"Counties of White and Pulaski Counties, Indiana - Salem Township" by F.A. Battey & Co. - published in 1883
WILLIAM HANCOCK, son of Micagah and Mary (Long) Hancock, was born in Jefferson County, Ohio, February 3, 1819. He attended school in winter, and assisted his father on the farm until sixteen years old, and then went to herding, at $8 per month. Later, he went to Marion County, Ohio, where he was married, January 27, 1839, to Ellen F. Waples, a native of Delaware, born September 17 1821. He then moved to Wabash County, Ind., where there were born to them three children - Addison, October 14, 1839; Amanda, January 30, 1841; and Edward C., January 6, 1844. He then came to Pulaski County, where Marion F. was born, June 17, 1846; Mary E., March 14, 1849; Nathaniel W., October 8, 1851; Sarah C., September 30, 1854, deceased. In 1857, he moved to Fulton County, Ill., where he farmed and traded in stock; there William, Jr., was born, October 23, 1860; and an infant daughter, deceased. Mr. Hancock was unfortunate in Fulton County, losing about $1,800
worth of hogs by cholera. He sold off his farm and stock, and returned to this township, where, after a lingering illness, his wife died April 30, 1878, a member of the United Brethern Church. Mr. Hancock is now dealing in cattle. He resides with his son Nathaniel, who married Mary Withans, daughter of Joseph and Barbara (Harland) Withans, and to this union have been born three children - William N., July 21, 1875; Lura L., January 1, 1877; Charlie A., August 14, 1879, deceased.
"Counties of White and Pulaski Counties, Indiana - Salem Township" by F.A. Battey & Co. - published in 1883
SELBY A. HANCOCK is the son of Micagah and Mary (Long) Hancock, and was born February 20, 1826. His father was born in Delaware in 1790, and his mother in Jefferson County, Ohio. Selby A. worked on his fatherís farm until 1844, when the family moved to Wabash County, Ind., and farmed until 1850. In 1852, he married Mary J. Page, who has borne him three children - Arminthe, deceased; John F., deceased; and George W. In 1865, he came to this township, purchased eighty acres, and engaged in farming and stock-raising. His father, now in his ninety-third year, came to this township in 1850, and is said to be the oldest person now living here. His wife died in 1857. Selby A. Hancock is a Republican, and is a regular attendant at church.
"Counties of White and Pulaski Counties, Indiana - Salem Township" by F.A. Battey & Co. - published in 1883
JOHN W. HAYMOND was born in Kendall County, Ill., December 3, 1838, and is the son of William and Anna (Griffin) Haymond, natives respectively of Virginia and Kentucky. When about twenty years old, Joh W. bought eighty acres in Grundy County and farmed until August 11, 1862, when he sold out and enlisted in Company D, Ninety-first Illinois Infantry. His first fight was at Elizabethtown, Ky., where he was taken prisoner by John Morganís men. After being exchanged, he fought at Benton Barracks, Mo., Vicksburg, New Orleans, Brownsville, Spanish Fort, Mobile, etc., and at the close of the war was mustered out at Springfield, Ill., came home and bought a farm. October 7, 1866, he married Esther A. Cooper, of Illinois, who has borne him five children - Frank, December 20, 1867; Ina Maud, August 28, 1873; Abby May, May 8, 1875 (died March 8, 1876); Mary Edith, January 28, 1877; William B., October 20, 1878, (died November 17, 1879). Mr. Haymond next
moved to Iroquois County, bought 240 acres, resided there four years, filling the office of Justice of the Peace, and thence moved to Kankakee County. In February, 1876, he came to this township and purchased 400 acres, built a fine two-story frame house and good outbuildings, and engaged in general farming. He is a member of Henry S. Lane Post, G.A.R., and also of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Haymondís father was born May 15, 1807, and his mother, March 25, 1808; they were married September 20, 1829; the father died July 23, 1873.
