hardware goods, including agricultural implements, stoves, etc. He was married, in 1873, to Miss Lucy J. Clark, who has borne him six children - William H., Mary (deceased), John N., Harry (deceased), Charles A. and Alice. Mr. Kelly is a Democrat in politics, has served in various local positions of trust, and the fall of 1882 was honored by his election to the office of Clerk of Courts of Pulaski County, in which capacity he is now serving.
J.C. NYE was born in Wyandot County, Ohio, June 19, 1850, and is a son of Cyrus and Harriet (Lowry) Nye, who were natives respectively of Fairfield and Marion Counites, Ohio, and the parents of four children. They came to Indiana in the fall of 1852, and settled in Southern Monroe Township, in Pulaski County, and engaged in farming. The parents moved from the old place to Winamac in 1878, and here the senior Mr. Nye is engaged in the lumber trade. J.C. Nye has made Pulaski County his home since the time he was two years old. He received a good, practical education in youth, taught public school and assisted his father on the farm until 1870, when he began the study of law. For two years, he applied his energies to the study of this profession, and March 4, 1872, was admitted to practice in the Circuit Courts. In 1874, he engaged exclusively in the prosecution of the law in Winamac, and December 19, 1879, was admitted to the Supreme Court. Mr. Nye is
among the successful lawyers of Pulaski County, and is doing a first-class business. In politics he is a Republican. His marriage with Miss Lou J. Agnew, daughter of Joseph B. Agnew, Sr., was celebrated October 7, 1874, and to their union have been born two children - Lola and Jay.
H.E. PATTISON, M.D., was born in Mount Vernon, Ohio, February 4, 1843. His parents, David and Olive (Mitchell) Pattison, were natives respectively of New York and Massachusetts, were of Scotch-English descent, and the parents of four children, of whom a son and daughter are yet living. David Pattison, a farmer, is now residing with his second wife, in Knox County, Ohio, his first wife, the mother of our subject, having died in August, 1881. Dr. Pattison was reared on his father’s farm, received a good school and academic education, and in 1860 began the study of medicine at Mount Vernon in the office of Dr. William Hayes. While yet a student, he enlisted in the summer of 1862, in Company F, One Hundred and Twenty-first Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and immediately went to the front, assigned to the Army of the Cumberland, first under Buell, and afterward under Rosecrans. He fought as a private in the battles of Perryville and Stone River, and in several
skirmishes, and in the summer of 1863 was transferred to the medical department. In 1864 he was made Assistant Surgeon, and put in charge of a field hospital; in September, 1864, his term of enlistment expired; the winter of the same year he attended medical lectures at Ann Arbor; the following winter he attended the medical department of Wooster University at Cleveland, graduating in March, 1866. The following two years, he practiced his profession at Mount Liberty, Ohio, and the next two at Hopedale. In 1870, he came to Star City, this county, where he practiced until 1875, and then came to Winamac, where he has ever since been engaged in active practice. The Doctor is a Republican, a Freemason and an Odd Fellow. In 1867, he married Miss Columbia Hayes, daughter of his preceptor, and to this marriage have been born three children - Harry H., Frank H. (deceased) and William D.
JOHN PEARSON (deceased), one of the earliest settlers of Pulaski County, was born in Ohio about 1813, and was a farmer. He married Edna Farmer, and in 1838 came to where Winamac now stands, and engaged in his vocation. He soon became prominent in the affairs of this young county, and for upward of twenty years filled the offices of County Clerk, Auditor and Recorder, and was very popular with the Indians, as well as the white settlers. His wife died about 1847, the mother of seven children, of whom two only survive - Martha, now Mrs. Dr. Alexander Thomas, of La Fontaine, Ind., and Shubel. Mr. Pearson next married Mrs. Lydia Chapin, who is yet living at Rochester, Ind., the mother of one son - John. In 1851, Mr. Pearson went overland to California, where he was engaged in mining until his death in 1853. Shubel Pearson, the only one of this family now living in Pulaski County, was born in Winamac March 1, 1845. He received a good common school
education, and after his return from the war of the rebellion, in 1865, he established here a grocery house and ice cream parlor, which have proved a successful enterprise. He has filled various offices of public trust with credit to himself, and to the full satisfaction of the community. In the fall of 1866, he was appointed Postmaster at Winamac, and held the position until 1870, and during this time he was also Deputy Revenue Collector. In 1875, he was elected Town Clerk, which office he filled six years. In July, 1879, he received the appointment as agent for the Adams Express Co., at this point, and he still fills that position. He married September 15, 1870. tp Ura Burson, and to this union has been born one daughter - Belle. Mr. Pearson is a Democrat, and since 1866 has been active Odd Fellow. He has passed all the chairs, and is also a member of the Royal Arcanum. He and wife both belong to the Christian Church.