WILLIAM A. HENNEGAR was born in Grayson County, Va., April 19, 1846. His fahter, James H., was a physician; was born in Maryland September 2, 1808, and about 1833, married Mahala Cosnett, who was born in Virginia November 12, 1812. About 1861, the family moved to Kentucky; our subject, however, went to Milford County, Ohio, and farmed until 1864, then to Russell County, Ky., and then to his fatherís farm. April 29, 1868, he married Cassandra M., daughter of Cyrus L. and Elizabeth (Bean) Harold, of Crab Orchard, Ky., and to their union have been born five children - Jessie N., March 9, 1869 (deceased); Leoti E., November 29, 1870; Charles B. (infant, deceased); Frank A., December 21, 1874 (deceased), and William H., October 10, 1882. In 1869, Mr. Hennegar moved to La Fayette, Ind., and in the fall of 1870 joined the Christian Church; in 1874, he began to preach; he then moved to White County, where he attended high school at Burnettsville, and
was then sent forth to preach the Gospel in White, Carroll, Cass, Miami and Pulaski Counties. He is the only resident minister in Francesville, and holds service at Medarysville, Francesville, Randall in Jasper County, and Wea Church, south of La Fayette. While at Reynolds, he was a member of the firm of Johnson & Hennegar; was Postmaster from 1877 till the fall of 1881, when he sold out and came to Francesville, bought the residence of B.F. Priest, and was appointed Postmaster, Mr. Priest having resigned in his favor. Mr. Hennegar is a Mason and an Odd Fellow.
DANIEL HIGMAN, son of John and Lucretia (Boughton) Higman, was born in Delaware, January 18, 1811. In 1832, he came to Carroll County, this State, farmed there several years, and then moved to Tippecanoe County. July 19, 1836, he married Anna Fair, daughter of William and Mary (Shaw) Fair, who has borne him two children - Mary E., and Lucretia E., both now married. In 1841, Mr. Higman bought eighty acres of wild land in this township, built a house, fenced, and broke the land. This he has increased to 120 acres. He conducts general farming and rears some stock. He was one of the first Trustees elected after the formation of the township, and held the office three years; he has also been Road Superintendent two or three times. In politics, he is a Republican, and he and wife and members of the United Brethern Church.
JOHN T. LEACH, son of Robert and Mary (Heap) Leach, was born in September, 1821, at Quakerfield, near Tottington, England. He was placed in a cotton factory at the age of nine, and what schooling he received was after working hours. In 1844, he married Theresa Kirk, who bore him two children - Mary E. and Hephzibah. In 1848, he came to America, and located in Kendall County, Ill. He afterward worked in a warehouse at Ottawa, and there his wife died. June 20, 1851, he married Eliza J. McDonald, who became the mother of eight children - Robert A., deceased; Gertrude L., Robert A., deceased; Lester A.; Ida C.; Bennie, deceased; Alfred McDonald and Gracie M. While living in Illinois, Mr. Leach was chiefly engaged in farming and cattle-raising. In 1875, he sold out and came to this township, and purchased a fine farm of 247 acres, known as the Doc Hartman farm, and to this he has added 107 acres. He handles a great deal of live stock, shipping
in large quantities. Mrs. Leach is a member of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Leach is an Old-School Baptist, and in politics is a Greenbacker.
FRANK MCGINNIS was born in Indianapolis October 4, 1850. His father, George F., was born in Boston, Mass., March 4, 1825, and his mother in Ross County, Ohio, September 26, 1832. After receiving a very good common school and academic education, Mr. McGinnis clerked for awhile, and then learned iron-molding, and subsequently stereotyping, learning the last in the Indianapolis Journal office, and becoming foreman of that department. September 1, 1876, he purchased a farm of 120 acres in this township, and began farming. December 2, 1877, he married Jessie E., daughter of William and Elizabeth (McCormack) Shortridge, and to this union three children were born - George William, December 16, 1878; Donald, March 18, 1880; Edwin, November 25, 1881. Mr. McGinnis is a Master Mason, an Odd Fellow, and a member of the Episcopal Church. In politics, he is a Republican. His father, Gen. George F. McGinnis, enlisted in Company K, Eleventh Indiana
Volunteer Infantry, at the breaking-out of the late war; was elected Captain, and came home Colonel of the three monthsí men; he then went into the three yearsí service as Colonel, and came home at the end of the war a Brigadier General.
JAMES W. MCMURRAY, the eldest of five children, was born in Greene County, N.Y., November 7, 1839. His parents, Robert and Zada (Finch) McMurray, were born in Ireland and New York State, respectively. In 1850, the family moved to Grundy County, Ill., where James W., attended school and assisted on the home farm until called to arms. August 13, 1862, he enlisted in Company D, Seventy-second Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and was in about seventeen hard-fought battles, such as Jackson, Vicksburg, Franklin, Missionary Ridge, Mobile and others. February 14, 1864, he was taken ill, and was confined to the hospital at Vicksburg until his discharge, June 10, 1865. On his return, he purchased one hundred acres in Grundy, and began stock-raising and farming. While there, he was elected Township Trustee and Township Treasurer, and to other offices of less importance. He married, December 31, 1866, Isadora O., daughter of Lyman M. and Betsey (Crandall)
Clark, and to his union were born five children - Fannie M., October 189, 1867; Charles M., September 21, 1868; Lucilla H., October 31, 1869; Byron C., June 11, 1871; Eugene R., July 4, 1874. In 1876, Mr. McMurray came to this township, and now owns 200 acres of as well-improved land as can be found in the county. He and wife and daughter Fannie are members of the Christian Church, of which, also, he is an Elder. In politics, he is a Republican, and he is a member of the G.A.R.
DR. ROBERT MATTINGLY is the son of Ignatius and Mary (Dent) Mattingly, who were born near Port Tobacco, Md., in 1781 and 1784, respectively, and were married in 1800. The father was a farmer and tobacco manufacturer, and in 1810 moved to Richmond, Ky., where Robert was born December 22, 1816. In 1836, the father died, and Robert assisted his mother in the management of her business until about his twentieth year, when he went to Florida as Clerk to Capt. Wheelock, a quartermaster during the Seminole war. Subsequently, he served for two years as Hospital Steward at St. Augustine; returned to Kentucky, read medicine, took a course in Transylvania College in Lexington, and then came to Corydon, this State, where he associated with Dr. Jones in practice. January 3, 1843, he married Mary, daughter of John and Sarah (Merrifield) Howard, of Bardstown, Ky., and to this union have been born seven children - Margaret M. (deceased), Laura H., a girl
that died unnamed, Robert L., Horace, Florence (deceased), and Mary H. In March, 1845, he moved to Washington Co., Ind., and practiced until 1855, when he sold out and in the spring of 1856 came to Francesville, bought a residence, resumed practice and erected the first drug store in the township, and the second in the county. At the end of four years, he sold his store, and when the war broke out undertook the free treatment of the families of all who enlisted. The Doctor is a member of Odd Fellowís Lodge. No. 190, of Francesville, and is a Republican.