HENRY P. ROWAN (deceased). There is no name more familiar to the old settlers of Pulaski County than that of Henry P. Rowan, who was born in Kentucky May 24, 1820. At the age of nine years, his parents, Daniel and Nancy (Peters) Rowan, removed him to Vermillion County, Ind., where he was reared to manhood. His father dying the year if their removal to the Hoosier State, he went to live with Hon. Edward Hannigan, and when Mr. Hannigan was made Receiver in the land office at Winamac, came with him to Pulaski County, and it ever afterward was his home. He engaged in merchandising, and September 17, 1843, married Matitia Gardner, who bore him four children, only one, Lewis S., now living. The mother died December 17, 1850, and October 23, 1851, he married Mary Magee, and to their union was born one son, William O. Mr. Rowan was one of the first settlers of Pulaski County, and on his arrival he found Winamac a town of about forty inhabitants.
He became one of the first merchants of the place, and his energetic disposition made him a leading citizen for years. Among the positions of honor and trust to which he was elevated was that of County Treasurer, in which capacity he served creditably eight years. He started life’s battle poor, but his excellent business qualifications, combined with integrity of character, enabled him to secure a comfortable fortune. His death by consumption occurred February 18, 1870, and his remains are interred in their last resting place inthe village cemetary. His widow, Mrs. Mary (Magee) Rowan, was born in Pickaway County, Ohio, March 17, 1825. She, with her parents, came to Logansport, Ind., in 1840, and nine years after this removed to Monticello, where she was married to Mr. Rowan.
JOHN SHILL, Treasurer of Pulaski County, was reared in Richland County, Ohio, and his employement through life has been principally farming. He is one of six children, all yet living, born to the marriage of Landaline Shill and Theresa Hummel, both native of Baden, Germany, where they were married, and where their two eldest children were born. They emigrated to the United States in about the year 1830; settled in Richland County, Ohio, where Mr. Shill died in 1872, and where his widow is yet living. John Shill was born April 22, 1839; received his education from the common schools, and was married, April 27, 1864, to Margaret Rondy. Their union has been fruitful in the birth of a large family of children, eight of whom are still living. These children wre born and named as follows: John J. (deceased), Anna, Martha, Rosa, Clara, Elizabeth, Alexine, Joseph, John and Catherine (deceased). In 1864, Mr. Shill came west to Indiana to look up a suitable
location for the produce business. Medarysville, Pulaski County, suiting him, he located there, and engaged in that occupation for three years. He then turned his attention to farming and stock-raising in White Post Township, and yet owns his farm of 180 acres there. Mr. Shill and family are members of the Roman Catholic Church, while he is a Democrat in politics. In 1878, he was elected Sheriff of the county; served two years, and in 1882 was elected to his present position.
JACOB SHOUP, President of the Old Settler’s Association of Pulaski County, was born in Pickaway County, Ohio, November 24, 1822, and is one of the few remaining of the pioneers of Pulaski County. Through almost half a century of self-denial and hard work, he has accumulated a competence, and is now enjoying the fruits of hs labors, living retired in Winamac. John and Nancy (Smurr) Shoup, parents of Jacob Shoup, were natives, respectively, of Pennsylvania and Virginia, and of German descent chiefly, with a slight mixture of English blook on the maternal side. Their union was blessed with ten children, six of whom yet survive. The family, so far back as can be traced, have been a race of husbandmen, and such was the occupation of John Shoup. This man and family, late in the autumn of 1839, immigrated into Indiana, and that winter stopped in Logansport and entered land in Fulton County, just across the line from Pulaski County. Here Mr. Shoup died in
1851, followed by the death of his widow in Stark County in 1852. John Shoup was a man well known in Eastern Pulaski and Fulton Counties, having held the office of County Commissioner a number of years in the latter. While a resident of Pickaway County, Ohio, he was honored to an election to the Legislature of that State, also serving as County Sheriff. He was quite skillful in the use of the rifle, and was a great lover of hunting, having no superior in the whole neighborhood where he resided. Jacob Shoup, like his father, has made farming his vocation through life. In 1842, he married Miss Elizabeth Davidson, and in January, 1843, moved to Tippecanoe Township, Pulaski County, and taking one hundred and twenty acres of land there and as much more adjoining it in the other county, all in a state of nature, has made it one of the finest farms in either county. He and family moved to Winamac the fall of 1882, and are there living a quiet and retired life.
To him and wife have been born seven children: Lewis C., deceased; Josephine, deceased; Emma, who died the wife of Jacob Kleckner; Laura; Anna, now Mrs. Frank S. Durr; Mary, deceased; and Jane, now Mrs. John Austis. Mr. Shoup is a Democrat, and has been a very active worker in the interests of that party. He has served the county as Commissioner more terms than any other one man, and, although old in years, he is yet wide awake, and one of the county’s most useful and valuable citizens.