HORACE MATTINGLY was born in Washington County, Ind., April 18, 1851, and is the son of Dr. Robert and Mary (Howard) Mattingly, old and highly respected residents of Francesville. Horace attended school and was employed in his fatherís drug store until about eighteen years of age, then railroaded for a short time, and then learned carpentering. November 26, 1874, he married Anna Bell Vigus, daughter of Capt. Carter L. and Eliza Jane (Douglass) Vigus, of Francesville. To this union there have been four children born - Laura M., September 15, 1875; Mary E., September 11, 1877; Claudius V., May 28, 1879, and Birdie, June 8, 1881. Mr. Mattingly continued at carpentering for a number of years, built a nice dwelling, which he now occupies, and then engaged in the occupation of paper hanging. He is a member of the Carnahan Guards, and Mrs. Mattingly is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
ENOCH W. MAXWELL is the son of John and Mahala (Weddle) Maxwell. The father was born in Eastern Kentucky in 1816, and the mother in Eastern Tennessee the same year. Their parents came to Jackson County, Ind., at an early day, where John and Mahala were married in 1836, and where Enoch W. was born June 6, 1840. Enoch attended school until seventeen years of age, then one session at the high school at Brownstown, and then worked with his father, who was a carpenter and farmer, until twenty years old. March 15, 1860, he married Sarah E. Ren, who bore him two children - Burmetta and Sarah Ida, and died in May, 1862, a member of the United Brethren Church. August 14, 1862, Mr. Maxwell enlisted in Company B, Fiftieth Indiana Volunteer Infantry. He was in several battles, including Saline River, the siege of Mobile, Whistler Station, Spoonville, etc., and was mustered out at Montgomery, Ala., June 8, 1865. He returned home, engaged in the
tan-bark trade, bought a farm, and February 15, 1866, married Mary J. Kimberlan, who died a few months later, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. October 15, 1866, he married Nancy A. Harrell, who has borne him eight children - Hettie K., John C., Cora B., Mary M., Enoch J., Emma, Ora and Dora (twins, the last named deceased). In October, 1871, Mr. Maxwell came to this county, locating in White Post Township, where he farmed six years, and in 1879 came to this township, where he is engaged in rearing stock and in buying, pressing and shipping hay. He is an Odd Fellow and a Democrat, and he and wife are members of the Free-Will Baptist Church.
ST. CLAIR RAINS (deceased) was the son of Thomas and Margaret (Handley) Rains, and was born in Ohio, December 12, 1822, and when quite small was brought by his father, a farmer, to Carroll County, this State, where he attended school and worked on the home farm until his fatherís death. He then came to this township, and in 1841 bought 119 acres, and engaged in farming and stock-raising. January 13, 1852, he married Cynthia Ann, a daughter of William L. and Cynthia Ann (Simpson) Shigley, and born April 15, 1833. To this union were born nine children - Thomas A., Florence A., James A. (deceased), Clara A. (deceased), Thuesy A., Elizabeth A., William S., St. Clair, and Charles E. In the winter of 1870, while Mr. Rains was on the ice on the Monon River, he broke through, contracting a severe cold, from which he died January 28, 1880, and was buried with Masonic honors. His son, Thomas A., who was born December 21, 1854, is married to Nancy,
daughter of George and Elizabeth (Prough) Hines, and is living on the old homestead on the banks of the Monon. He leads the life of a hunter and trapper, and is considered one of the best shots in the county. At one time he killed fifty-seven teal duck at one double shot. He has two bright little girls, by a former marriage, named Cora and Carrie, and his mother resides close by him on a portion of the old homestead.
JOSEPH B. REES was born in Hampshire County (now West Virginia) September 9, 1835. His parents, John and Elizabeth (Reinhart) Rees, were born in Hampshire County in 1812 and 1808 respectively, and were married in March, 1834. The family came to White County soon after the birth of our subject, and in 1839 settled on the banks of the Monon, where the father died December 1, 1868. The mother died July 31, 1874, at the home of her son George. The family was the second to settle in what is now Salem Township. Joseph B. Rees worked on his fatherís farm until about twenty-two years of age, and March 10, 1859, married May F. Byers, daughter of Jacob Byers, of this township. Mrs. Rees died July 22, 1862, the mother of one children - Annie B. March 29, 1867, Mr. Rees married Arvilda V., daughter of Charles Fitzpatrick, and to this union have been born three boys and one girl - an infant (deceased), Lura M., Charles F. and Harry. In 1868, Mr.
Rees and his father-in-law opened a butcher shop in Francesville, and about a year later Mr. Rees bought out his partnerís interest, and to his former business has added the selling of agricultural implements and farm machinery, such as the Champion Reaper and Mower, the J.H. Thomas & Son Hay Rake, the Superior Wheat Drill, sulky plows, harrows, etc. Mr. Rees has been elected Township Assessor some nine times; he is a Democrat, and he and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
JOHN T. REES, son of John and Elizabeth (Reinhart) Rees, was born in this township April 7, 1844. He attended at the first schoolhouse erected in this township, and was schooled about three months in the year for several terms, employing himself in the summer at farming and herding until about twenty years of age. January 24, 1867, he married Margaret A. Day, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Haines) Day, and to this union there have been born five children - Salemina, Charles R. (deceased), Lillie B., Susan (deceased) and William. After his marriage, Mr. Rees farmed on rented land until the fall of 1874, when his fatherís estate was divided, and of this he received sixty-nine acres, on which he is now living and ding general farming. Mr. Rees is a Democrat and an attendant of the Methodist Episcopal Church of which his wife is a member.
SOLOMON REISH, Sr., is the son of Peter and Susanna Reish. His father was born on the high sea while his parents were coming from England to America; his mother was a Pennsylvania German, and Solomon was born in Berks County, Penn., January 4, 1811. January 8, 1832, he married Lydia Stees, born March 17, 1811, and daughter of David and Susan (Kline) Stees, and to his union with her were seven children born - Emanuel, October 8, 1832; Charles, May 17, 1835; Solomon, January 16, 1838 (deceased); Samuel, March 16, 1840 (deceased); Susan E.; John S., December 15, 1847, and Elvina A., January 17, 1851. In 1844, Mr. Reish moved to Ohio, lived on rented land seven years, and in 1851 moved to Huntington County, Ind., where he kept hotel until 1853, and them came to White County, where he bought a farm on the banks of the Tippecanoe River, and resided seventeen years. He then sold and came to Indian Creek Township, this county, where he engaged
in saw and grist milling for three years, and then came to Francesville, bought a house and lot, which he subsequently traded for forty acres in same town, built the house in which he now lives, and is now doing general farming. His family are all members of the Free-Will Baptist Church.
SOLOMON REISH, Jr., son of Solomon and Lydia (Stees) Reish, was born in Pennsylvania, January 16, 1838, and when about fifteen years of age came to White County, this State, with his father. He was reared to farming, and learned the carpenterís trade, and assisted his father until July 9, 1857, when he married Nancy Turner, the daughter of David and Temperance (Judy) Turner. There were born to this union four children - Mary J. (deceased), Charles W., Annetta and Lydia E. In 1864, he was drafted into the army, and assigned to Company E, Twenty-fifth Indiana Infantry. He had been in a few fights, and was then detailed to bridge-building, and while thus engaged received a fall, July 22, 1865, which resulted in death. He was buried at Nashville, Tenn. His widow then came to Pulaski County, and purchased a home in Francesville. Her daughters are both teachers in the public schools, and the son is learning to be a machinist. The family are members of the Presbyterian Church.
JAMES H. ROSS was born in Clarke County, Ohio, January 22, 1823, the son of Elijah and Mary (Houston) Ross, the former born in Clark County, Ohio, in 1785, and the latter in Maryland about 1780. About 1831, the family moved to Pickaway County, where the father died about 1835. James H. Ross learned cabinet-making, and then went into the milling business with his brother, William L. June 26, 1843, he married Harriet A., daughter of John and Anna Ross, Of Montgomery County, Ohio, and to this union were born thirteen children - Robert M., born May 2, 1846, died July 8, 1846; John F., born March 26, 1848, died August 23, 1848; Mary B., born July 3, 1849; William A., May 1, 1851, died March 15, 1852; James F., born March 26, 1853; Ida E., November 11, 1855; Addie A., January 18, 1857; Clara M., July 11, 1859; Asbury L., October 28, 1862; Lanson E., May 10, 1864, died in August, 1865; Edwin A., born January 8, 1865, died August 9, 1867; Albert C., born September 18, 1867; and Joseph W.,
October 31, 1869. Mr. Ross and brother soon relinquished milling, and went to Auglaize County, and for four years ran a woolen factory. After various other changes of locality and business, Mr. Ross, in April, 1880, came to this township, and purchased a 320-acre oil-well farm. Here his wife was taken ill, and died January 25, 1882, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Ross now resides in Francesville, and is conducting a real estate business, under the firm name of Ross & Haymond. He was elected Justice of the Peace in 1882; is a Republican, a Master Mason, and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.